We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Biri

Ristorante Biri
Ranked #60 of 136 Restaurants in Bardolino
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent last week in Bardolino and eat twice at the Biri - each time we were made very welcome and the food was superb as well as being well-priced. Marcello and his staff were really friendly and helpful, and on one visit our table gave us a view into the kitchen which was spotless! Bardolino has a good range of eating places but the Biri must rank as one of the best if not the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    75
    28
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good Food, pity about the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This restaurant is situated in a courtyard with another restaurant La Porta beside it and both are constantly fighting over passers by for their custom. Initially this was fun to watch but it soon became boring and no love is lost between the two front people. We ate here on one occasion and found the staff unfriendely and disinterested in us. I ordered the house recommneded steak with mushrooms and potatoes and the steak was a generous size and the flavour of it and the myshrooms was very good. The centre of the steak could have been more cooked for my liking but because it was so large a portion I had enough in the more cooked portion. At no stage during our meal did anyone ask us if it was ok. Only when we were clearly finished did the waiter look at the steak peices that were still on my plate and ask if there was something wrong, and when i said thye were not cooked enough he then offered to cook them more which I declined. So we did not go back there again mainly because of the attitude of the staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Having visited Biri twice during a visit to Bardolino in September 2011 we returned in June 2012 and were pleased to find once again the excellent food and friendly welcome we had experienced previously. Their scallopina al marsala and the fillet steak with fresh mixed mushrooms are superb. We visitied twice again this trip and reserved a table for Saturday night as it does get busy. Our favourite restaurant in Bardolino.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

It's always a good sign when you find a restaurant full of local people celebrating - we think it was a first communion. The menu was varied and local without being touristy. We had delicious antipasti followed by pork escalope with truffle and calves liver. Children stuck to pasta - a lasagne and penne cubana - and weren't disappointed. We look forward to going back. Good service, friendly people and a welcome drink and digestif for our first visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FranJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal at Biri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had eaten here once before and remembered it had been a very good meal, so we decided to return during our recent holiday. We were not disappointed.
I made a note of the prices.. Hubby ordered pasta with wild boar sauce: 'bigoli ragu' (€8.50) and I ordered baked lasagne (€8) with a mixed salad (€4.50). The food was delicious. We also ordered a half-litre of house white wine (€5), a bottle of still water (€3) and one espresso (€1.50). With coperto at €1.50 each, the bill came to €33.50 - very reasonable, we thought. At the end of the meal we were given complimentary lemoncello shots.
The restaurant was packed but the service was friendly and efficient. In a central location, it's easy to find: from the main Piazza Matteotti - facing the church - turn right alongside Bottega dei gelato. Around 70 meters along this street, Biri is the first restaurant on the left (they share a courtyard with another restaurant: La Porta).
We would definitely eat here again - and would recommend to others.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank maudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Biri also viewed

Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 
Bardolino, Province of Verona
Bardolino, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Biri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing