We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - BUT A FEW PROBLEMS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baia Domizia Camping Village
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Baia Domizia
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent two great weeks at the park with its excellent pools for young kids and the beach on site. The young Eurocamp staff were excellent and friendly. There was a bit of noise at nights due to a neighbouring disco. We have a couple of words of warning for future travellers. First, beware of driving into Naples. We took a turning with a signpost for Vesuvius – and before we knew it, we were driving round southern Naples and there were no more signposts in sight. Driving in Naples is hair-raising. Second, we took a day trip into Rome with an agency called Domizia Incoming. The realities of this tour had little to do with the description given. The trip took 13 hours and 8 of these were spent travelling in and out of Rome by bus. A further hour was spent stuck in traffic in Rome. The guide, who told us she was also a guide on some of the other tours the company offered, rushed us though town from one sight to another and we had trouble keeping up. The tired and monotonous way she talked revealed that she had been doing the job for many years. She only seemed interested when she talked about certain films from the 1960’s, and when she encouraged us to eat at this ‘wonderful’ restaurant, where the food was terrible. In the Vatican, there wasn’t even time to visit the Basilica, as promised in the programme. We were very disappointed and went to see the sights properly another day, this time by train from Minturno/Scauri station. The train took 1½ hours into Rome and taking the metro was easy and we got to see all the sights properly and in a far cheaper and far more leisurely manner. Other guests at the camping village reported having similar experiences with this company.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
6  Thank thomas034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Baia Domizia Camping Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed here in May with Eurocamp and our two young children. The first thing to point out it is the location of the campsite although located on the coast with a beach which our two kids absolutely loved the immediate local area is awfull.The local village of Baia Domizia was deserted and completely shut up. While May is obviously heavily out of season for this area so the fact that things were overgrown and shut up didnt help, the general condition of the place didnt look so great either, peeling hotels, building work not finished rubbish on streets (presumably from previous season) and lots of stray cats. There were some slightly better local towns such as Minturno and Gaita but these were still pretty rough around the edges. Naples was obviously well worth a visit but was still a good hour and a half in the car.

Tha campsite itself was reasonable with four fantastic swimming pools and a nice beach accessible easily from campsite. Again the campsite was heavily deserted which depending on how you look at it could be considered a good or bad thing but the restaurant although big only ever had about four of five tables occupied and was quite expensive. The overall site was nice and caravans nicely pitched alongside manicured lawns however the Eurocamp mobile homes were placed in a corner of the campsite in a wooded area so there was mud and dust on the floor and on a relatively small pitch. Eurocamp staff were friendly and helpful and kids had a good time so on the whole was a reasonable stay. If you just wanted to stay on the campsite and use the facilities and chill out this place would probably be perfect for you but if you like to get out and about a little you might be a bit dissapointed!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank Handset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The camp site Baia Domizia Villaggio is generally good and offers all you need for a very plesant stay. It could not be located better for beach lovers, far end of the site IS the beach and its a lovely beach with mountain views.

Accommodation is a good mix of chalets (mobile homes), tent pitches and caravans. The operator we stayed with has quite a high presence on the site but some of the accommodation is old, tired and pretty miserable - make sure you know exactly what you are getting and pay the extra for a better grade chalet, it'll mean the difference between disappointment and a plesant stay. Without a terrace/deck you'll be sitting in the dirt/dust - no lawns or kept gardens around accommodation - the site occupies cleared woods/forest.

The site is remote, the local resort/village of Baia Domizia is a good 30 min walk which in hot weather and with young children is a chore not a pleasure. Bikes are available for hire from the garage opposite the site and well worth getting for the duration of your stay (essential if you don't have a car). They are cheap but 'well used'.

Baia is quite small but the centre has a number of bars and resturants which get very busy as the centre doesn't cope well with the number of hotels and visitors so booking a table at your resturant of choice is worth doing, especially if you don't want to end up with a table tucked away at the back. There are a handful of gift shops, clothing shops and supermarkets etc. - adequate, not bustling.

Back to the camp site, Europeans may like a bit of rigidity on holiday but mostly you feel like you are being bealt with - very few smiles or attempts at communication. The staff have a general air of disinterest with a few notable exceptions. The problem here is that the establishment doesn't seem willing to work in a way that meets the needs/desires of the customer - the convenience of the establishment appears to take prescedence.

If you like a lie in you'll not like the 'Hi-De-Hi' style wake up at 9:30am as a series of loud hailer announcements are made EVERY morning across the site - repeated in various languages but only occasionally in English.

You'll be presented with a number of 'rules' on arrival; times facilities are open/closed (again not to suit the customer but presumably the staff). Shops close for the afternoon annoyingly just at lunch time when you decide what you fancy! Other irritating rules include having to wear a 'noddy' swimming cap when using the pools which admittedly are very clean, not over crowded but the lifeguards clearly 'patrol' rather than oversee.

As can sometimes be the case with more remote sites the on-site facilities are expensive. The supermarket is very expensive - take breakfast cereals, well over 4 Euros a pack for Corn Flakes whereas the same cereal in the supermarket in Baia is just over 2 Euros. Water will cost 1.50 Euros for a small 500ml bottle on site but a 6 pack of 2 litre bottles off site will cost less than 2 Euros. I needed to buy a pair of nail scissors and found a pair in the 'gift' shop but on taking it to the till found it cost nearly 7 Euros. In 'town' I paid 1 Euro. If you have a car, use it.

The resturant is OK. The food is typical of what you'll find anywhere and generally its good. The pizzas are great and reasonably priced especially if you take away. Eating in is more expensive and for us didn't work well. Meals arrived 20 minutes apart, side dishes arrived as we were finishing our meals and the waiters etc. drop food down as they pass your table in a hurry to go somewhere else. We had a job to order a bottle of wine costing less than 25 Euros! We asked the waiter to suggest a nice dry white and were offered a Chardonnay at 25 Euros. We said we didn't like Chardonnay at which the price went up. We asked if there was something less expensive (eating out most other locations you'll pay from 10 - 15 Euros for a house white) and were told there was a bottle of white at 15 Euros which we went with much to the waiters clear dissatisfaction. It was OK when it arrived but the wine we'd bought at the supermarket in Baia for less than 3 Euros was far superior!

The entertainment comprised a middle aged guy warbling into a microphone to a keyboard backing track or the more lively Pergoda Bar near the beach where all we witnessed was a loud host hauling people up onto the stage and coaxing them into performing a silly dance.

This may all sound negative but if you are happy to do your own thing, not to succumb to the money grabbing of the on-site facilities and you don't mind being a little way off the beaten track (and have a car!), you'll have a great time as we did.

In summary:

Bad points: Lack of customer focus. Expensive facilities. Imposed rules.
Good Points: Nice accommodation (if you pay for it), clean site, facilities and pool. Great beach. Generally peaceful site.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DMR_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bungalow tipo Comfort in prossimità del centro commerciale.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefy_742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Luisamandra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baia Domizia
2.1 mi away
Hotel Della Baia
Hotel Della Baia
#2 of 8 in Baia Domizia
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domizia Palace Hotel
Domizia Palace Hotel
#3 of 8 in Baia Domizia
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulivo Hotel & Village
Giulivo Hotel & Village
#1 of 8 in Baia Domizia
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BNS Hotel Francisco
BNS Hotel Francisco
#5 of 8 in Baia Domizia
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marina Club Hotel Altamarea
Marina Club Hotel Altamarea
#7 of 8 in Baia Domizia
227 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Eleonora
Hotel Villa Eleonora
#2 of 2 in Scauri
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Domizia Camping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Domizia Camping Village

Address: Strada Provinciale 272 Garigliano-Monte Massico, 81030 Baia Domizia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Baia Domizia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Baia Domizia
Price Range: $48 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Domizia Camping Village 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baia Domizia campsite is the ideal place to have a fun-filled relaxing holiday. Thanks to its strategic position, it is a convenient starting point to visit some of the most beautiful Italian cities: Rome, Naples, Capri, Pompeii, Amalfi, Sorrento, Ischia, and Caserta. With views of the Mar Tirreno and with a beach over 1km long located in the beautiful Golfo di Gaeta, Baia Domizia Villaggio Camping (founded in 1965) is situated in the splendid Garigliano Natural Park. We have been operating the Holiday Village for 50 years during which we have always endeavoured to improve our increasing services, our offer, our quality standards and security with a single objective in mind - to create the ideal location for a pleasant holiday with many accommodation options. We offer spacious and shady pitching sites for those who love contact with the fragrance and colours of the nature of southern Italy. Alternatively we offer bungalows constructed in the styly of log cabins, comfortable "Maxicaravans", modern apartments or practical caravans. We also offer a wide range of activities for all ages, many sports facitlities and wonderful swimming pools. The Holiday Village is the ideal location for a holiday filled with total relaxation and fun. Thanks to the strategic location of the Village it is also easy to visit some of Italy's beautiful cities and towns like Rome, Naples, Capri, Pompei, Amalfi, Sorrento, Ischia and Caserta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baia Domizia Camping Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baja Domizia Villaggio Hotel Baia Domizia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing