We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Caffe Italia

Caffe Italia
Ranked #35 of 256 Restaurants in Ascoli Piceno
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Great lunch in small street in center. Good pasta, friendly service, fresh sandwiches and a good coffee. All for a fair price.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Roald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2016

We stopped in for lunch during our visit to Ascoli and were glad we ended up here. We went with the lunch menu - 7eu for a series of great plates of food. Salumi on crackers, bruschetta, risotto with asparagus, wine, coffee. It was a fun place, quality local food and lovely service.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Thanks to previous TA reviews we popped into this little caffe for lunch and it lived up to expectations. Tasty sandwitches and a lovely frittata were among the items for our party of four, accompanied, of course, by some of the best olive ascolana we had in Ascoli, all washed down by some excellent local artisan beer on tap. Very friendly service. Definitely a place to try for a pleasant lunch break in your day of touring this lovely city.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015

If you are not paying attention, you could easily walk by this unassuming, narrow cafe front on Corso Mazzini in Ascoli Piceno. You would miss out if you did. Caffe Italia, run by the Tozzi family is the truest "Italian" cafe in all of Ascoli. Alessandro who works the bar more hours in the week than not makes without a doubt the BEST cappuccino in all of Italy - and trust me, I have had my share of cappuccinos. The last time I flew into Milan I traveled to Rome by way of Ascoli just to have one (okay several) of Alessandro's perfect cups of love (he can even make hearts out of the foam!). If you know anything about Italian geography, that says a lot about how great his cappuccino is!

The cafe is an eclectic atmosphere with a constantly changing display of art and pop culture. It always amazed me though how many different sides it presented - from breakfast pastries (omg how I miss nutella pastries!), to lunch entrees, including the best gnocchi I ever had, to the most appetizing apertivo spread in Ascoli, Alessandro and his family always go the extra mile to take care of their customers.

If you are looking for the REAL Italy, not Italy dressed up for the tourists, but the true Italy that is lived day in and day out by its inhabitants, with all the flare, and care, passion and intensity that makes Italy the amazing country that it is, do not miss Caffe Italia. If it's slow take a moment to chat with Alessandro and his family. If you have long enough to linger, you'll find yourself believing you too are Italian!

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherry L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Italia also viewed

Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 

Been to Caffe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing