We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, other issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is very well located near the beautiful Piazza del Popolo in the centro storico. It is not easy to find if you are driving in. There are lots of one way streets and we saw no signage for the hotel. That said, Federico left the front desk and walked down the street with me to drive our car to the front door so we could unload. We had reserved parking for our two night stay and thought it well worth the 15 Euro per day charge.
Our first room was 105 on the first floor in the back. It was small and still with no working AC or fan. When we opened the window for air the noise from the alleyway, the intense smell of fried fish and the light from a street lamp made for an untenable situation. We were moved the next morning to a room on the second floor, 201, and we were happier with the brighter room and the working fan.
Wifi access requires a special username and password that work for a specified number of hours. Mine ran out before our departure and I had to ask for a new code. Not horrible, but is this a necessary inconvenience?
Annamaria in the breakfast room and Rolando on the front desk went the extra service mile.
Breakfast is good with fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meats and cheeses, sweet rolls and the like.
At night, after 11 there is no one on the front desk.
We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant La Locanderia but we heard the food was very good and the atmosphere seemed festive on a Saturday evening.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the back of the hotel if you like to open your windows. The smells and soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

the hotel is wonderful - the staff is terrific and extremely helpful. The hotel is center city and walking distance to everything.
parking is an issue. You can either have the hotel valet park for 15 euros a day or park in a lot outside the city for 9 euros a night and walk to it.

Room Tip: parking is an issue. You can either have the hotel valet park for 15 euros a day or park in a lot ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrlSouthernPines_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a bicycle tour of Italy. The amenities and breakfast were everything we could ask for, but it was the friendly (English speaking) staff that stood out for us. Federica, in particular, greeted us warmly and found a place in a nearby garage to safely store our bikes. We were even invited to use the tools in the garage for a bit of bike maintenance! We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely city!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awaywithwordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is ideally located in the middle of the old town next to Piazza del Popolo and close to Piazza Arringo. It has been built on the remains of an old building and decorated with good taste.
The pluses: our room was spacious, part of the arch of the old monastery being the only ornament, clean, quiet, tea/coffee making set, free water and soda in the minibar. Let's add an adequate breakfast, a Nespresso machine in an agreable lobby.
The minuses: a rather small bathroom, a broken sliding door in the shower, bath foam as only amenity while there was no bath and no shower gel, no extractor in the bathroom, TV with Italian channels only, mismatched hangers in the cupboard.
The staff is very welcoming, friendly and helpful to make your stay In Ascoli Piceno as pleasant as possible, including the recommendation of a good value restaurant. They also arrange the parking of our car at a daily cost of 15 euros.
Still, if you can cope with the minuses it is a nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Central location, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money and within a few minutes walk of everything in Ascoli. Highly recommended as its everything you would expect from a four star establishment but with that lovely cosy homely feel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 285Gill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Brought my 97 year old mother back to her hometown for a vist. Selected this hotel with its close approximity to Piazza del Poppalo.....arguably one of the finest Piazza's in all of Italy. What a find this hotel turned out to be. The entire staff, Frederica, Simone, Ronaldo, et al....all specialize in treating you as if Royalty. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and most comfortable. We will return and would definitely stay her again....excellent value........
And a big smile from mama!
Ringrazzio tutti voi oespitalita e amicizia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful little hotel, very well priced and perfectly situated to see Ascoli Piceno. There are extremely helpful and friendly staff, who all speak very good english for those times when you are at the limit of your italian! Piazza del popolo is 2 minutes walk away - the "sitting room" of Ascoli. Fantastic place to get a great meal or just un cappuccino, and people watch. My room was spotlessly clean, quiet, modern and the bed very comfortable. Breakfasts were included and were more than adequate, with juices, tea, coffee, cereals, toast, meats and cheeses. Lovely touch was the high quality soaps and other body products provided. If you are visiting Ascoli, and I highly recommend that you do, you couldn't find a better hotel.

Room Tip: 201 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 14 in Ascoli Piceno
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 14 in Ascoli Piceno
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 14 in Ascoli Piceno
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#3 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
1,042 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantina dell'Arte
Cantina dell'Arte
#9 of 14 in Ascoli Piceno
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100, Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range: $103 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing