We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wonderful Location , Excellent Service , Rooms are clean and modern , room rate included breakfast which included local home made foods and unlimited WI-FI .Ascoli Piceno is a beautiful ancient city older than Rome .Local food is very good and cheap . Shopping is also very good and cheap .

Room Tip: I was there twice and both rooms I used were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank port32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    163
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
636
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As many reviewers have already said, this is a great place to stay. It's location in the center of Ascoli Piceno is very favourable for a stroll around the town. Federica was very helpful and advised us a wonderful place to eat. She also parked our car. The room was very nice, with the airco and all the conforts for a nice stay. The breackfast was also fine with good food and abundant. I fully recmmend the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domede10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

All I can do is reiterate what other reviewers have already stated. This hotel is a gem, and we very much enjoyed the 3 nights that we stayed here. We were greeted by Frederica,who was so charming and helpful . Our room was fairly spacious, with a fabulous bathroom & shower.
The breakfast room was modern, sleek,fuchsia, and the food selection enjoyable. There are also several good restaurants just down the street- La Locandiere &Piccolo Theatro for lunch or dinner.
As parking in this town could be a problem, I would strongly advise any one staying here,take advantage of the valet parking.
You cannot go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were arriving with Norwegian friends at Ascoli Piceno on the Notte dei Colori, and the city center was closed to traffic. Even if the hotel had sent an updated message on how to arrive, we were lost twice. A very friendly group of policia municipale offered to escort us to the hotel. A very friendly help to foreign visitors, indeed! The hotel proved to be very, very nice, Both the rooms, the bathrooms and the beautiful building were a very pleasant experience. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful, and the Notte dei colori was a wonderful surprise and experience. We often take guests to visit sights in Le Marche, and we will be happy to return to Ascoli and palazzo dei Mercanti, perhaps the next time for la Quintana?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautifully restored palazzo in the historic centre of Ascoli Piceno. Room on the smallish side (as often happens when reserving through booking.com), but very convenient rate for such a quality establishment in the middle of the holiday season. Very good breakfast. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything about our stay was perfect. Everyone was very helpful and the inclusive breakfast was one of the best we have experienced. Our room was clean, comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Ascoli Piceno is a lovely place and the people are exceptionally friendly, should have stayed another day or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is located a short walk from the town center, stayed 3 nights, the staff is just great! The breakfast was buffet style which is great in the morning, the rooms were very clean, will return for sure, I highly recommend this gem to any other traveller, you won't be disappointed. RV from Montreal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffaele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
17.0 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#2 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Sgariglia Resort Campolungo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing