We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You need to know about the restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You need to know about the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

All the praise others have heaped on this attractive hotel is justified. But you need to know about the restaurant. Though attached, it is a separate establishment. We had dinner: there was no menu, we chose fish with antipasti. There was no wine list - we chose one of the two local white wines offered (it was very good). Then the antipasti came and came - I have lost count of the number, but it was about a dozen. They were utterly delicious, made of the freshest fish. But unless you have a very hearty appetite indeed, and if you eat all the antipasti, you will have no room left for the pasta course and the main. We left some of the antipasti and had pasta, by which time we were full to bursting. Looking back, we would have been happier eating all the delicious antipasti & stopping there (which would have been no cheaper - it's a fixed price menu). So decide whether this is the right restaurant for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsAmateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    155
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
594
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this lovely hotel due to the location - a friend was having a wine tasting evening at a cafe nearby. It was truly in the heart of the town! Friendly staff and a unique style - I would certainly go again and make use of the spa which I missed out on this time! Valet parking can be arranged for an extra 15 euros and that takes the stress out of wondering where to park if you're unfamiliar with an area. Lovely breakfast room and service too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The absolute best hotel in Ascoli Piceno. The staff is so helpful. You leave your key to the car and they park it in the garage. The restaurant next to the hotel, in the same building, is also perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a find this hotel was! A beautifully restored building with just the basics done very well. Having a list of other places to eat and a wedding to attend we only needed a room and breakfast - the latter being served by the restaurant next door. Staff were brilliant and provided me with an iron so I looked presentable for our friends nuptuals. Plenty of excellent touches like free nonalcoholic minibar. We also like the tiered pricing linked to the number of facilities you required. Although we only needed the basics this time we will certainly be considering the spa when we return.

Room Tip: Our room faced a back street which meant it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Despite the rain our first visit in Ascoli Piceno was delightful. Our hotel was excellent. The old building has been restored with good taste respecting the old structures. Situation in the middle of the old town is perfect. Service was excellent and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARDAGO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A wonderful find! The hotel is very conveniently located (Can't say the same for the parking, unfortunately, but that's life in the Centro Storico) very nicely appointed and the price was right - excellent, even. Special mention should be made of the staff. They were simply terrific. Breakfast was very nice and the cappuccino some of the best I've had in hotels. We live in Italy and travel a lot, so I know what I'm talking about. chances are we will be back in Ascoli Piceno - a true delight of a town. I will definitely stay here again.

Having commented on the parking, I should add that there is free parking a 10-15 minute hike away, and paid parking available. They even park your car in a garage and deliver it to you for a 15 Euro fee. Well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tala, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent and very comfortable hotel in the Sorico Centro. Walkable to everywhere within the old city. All of the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and spoke very good English which is unusual in Italy - they even took our car away to the parking garage each day! Rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were very big and stocked with lovely toiletries, fluffy bath towels which is a luxury in Italy. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 567SandraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Sgariglia Resort Campolungo
17.0 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#3 of 57 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing