We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket with quirky decor”
Review of Il Desco

Il Desco
Ranked #2 of 256 Restaurants in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Centrally located in a mansion.Elegant but warm and cozy shabby chic style.Open for over a year and a half, offers traditional dishes of meat and fresh fish every day.Great attention to raw materials, cleaning and accurate service.Very good wine with predominant attention to the best local wineries.In summer you can eat in the 'open in a garden located inside the restaurant.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

We went for lunch. The menu is more adventurous than the usual local fare. The decor is interesting with trompe d’oeil painted on the walls. A sort of 18th century Alice in Wonderland vibe...

Pricey but interesting.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank iainm639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

This was the most exciting restaurant. At the entrance, there was a whole staircase lit up with little fairy lights and filled with bottles of wine on each side. What a fabulous idea! Right from the start, we had incredibly friendly and speedy service. For our primi, we had the handmade tagliatelle with squid, prawns and pistachio nuts. For our secondi, we had the sea bream fillet with almond sauce, zucchini cream and soy reduction; and the beef fillet with wine reduction sauce, mushrooms and potato rosti. This was accompanied by a stunning Cambrugiano 2015 Verdicchio di Metallica! We also had a half bottle of a Marina Cvetic, which was a 2015 Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. We simply could not fit any dolce in!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

I checked with the server first - he said the portions were "abbastanza grande" - quite large - and we couldn't believe how minuscule they were when they arrived. Our 20-euro fish starter comprised four tiny shrimp, two molecules of sole, and some fragments of squid. For our main course, more fragments of squid and three small octopus legs. We wouldn't necessarily object to our bill amounting to twice what we've been paying in Ascoli for the past few days, but we expected at least to receive portion sizes comparable to those of other restaurants. Overpriced and pretentious!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

We love frequenting this family run restaurant everytime we are in Ascoli. Elegant dining atmosphere and proessional staff complement the carefully procured menu featuring great homemade pastas and second courses.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank dpcwwva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I can’t say I fell in love with the place, but my partner had a delicious dish and we did recieve good service. So it’s worth a try.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anna73784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco also viewed

Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 

Been to Il Desco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing