We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food, unfriendly staff.”
Review of Osteria Nonna Nina

Osteria Nonna Nina
Ranked #3 of 256 Restaurants in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Typical Restaurant Regional Awarded Prestigious Mark of Italian Hospitality Michelin Guide 2017 -2018
Reviewed August 2, 2019

We come to Italy at least once a year and this is hands down the worst dinner we've ever had in over 20 years. I have no idea how this restaurant has so many positive reviews.

First, our welcome. It was nonexistent. I'd read that from a couple of other reviewers but thought no, this is Italy. They're so warm, so welcoming always. But here, no. The girl looked as though we had interrupted her standing as she led us to an inside table even though outside tables were open and we asked for one. As the night progressed, they seemed to seat the foreigners inside.

Second, our order. The waiter arrived to take ours and before I could open my mouth, he began to make recommendations which is fine, but when you keep asking me if I want double order on everything we order, it's a little much. Plus, out of the 4 of us, two are vegetarians and he kept trying to sell us a meat plate. I felt like he wasn't trying to give us a nice experience but trying to make more money.

Third, my daughter ordered a tomato sauce dish and after delivering our starter, he advised us they were out of tomato sauce. At an Italian restaurant.

Fourth, when I asked for the gnocchi about which I'd read rave reviews, he talked me out of it and recommended a different 'homemade' pasta. I took his advice and there's no way it was homemade and neither was my husband's dish.

Fifth, the 'roasted' potatoes - if you pressed your fork on one, you literally squeezed oil out. They were probably microwaved old potatoes.

I will give them this - the wine was good.

When the bill came, the waiter brought complimentary limoncello (which we did not drink) and four glasses. My kids are 14 and 16. The waiter, when I told him we were unhappy with things, couldn't really be bothered.

Go anywhere else in this cute little town and you will feel more welcome and have a better meal. This was terrible and just disappointing when you're on vacation and hoping to have a nice meal and night with your family.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyCry, Proprietario at Osteria Nonna Nina, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear customer, its consumption refers to a dinner on August 2nd 2019. You showed up at our restaurant without a reservation. I don't understand why you should have had outside tables already booked and engaged by others. That said, the dinner you have put together in 4 for a total of € 58 was made up as you requested by: 1 selection of pecorino cheese for 2 people, 1 mixed salad, 1 green salad, 1 baked potato, 1 bruschetta with tomato sauce , 1 Tagaliatella al ragu, 1 Italian Strozzaprete.
No one forced you into the choice and no one tried to sell things you didn't want. She simply did not accept the internal position of the table and as a result produced a negative review. Best regards, Roberto Pagnoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

The food whas good and cheap!
The staff whas nice.
A good place to come back...
Ypu must have to order the ragu pasta!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank H1741AMjulianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I had dinner here on our first night in Ascoli Piceno. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. We started with antipasti and both had pasta as well as sweets. They also gave us a complimentary limoncello after dinner. We enjoyed it so much, we went back to try some meat dishes tge next day.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MauroF927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Cozy place, very traditional italian food.
The staff was just wonderful, helping us choosing the dishes and being very fun.
The food is great, we highly recommend the "arrosticini", one of the best we ever had.

P.S: Please follow our instagram page where we share our pictures and experiences from the places we visit @roaming_otters

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roaming_otters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

Professional and helpful waiter made the dinner special. Tasty local dishes. Abundant serving of antipasto.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sosso1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Nonna Nina also viewed

Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
Ascoli Piceno, Province of Ascoli Piceno
 

Been to Osteria Nonna Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing