We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birgit R”

San Giorgio Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ascoli Piceno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Giorgio Country House
Ranked #32 of 70 Ascoli Piceno B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband, daughters, and I stayed at the Country House San Giorgio for 10 days this spring. It is a small quiet inn located in the beautiful village of Rosara and is surrounded by snow capped mountains. Rosara is situated just a few minutes by car from Ascoli Pinceno. Our hosts, Daniela, Pepe and Cesare, were extreamly helpful, friendly, and always willing to give us advice regarding local sightseeing and hikes. The day after we arrived Daniela and Pepe even drove us to the car rental in town and helped us rent our Fiat Panda. During our stay every effort was made to make us feel comfortable and a part of their family. The inn also has a small restaurant which serves a truly wonderful breakfast for its guests. We also always returned for dinner since the food was so exceptional. There never seemed to be a need to eat anywhere else!!! Dinner always concisted of multiple courses of freshly prepared local dishes. In conclusion, the rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the food was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birgit46206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I had dinner at Country House San Giorgio last weekend and we had such an extraordinary experience that we feel compelled to share it with anybody who is planning to visit this area. As a testimony to how excited we were about the place, I should disclose that I have never written a restaurant review before, despite the fact that we have traveled extensively across Europe and the United States, and are passionate about trying interesting restaurants.

The location:
Country House San Giorgio is an old farmhouse in Rosara, a small hamlet just a few miles outside Ascoli Piceno, in the Marche region. This is a yet undiscovered gem in Central-Eastern Italy, with beautiful hilly landscapes and quaint medieval villages. The locals are extremely friendly and proud of their food traditions.
The restaurant is comprised of two rooms, with some of the old stone-walls still exposed, and a cozy fireplace in one of the rooms. Apparently, the restaurant is very popular with the locals (always a good sign) and it was fairly crowded on the day that we visited. However, this is not a loud place with kids running around, but rather a relaxing oasis were families and friends get together to enjoy good food and wine. In addition to the restaurant, several rooms are available for people who are interested in staying overnight.

The food:
Our dinner was a real feast of local delicacies, with an impressive variety of dishes throughout the entire meal. I should specify that food was served in the old Italian tradition: there is no need to choose from a menu, the plates keep coming and one gets to try everything that the kitchen makes for the day.
Our appetizers included local cheeses and cured meats, a delicious frittata with local mushrooms, polenta with sausage and the "always imitated but never duplicated" stuffed olives from Ascoli (we have seen them on menus in the Village in New York, but it is only in Ascoli that you will find the real ones, made with "olive in salamoia" and based on a recipe that has been passed down through generations).
As a first course we had a choice between ravioli with ricotta and spinach in the style of Norcia (a small town in southeastern Umbria famous for many culinary delicacies), and tagliatelle in a duck ragout.
The main course was a delicious selection of grilled meats (pork kebabs and short ribs with roasted potatoes) and a roast of veal with balsamic pearl onions.
Finally, we closed with a to-die-for Zuppa Inglese (despite the name, this is an Italian custard-based dessert), genziana (a liqueur made from an infusion of genziana roots), and a licorice-flavored grappa.

The hosts:
The manager of Country House San Giorgio is Peppe (short for Giuseppe) Frollo, an incredibly pleasant and friendly man who has spent most of his life in the restaurant business. Signor Peppe is helped by his son and daughter in the dining rooms, while his wife Daniela manages the kitchen. They are all extremely attentive and gracious, and make the whole experience of dining at their place a real pleasure.
If you have a dream of dining an a typical Italian place, where the food is delicious, the hosts are friendly and make every effort to make their customers feel as if they are part of the family, and the surroundings are simply beautiful, you cannot miss the Country House San Giorgio.

Our bill for the entire dinner was the final surprise. Suffice it to say that it makes it hard to justify ever eating at home again......

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Susan and I had not been with our friends Peppe and Daniela since they sold their Ascoli restaurant, La Locandiera, and went on their adventure to Australia. Our history together is friendship, food and fun. When we heard of Country House we immediately made plans and finally arrived this September. At Country House they are able to offer their excellent hospitality along with the same fantastic La Locandiera cuisine. We are not objective, we are good friends, but our review ls on target. You can have the same relationship with Peppe and Daniela that we enjoy. From our first visit to their restaurant, their hospitality encouraged the friendship that still endures. Thank you, friends, for such great care and amenities. We wish you the best and can't wait to return..

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

On a friend's recommendation we stayed in Country House and it quickly became our "home away from home" as we spent a month in Italy, using it as our home base as we made several trips to other, more typical tourist-cities in Italy. Each time we'd return it felt like coming home.

The food, cooked by Daniela and her sister Natalia, is superb, with most ingredients sourced locally from family and friends sometimes just down the road. So fresh, so good, exactly as the Italians say that the food is always best "when it is cooked by the mamma". The meals are overwhelming generous in size with fantastic home-made limoncello and grappa, and there's something magically about being at San Giorgio on a Saturday night with the veranda filled with local families and a few travelers who by the end of the night have all joined tables talking and drinking cafe and grappa. Otherworldly.

The house and grounds are beautiful. Rosara, the mountain upon which San Giorgio sits, is fantastic with great hiking and walks, and you're only a 5 minute drive down the mountain into Ascoli Piceno, a picture-perfect "town of stone" with all the amenities of a larger city without a mass of tourists even in the busy season.

But while even though the house, rooms, food, location, scenery are all fantastic, what really makes San Giorgio so wonderful is the people. Pepe, Daniela, Cesare, Natalia, and Katarina are a family and they are so kind, so thoughtful, so warmhearted and will show you all the wonderful things there are to see and do around Ascoli right down to buying you truffles or taking you to see a friends vineyard. They will become your friends.

San Giorgio is what you'd imagined and hoped Italy to be. It's a magical place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank josiahq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank aktis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascoli Piceno hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
1,144 reviews
9 mi away
Country House Corte del Sole
Country House Corte del Sole
#1 of 1 in Campolungo - Villa Sant'Antonio
66 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
383 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mimi e Coco Bed & Breakfast
Mimi e Coco Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 70 in Ascoli Piceno
40 reviews
2 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Country House

Address: Frazione Rosara 88, 63100, Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range: $40 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel rural, situated in the hill at only 5 minutes far from the city Ascoli Piceno, bedrooms very comfortable and with authentic furniture 1800/1900 century. Trekking and relax under the gazebo in the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing