We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B and hosts close to spectacular walks and historic town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Famiglia Galie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ascoli Piceno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Famiglia Galie
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming B&B and hosts close to spectacular walks and historic town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Fil di Fumo is a well-situated B&B on the outskirts of historic Ascoli Piceno with good access to walking and trekking routes in the surrounding hills. The hosts Fernando and Iolanda provided us with wonderful breakfasts which we ate outside on the terrace overlooking their vineyard. Fernando - who speaks good English and can provide an enormous amount of information about the region - told us to help ourselves to any of the produce on the farm and we enjoyed the delicious figs and grapes which we often ate with our evening meal on the terrace. Accommodation was spacious and had everything we needed for self-catering. This is a wonderful base for exploring the beautiful Ascoli Piceno region and the owners also have a second B&B property in the Sibillini National Park for those who want to venture into the more mountainous terrain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bill186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We recently stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and it ended up being the favorite place we stayed in during our 10 days in Italy. The building has been wonderfully and tastefully renovated and it has a real cosy cottage feel to it. The bedroom we stayed in was clean and we felt at home right away. Our host was welcoming and gave us a lovely breakfast, she was very helpful despite our limited Italian. There was a great range of books and guides available to get a fuller flavour of the area. Although we could not eat there in the evening there are a couple of good little restaurants nearby (1-3km). The location is in a little hamlet of houses overlooked by a spectacular mountain while Balzo, a village with all amenities, is a 10 minute drive away. All in all a great base from which to explore the best bits of the Sibillini mountains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had a lovely time, the B&B is located in the southern part of the Sibillini National Park, a wonderful mountainous area across the Marche and Umbria regions and in particular at the foot of the tallest mountain in the park, about 2400 mt asl.
The area is just fantastic and offers a lot for hikers, nature lovers, not to mention food lovers! Full of hiking opportunities all around.
Rooms are beautiful, clean and very nicely furnished. The whole B&B is spacious and cosy at the same time, with a nice fireplace and lounge areas.
The hosts, Ale and Ben, are very interesting and nice young people who manage to make you feel welcome and at home without overdoing it. They speak a thousand languages and have travelled the world.
Pay them a visit! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vpacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash. DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

The location is fabulous. Mountains in every direction. Deep soft snow. Fabulous hiking. Cross country skiing. Ancient towns in all directions. Incredible food 30 mnutes away.

Excellent Service. A MUST IF YOU LOVE LIFE THE OUTDOORS BEAUTY AND ITALY

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ERICADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Vecchia Stalla B&B, also known as the B&B Famiglia Galie, in Astorara (http://www.benale.net/en/La%20Vecchia%20Stalla.html). It was really, really wonderful. The B&B is in the most fabulous location - one of the most beautiful places we visited in Italy. It is located in a small, picturesque hamlet, in a remote, completely unspoilt area. Just minutes away from the B&B you have staggering views and fantastic hiking. The B&B itself is in a beautifully converted stable, with spotlessly clean, simple, but lovely, bedrooms. The hosts, Alessandra and Ben, are amazingly welcoming, incredibly friendly, very interesting, and wonderful cooks. All the meals we ate in the B&B were absolutely delicious. I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly. Anyone who enjoys beautiful views, mountains, hiking, and/or peace and quiet would LOVE it here. It was a real highlight of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ItalyJuly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutdog
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay both at the Bed and Breakfast location in Ascoli and in the location in Astorara. Both locations offered different, sensational experiences. Fil di Fumo, in Ascoli Piceno, is a charming little cottage at the edge of the owner's spectacular property. The accommodations are spacious, clean and comfortable, and there is even a little kitchenette where food can be prepared. The cottage abuts grape orchards and olive groves (the owners make their own wine and olive oil), and has views of a soaring mountain range. It is located about 20 minutes away from the center of Ascoli Piceno, which houses a lovely church and terrific Piazza. My husband and I spent time wandering the streets of Ascoli and found them quite charming. Fil di Fumo is also located about 20 minutes away from the sea shore in San Benedetto, which has some lovely beaches to relax on for the day.

La Vecchia Stalla, the mountain lodge located in Sibillini National Park, offered a nice contrast to the Ascoli location. Astorara is quiet and beautiful; we felt like we were staying in our own private little mountain home! The location offers terrific opportunities for hiking, sunbathing, and exploring little mountain top villages. The accomodations themselves are gorgeous; light, and spacious with comfortable beds. The lodge is over 100 years old, but has been recently restored.

There is not enough that can be said about the owners of this B&B! The members of the Galie family are marvelous hosts, and welcomed us with open arms into their homes. Meals were homemade and traditional, with generous portions and a wide variety of foods. The Galies know the region quite well, and were able to offer terrific ideas in regards to day trips, local events, etc.

We cannot wait to return to this beautiful B&B and would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jesser58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascoli Piceno hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.8 mi away
"Le Monachette" B&B
"Le Monachette" B&B
#37 of 65 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mimi e Coco Bed & Breakfast
Mimi e Coco Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 65 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Famiglia Galie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Famiglia Galie

Property: B&B Famiglia Galie
Address: Via Tozzano O Lisciano 52/a, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing