We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back again”
Review of Ca' La Somara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' La Somara
Ranked #9 of 47 Arzachena B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“would go back again”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

beautiful setting to a very thoughtful specification.very organized and excellent communication by our hosts.overall excellent value in one of the most aesthetic locations one can visit.breakfast is a highlight but then the pool, the general amenity of the property and the guenuine goodwill of the owners is a delight.we'll be revisiting asap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kpmgwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved our stay here, away from the crowds of the Costa Smeralda and surrounded instead by dramatic hills and the sound of cowbells! It is beautifully landscaped with a large pool, a vegetable garden, a blue and green eyed white cat and a gorgeous St Bernard dog called Morgana!

The rooms are very tastefully and authentically furnished, though a little small and with no extra pillows or bedding which can get a little cold and uncomfortable in the night. I'm sure this is something you can ask to rectify.

It is worth noting that the Owners no longer provide half board, just B&B. It's quite a walk to St Pantaleo but a very quick drive and it's well worth a visit. There is also a small kitchen for guests to self-cater which was pretty well stocked but please add a chopping board and tea towels! Breakfast is served with a smile, but is pretty basic.

Overall, a (deceptively) simple place, deservedly well loved by its owners and guests.

Room Tip: Probably pay a little more for a larger/upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay. The whole place has been renovated really beautifully and in a simple style, and the grounds are really spacious. So there are chairs etc. scattered around with lots of lovely places to sit and enjoy the surrounding views. The rooms were small but clean and had everything you needed. The food was a highlight. The breakfast was outstanding. We also ate dinner there twice and it was fantastic also. We'd have eaten there every night if we could but they don't cook dinner on Wednesdays and Sundays and only cook a dinner on the other days if at least 6 people want one. As we were there quite early in the season there weren't enough people every night. But they recommended some good places nearby, although all were driving distance. Ca la somara is also a good driving distance from lots of great beaches, so you get some peace and serenity in a very busy area of Sardinia but can get everywhere really easily.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himawari_Fuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We LOVED this place and would always come back!
The idyllic farm is so peaceful and really does feel like a little oasis - everything at Ca' La Somara is done with so much love to detail and you can feel it wherever you look... starting with the little cute donkey that you can find on every door, lanterns and hammocks in every cozy corner, a stunning pool etc.

The host Laura (I hope I recall that rightly) has designed all of this herself. You can find pictures around the house that show the before and after - and we can just say: WOW! It is truly amazing! Talking about the hosts - Laura and her team were so nice and welcoming, super helpful, gave tips for anything around and you could feel that it was the most important thing for them that their guests were enjoying their stay.

You can easily stay a few days without doing anything at Ca' La Somara - it's the perfect place to relax - but if you fancy doing something in the area, it would be good to have a car. The beaches around are amazing - our favorite is 'Spaggia del principe', a little hidden and pool like water...

Almost every day they were offering a typical Sardinian dinner. That was great! Laura and team made a real event out of it, starting with a little aperitif, a few courses, wine... so that you could roll yourself into bed after that.

There are so many other lovely things to note, but we would just recommend you go yourself and find out .-)... Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Ca La Somara is one of the favourite places I have ever stayed, and being a regular traveller, that's saying something! It offers a wonderfully authentic holiday in Sardinia in amongst beautiful surroundings, but without compromise on quality and peacefulness.

The rooms are traditionally furnished, as is the main dining area.

If you choose to stay for dinner you will be served a traditional Sardinian meal outside on a lovely big table and enjoy meeting the fellow travellers staying there.

The pool area is beautiful with plenty of hammocks and loungers to use.

San Pantaleo, the local town, is a traditional town with a wonderful market on Thursday. It makes a lovely change to the glitz of the rest of the Costa Smerelda, although that's still only 10mins drive away.

I would highly recommend staying here. The only downsides were the lack of air-conditioning or fans in the rooms (although it was never too hot), and the bed which was quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goochieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2009

It was the place where I want to live forever. Loved the house, loved the donkeys and especially Bianca, my beautiful kitten :)

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicoleR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Situated just ouside of Arzachena, Ca' La Somara offers rest and relaxation in a lovely setting. The room was clean and airy. We were a little disappointedby our meal there but am prepared to believe we may have been unlucky.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arzachena
2.7 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
512 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
#1 of 75 in Arzachena
352 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tenuta Pilastru
Tenuta Pilastru
#5 of 75 in Arzachena
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
286 reviews
1.8 mi away
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' La Somara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' La Somara

Property: Ca' La Somara
Address: Localita Sarra Balestra SNC, 07021, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Arzachena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the website of Ca la Somara. Accommodation just a few minutes from the beautiful beaches of Costa Smeralda In these pages you will have all informations to learn more about our services and what you can visit in the period that you are our guests. Wifi Free. Our home, an old stable, immersed in the countryside and in a magical atmosphere only a few minutes away from the Costa Smeralda, has been restored in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings and our taste. When we, Alberto and Laura, decided to come and live in Sardinia we fled a city life that had become too stressful and here realised a living dream and a project of life, giving the possibility for others to enjoy it too. In this way, from an old stable, between San Pantaleo, Porto Cervo and Arzachena, we have created Ca La Somara , where countryside, perfumes, colours, materials and all these things together create a welcoming, serene and informal atmosphere. Ideal for those who are looking for a relaxing holiday in an evocative location. If you want to contact us and ask for information or reserve your holiday, send us an e-mail. Our guests are welcomed in 12 simple but romantically rustic rooms, each one different from the others and distinguished by its own colored donkey. Furniture and decorations are the result of our continuous wandering about and we have really taken care of all details: the plastering, the natural hollows with rounded corners in the walls, bathrooms with hand painted ceramics, the ceilings alternating between wooden beams, terracotta tiles, or simple cannucciato . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ca' La Somara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca' La Somara Sardinia/Arzachena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing