We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice corner of Costa Smeralda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Arzachena
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice corner of Costa Smeralda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed to this property for a long weekend end of August beginning of September.
As first I would like to advice anybody visiting Sardinia for the first time looking for glamour and life of Costa Smeralda to choose another period of the year: from August 1st to maximum August 20th otherwise afterwards you will find NOTHING!
The shops are open but deserted, nice restaurants closed, clubs and bars shutdown, beaches without proper service.
The hotel Poltu Quatu was luckily open and was a nice discover on the desert land.. Very nice decorated common area in Sardinia style, big and picturesque pool with nice and comfy sunloungers. From the hotel rooms you can have a nice view of the pool or a more scenic vista of the blue sea and marina. Our room was a Superior, extremely big and extremely clean, nice furbished with new and elegant furniture, king bed with crispy linen, with pool view and nice balcony. Bathroom was made out of local terracotta tiles with wide range of product including tanning lotions. The restaurants were partly closed (!) so no chance of having a nice breakfast around the pool were for sure during season is a must.. We had half board and were guest for breakfast and dinner to the same restaurant called "Bahia" (with at least nice view to the sea and Yachts).
Food quality in both cases was very good. Big variety for the breakfast buffet and different menu every evening for dinner, nice and friendly service sometime a little bit over-stressed despite the low season.
The hotel is located in a nice small bay with own Marina, lots of yacht also for renting, shops and bars like a little village; unfortunately as the rest of Costa Smeralda not fully operational at the time of our visit.
Nice point: the hotel offered us a welcome degustation with cheese and local wine and a "goodbye" gift that we really appreciated.
Negative point: the beach. Hotel provides a very good and punctual shuttle service to a near sandy beach (only yacht marina in front of the hotel and rocks) the problem is that the beach is not 5 star quality as you would assume, there is not proper bar for lunch or snacks there are no toilets and the umbrellas and sunbeds have no vitality space between each others.. Luckily we had a rental car and we explored other beaches.
Overall we had a good experience at the hotel, we would recommend it together with a boat rental to enjoy the beauty of Sardinia from the sea.

Room Tip: Superior or over better with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SRZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    76
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
63
155
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights in July 2011 with my wife and two very young children (2 and 3). Even during peak season the hotel was calm and tranquil. The staff are helpful and attentive and also excellent around kids. We had no issues during our stay. The hotel is very clean and safe for young children. Overall a well-run operation.

The hotel is situated on a beautiful marina with some amazing views and a parade of shops, expensive restaurants and a cheap supermarket.

As other reviewers have stated the food in the restaurants is expensive; much cheaper eating out in Bai Sardinia (5-10 minute drive) however you definitely need to hire a car during your stay. Although you can drive to the best beaches and Porto Cervo within ten minutes the roads are non-pedestrianised and the public transport is non-existent. Taxis are very expensive during peak season. 30 Euros each way for a ten minute journey to Porto Cervo or the beaches at Liscia Ruja and Spiaggia del Principe. The hotel has a free shuttle bus service to its own beach (Liscia di Vacca) which is about a five minute drive. We found this beach to be a little bit rocky so opted for the sandier beaches in close vicinity. The hotel staff can advise you which beaches to visit and are also willing to book day trips for you at the same price if you had booked directly. The highlight of our trip was a cruise on the Velieri Valentina which includes a visit to the La Maddelena islands. This was recommended and booked via the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

I spend a night in october with my family at the 5 star Poltu Quatu / Jaspe Grand Hotel, because they had an affordable low season offer; 162€ for a double, including HB for two persons, (which is like the price of a three star or even an expensive agriturismo). We didn´t expect much, but it was all great, very nice and helpful people, a free upgrade to a superior room, beatiful place, good food, all in all a fantastic buy!
The surrounding area isn´t really that interesting, you need a car (or yacht...) to get around, or just stay in the hotel area, swimming in the pool, playing tennis, etc. Or just use the hotel - as we did - for a stopover on the way up north to sleep and eat in luxury!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoakimOster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I went there we friends and secured over 5 rooms for multiple nights. The hotel was less than 25% full when we were there. They screwed up some of the reservations and then the manager Giovana would not try and accommodate us but yet tried to nickle and dime us on everything. The rooms were fine and a bit dated but the walls were so thin that I could hear people in the bathroom in the next room over and every conversation. When they put a family of 4 in the next room at 7.30am one more morning I was shocked at how loud it was. With the hotel empty, why would they put everyone right next to each other? The cleaning service never did our dishes in the room which was a surprise since it was an apartment. Check out had 3 extra charges on it that were not mine. Experience was not a 5 star experience. On a positive note, the pool was pretty, the breakfast was nice and Simone and all the other waiters in the dining area was so extremely friendly and very helpful to us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohreringTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Hotel in August 2008 and we had a lovely stay. The hotel is beautiful and the location is so perfect, right on a very classy port about 10 minutes drive from Porto Cervo. The staff was always so friendly and eager to assist us with our questions or our requests. The pool staff consisted of such hard workers. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and simple but big - which we always appreciate. My husband is Italian and I am American and I had no problem communicating with the staff when he was not with me (which is sometimes a problem in Italy!). Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeryFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

stayed here mid-April so it wasn't too crowded. Pool looked fun but it was too cold for us. Right infront of the marina and several restaurants. STaff was extramely helpful with everything and anything you needed. Despite the construction for expansion, cold weather and hard to locate, it's a beautiful hotel wtih good food and good drinks! I'm sure if we traveled around aug or sept, we would have had more of a blast.

  • Liked — staff and food
  • Disliked — location and hard bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marie6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

I have just returned from staying at this hotel and I thought that the overall experience was fantastic. I was aware from reading other reviews on Trip Advisor that the staff could be rude, but I found everyone very friendly and the concierge service was especially helpful. The rooms were kept very clean and the bathroom was huge.

The prices for food and drink in the hotel are terribly expensive but there is a cafe about 2 mins walk from the hotel that overlooks the marina which is much cheaper. The hotel is located about 3km from Porto Cervo so we found it neccessary to rent a car to get around. There is no beach at Poltu Quatu, but we found a lovely one called Piccolo Pevero which is a 5-10min drive away. If you do rent a car, there is plenty of free parking by the port and it only takes 3 mins to walk to the hotel.

Be aware that it will cost €25 - €30 to get a taxi from the hotel to a restaurant in Porto Cervo. The area is not cheap and restaurants can be very expensive. Poltu Quatu itself is very small with only a handful of restaurants, so it is worth getting out and checking out other places.

I would definitely go to this hotel again. It may not be as glamorous as the other 5 star hotels in Porto Cervo, but it is priced well to reflect this.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the rooms. The helpful staff.
  • Disliked — The plastic sun loungers.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday_Gal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arzachena
2.7 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
2.7 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
151.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Strada Per Baja Sardinia SNC | Loc. Poltu Quatu, 07021, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Arzachena
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Arzachena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Arzachena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery By Sofitel Sardinia/Arzachena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing