We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely base for exploring the Costa Smeralda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parco degli Ulivi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Arzachena
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely base for exploring the Costa Smeralda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

July 2011 we had just spent a week at the Perdepera resort at Cardedu on the east coast of Sardinia. At that resort our accommodation for a family of 5 had consisted on an open plan living room with tired furniture. The children's beds doubled as sofas and our bed was in the open plan loft overhead with a steep stairway and a ceiling that was too low for my 6 ft husband to stand up in comfortably. What a relief to come to Parco Degli Ulivi. We were in a suite with two very large bedrooms, one for us and one for our three young children, each with a very spacious bathroom. These connected to a large living room which looked out over the olive trees and beautiful surroundings. Although the accommodation at Perdepera was supposed to be four star, I would rate it a 2 or 3- and Parco Degli Ulivi as a true 4+.

We drove up the east coast to the Costa Smeralda stopping to explore beautiful seaside villages and beaches on the way. We drove into the town of Arzachena looking for directions to Parco Degli Ulivi and it took a while to find it as it quite far out of town on a country road heading down to the coast. It's actually easier to find from the coast road. It's a beautiful spot, no sea views but gorgeous spacious grounds with views of the countryside and rugged hills far into the distance. Very quiet and peaceful. Very safe for the children to run and play. The breakfast was delicious and service in the restaurant discreet and friendly. We did eat one evening meal at the restaurant and it was also of very high quality, great local wine with beautiful views from the terrace. It was such a relief to be back to true Italian food and standards after our Perdepera experience.

You definitely need a car but then you are a ten minute drive from the beautiful coastline with an endless selection of beautiful beaches. The coastal towns and villages are therefore also a short drive way. We ate at many local restaurants with sea views - aahh beautiful Sardinia! The beaches were not crowded in early July and when we spotted a beautiful beach from the coast road we would do a quick reccy and many had sunbeds with umbrellas for a reasonable daily rate. The sand could get very hot in the sun and with children it is always easier if you have less stuff to hike back and forth from the beach. With all the gear that a family of 5 entails it was much easier to have a base on the beach close to the water but with plenty of shade. The sunbeds in the 3rd and 4th rows would be cheaper than the 1st and 2nd and as there was plenty of available beds we were still closest to the water.

I can imagine when it gets very crowded in August it would be a welcome relief to escape back to Parco Degli Ulivi after a fabulous day at the beach. The hotel pool was stunningly situated below the restaurant terrace facing towards the beautiful hills, all the sunbeds and umbrellas were clean and in good condition. I think overall Parco Degli Ulivi would be best for a couple or older travelers as it has a sophisticated pool and restaurant. However, it was perfect for us for the 3-4 days with stayed as we used it as our bed and breakfast base and spent most of our daytime at the beach and evenings in the local towns for dinner. It was also enjoyable to meet an international clientele with guests from Italy, Germany and France

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_Manca, Proprietario at Hotel Parco degli Ulivi, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear customer,
Thankyou for your detailed review and we are pleased our hotel resembles your ideal holiday.

We look forward to having you again as our guest at the Hotel Parco degli Ulivi.
Best wishes
Valentina Manca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    63
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
172
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here in September for 2 nights in a family suite. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The whole set up is set in an old olive grove so there is lots of space between each apartment building so it give a very relaxing feel. The owner/manager was extremely helpful giving us lots of tips on what to see. Breakfast was the best we had during out week long trip, especially the chocolate cake! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlg1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Really good restaurant with excellent service, local produce and good wine list. Swimming pool also very good. Great views from the restaurant and pool.

But: our "junior suite" (room 105) had 1 small window with no view, so had the feeling of staying in darkish cave, albeit a luxurious one. Also, we were charged for "rental" of our 2 blue towels for the pool! In addition, I asked for an iron and ironing board from reception, to be told there wasn't one. Felt the restaurant and pool were a bit let down by the hotel side of things.

Overall, very good, and would definitely go back because of the restaurant and pool. Would recommend being selective about rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, not a "suite" with a single small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Parco Degli Ulivi is in a great location, halfway between Cannigione and Arzachena along a long country road. You most def. need a car whilst staying there. It is surrounded by acres of land and interesting configurations of boulders for miles around. It therefore feels very spacious and peaceful but could also feel a little souless, especially if the hotel is not busy.
Our bedroom was very simply furnished with nice muted colours and had a lovely terraced balcony with far reaching country views which were wonderful. It was great to sit outside at the small round table, drinking, reading and listening to the countryside.
The swimming pool was slightly too cold for constant use but was absolutely beautifully designed and they have certainly made use of the wonderful 360% views.
The best part of the hotel was the gourmet dining room which was open to outside guests as a fine dining restaurant but very reasonable at that. There was a choice of a la carte menu or a set local menu which changed daily. The a la carte was pricey but impeccably presented and cooked, the set menu was very reasonable and delicious. A glass of prosecco was served with the chef's compliments along with an amouse bouche. This, together with the varied selection of bread rolls (yes, not just white) and the thin crisp style bread that is so typically Sardinian, we thought the meals were excellent value as well as tasting divine. We ate in the restauant twice which is most unlike us as we tend to go out to eat, searching for something of character in nearby villages.
The nearest beaches of Cannigione were ok but not the best on the coast. Drive across to Capriccioli or Liscia Rui, just south of Porto Cervo. Both beaches have parking (E2 per hour) but well worth it as they are simply stunning white sandy caribbean style beaches.
For a very reasonable meal and the best pizza for miles, go to Vecchio Molino which is just outside of Arzechena, on the way to the coast, passing Despar and Euro Spin supermarkets.

Room Tip: Any room with terrace and fabulous countryside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

You are on a lovely area of land where it feels like you're away from everything: there's lots of space and no traffic noise.

The hotel is not near the beach - this is a short drive to the Costa Smeralda, but you definitely won't see any beach views. The pool looks incredible and is probably the nicest we saw at any of the hotels, but unfortunately it was too cold to swim.

We didn't realise how out of season April/May is in Sardinia - it really feels like majority of the island shuts down until June/July - so swimming in the beach or pool is pretty much not an option.

The restaurant is excellent - not cheap, but good value for the quality of food and service. They also gave us free sparkling wine and amuse-bouches each night.

People at the front desk and restaurant seem always happy to talk and help out - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inna_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We spent 3 fabulous nights at the Parco Degli Ulivi and had a wonderful experience! The hotel is situated in a serene area and consists of 3 villas, each containing several rooms. This setup guarantees each guest with a perfectly relaxing experience.

Our room and bathroom were clean, spacious and well appointed. The balcony was a great place to unwind after a "difficult" day at the beach and the air conditioned room helped to provide an extremely comfortable night sleep.

The hotel was a 10 minute drive from the closest beach and around 15 minutes from the Costa Smeralda, which features some of the best beaches on the island. In fact, some of the greatest destinations in Sardinia are within 30 minutes of the hotel. But, if you'd prefer to just relax, the hotel offers a gorgeous pool, with a breathtaking view of the mountains. As an added convenience, the hotel provides a towel rental service for use at the pool.

Our rate included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was modest, but the four course dinner, overlooking the pool and mountains, was fabulous! Each and every member of the staff was warm and welcoming and treated us like special guests. As much as we love to try new accommodations, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
België
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Dispite our late night arrival we received a warm wellcome. This positive feeling lasted untill the last minute of our holliday. Everyone was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. As all the buildings of the hotel are seperately in the park, there is little noise of other guests or anything else. The views are fantastic. In the restaurant dinner was served correctly, the food tasted fantastic and it came like little pieces of art on our plates! The location is perfect for people who seek rest and comfort in one. But also for "mobile" people like us, it's ideal because interesting things to visit are never too far away!
I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilde44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arzachena
0.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mariposas
Hotel Mariposas
#1 of 33 in Villasimius
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parco degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco degli Ulivi

Property: Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Address: | Localita Rena, 07021, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arzachena
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arzachena
#14 Family Hotel in Arzachena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arzachena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parco degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Parco degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parco Degli Ulivi Sardinia/Arzachena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing