We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent with wonderful views over the town and countryside. The hotel building looks great and is typically Tuscan in style. The rooms are sparsley furnished but not to the hotel's overall detriment - it is simply their style. However, it is not a cheap hotel and at this price the hotel must invest in better quality amenities, for example, the bed should be bigger and more comfortable, the TV is very small and there is not enough space for unpacking suitcases (one of the two suitcases will have to be on the floor). These are all small points but the more the hotel charges then the more they need to provide in return.

The restaurant was excellent with pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Badia di Pomaio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

My daughter got married at Badia di Pomaio in July 2010.We had over 200 guests coming from Canada(we are Canadians),the U.S. and Europe. We rented all the rooms at Badia and a few other Hotels around Arezzo(Il Capanne was also a favorite). The owner Gianni Briganti planned the perfect Tuscan wedding ,complete with Italian tenor, fireworks, fabulous buffet by the pool and 'out of this world' dinner.They took care of everything: flowers(orange roses,lavender,lemon trees) hairdressers,string quartet,band, D.J, white doves,etc.We sat in white tents with a see through ceiling and crystal chandeliers The service was impeccable. All the guests agreed it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever seen! They took excellent care of our guests and were also honest with the billing.Highly recommended to couples wanting a perfect destination wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is like staying in an Tuscan villa. Quiet, large rooms, free wi-fi, good service, very nice dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkansastraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The winding climb up the hill was a bit of a struggle for our rented Fiat Panda, but the fabulous view over the Valdarno and the historic City of Arezzo are well worth the effort. We originally booked for one night, and eventually stayed for four nights - and it would have been five if they were not fully-booked!!
The staff are v. friendly and helpful, and the rooms are well-appointed, clean and very quiet. Ultra-fast WiFi for free.
Our only reservation was that, in both the rooms we occupied, the shower enclosure was too small.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casuals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is the place to stay when visiting Arezzo - at least for a couple that is looking for a romantic location! The rooms are all charming although after several visits I can confirm that they do differ in size - from very small to quite big. But this hotel is not about staying in the room, go to the pool during daytime or just sit relaxed with a bottle of wine outside at night time, it is all about the view and tranquility above the city. Apparently the restaurant is quite good although we have not yet eaten there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbados00503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My family and I stayed here last summer for 4 days. It was a "vacation within a vacation" that Rick Steves recommends. I was looking for a secluded place where we could just relax and take a break from all the sightseeing of Italy. My other criteria was that it be accessible wtihout us having to rent a car. Badia di Pomaio is in Arezzo secluded, high on a hill. We took the train from Florence to Arezzo and had the hotel's shuttle pick us up at the station. The hotel grounds and the view of Tuscany from the hotel were beautiful! Every member of the staff was warm and welcoming. We had a quadruple room that was two small rooms. One room had two twin beds and the other room a queen size bed. The room was decorated tastefully and the beds were comfortable. It did lack decent natural light- the windows were small. Since we didn't have a car we had to eat every meal there. The food was excellent. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection. They didn't really advertise lunch but it was possible. Dinner was a lovely, candlelit, formal event, yet my children (8-12) never seemed out of place. My one negative comment about this hotel is that the pool wasn't heated! I imagined this excursion being us relaxing by the pool all day while my kids swam. The water in the pool was so ice cold my children could barely stand to be in it for about 15min. at a time. The weather up in hills wasn't hot enough to make the temperature of the pool appealing. Had it been as hot as it was down in Florence perhaps the pool temperature would not have been a problem. So, almost perfect.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyRoxyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Lovely location overlooking the surrounding countryside from this old building. The accomodation was clean and spacious and the staff vey helpful and friendly with good suggestions on local attractions and visits. Breakfast was excellent with staff there to provide good service and a friendly atmosphere. Dinner was very good and we enjoyed both inside and outside dining. Car park with sun shades - a nice touch for the hot summer. Lovely pool and terrace in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonaccord29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
4.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
717 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
316 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
4.7 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
645 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Cilnia
Villa Cilnia
#16 of 29 in Arezzo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Badia di Pomaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Badia di Pomaio

Address: Localita Pomaio 4, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Family Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range: $94 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Badia di Pomaio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia Di Pomaio was founded in 1645 as a religious home and place of spiritual retreat. In the 2000s, a careful restoration has transformed this place into receptive structure with restaurant, respecting what were historic architectural features. Our restaurant is a representation of the typical Casentino Aretine and bringing to light the ancient methods, trying not to upset the old values of Tuscan cuisine, enhancing the authenticity and flavors of local products. Opening hours of the restaurant: Lunch: 1:00 am to 2:30 pm Dinner: 7:30 pm to 9:30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Badia di Pomaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia Di Pomaio Arezzo
Badia Di Pomaio Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing