We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Dolce Vita” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa I Bossi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa I Bossi
Ranked #68 of 109 Arezzo B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed again for a few days with Lovely Francesca and her charming husband Francesco in Villa I Bossi. As before we felt we were staying with relatives rather than being guests at a hotel.
We always stay in room 1 in the old building, A trip back in time, so beautiful. The breakfast is totally sufficient but we like going to the shops and market and buy fruits and cheeses that we like . There is a fridge for the guests. Most lunches we cooked at the villa and ate by the pool.
The family could not be more generous and welcoming and Larissa , their daughter was always there with advice and help. She kindly changed many reservations that we had made at restaurants for us without any problems.
If you like to feel you are staying with wonderful relatives in a stunning setting, perhaps somewhere from a Fellini movie complete with eccentric dogs, this is heaven.
If you are looking for a hotel with room service and 24 hours receptionist and are prepared to pay 2 to 3 times as much, there are other places in the area to got to.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PersianboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    1
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Totally blown away by beauty of surroundings. A very romantic, enjoyable and gastronomic stay! We stayed in one of the rooms in the new block and room was spacious and attractive, as was bathroom. Communal living room lovely too. Pools lovely, only criticism is that you cannot make the sun beds fully horizontal, but we may of course just not worked out how to do it! Also check out the osteria across the road, great food there and fab wine. Do ask Francesca the Marchessa for a tour of the villa, fascinating history!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed before and will stay again. Again Francesca and the family provided a lovely low key relaxing atmosphere.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valbonne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked 3 rooms for 2 families for a week in august 2011. The booking agreed was not respected and we finnaly ended in a newly built place, not bad but with a terrible sound proof qualtity. In fact we were falling asleep with last customer and awake we first customer.

The owner is a middle age women assisted by her children. We suggest she retired to give management to young team as she is not customer oriented. Obvioulsy she does it for living and maintenance of the casttle. Over all the casttle is a very nice pleace needing some investments.
May be one night in the old casttle and on saturday night to have access to the privat church on sunday. And a nice swimming pool. that is it.

Room Tip: block the last 2 rooms at the end of corridor in new building. or very old rooms in hotel but very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephaneValbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights we were tempted to cancel our cycling tour and just stay here. This is a beautiful property 2 pools one for adults up in the hillside that overlooks the property and surrounding area. We love Franchesca and her family including Hercules and Tyson her dogs.Clean great service Tuscan style you ring the bell on the villa if you need something!Breakfast was sufficient if you are spending the day here there is a small store down the street that sells sandwiches and wine. Otherwise you need to cab it yo Arrezzo for food.the bed was a temperpedic which isn't our favorite but was ok. Villa Bossi was a fantastic spot to spend the beginning of our holiday. These people are such gracious hosts our cab to the train was late so Franchescas husband was all set in his suv to drive us just as the cab pulled inThanks For your hospitality was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is an old beautiful and enormous Tuscan house outside Arezzo, with 2 pools, beautiful garden, and more rooms in an annex building. It is managed by the family itself, very welcoming people but not as professional as a hotel team with reception, cleaning lady, waiterrs, etc. If you usually like hotels and expect a sheraton service, forget it, it is more like an B&B agriturimo casual place. The historical family furniture hasnt been moved for centuries, you might find dust and spyder webs under it. But you actually live in a museum! And with the family. It has the charm of the old and authentic places. The owners are an authentic Tuscan family, talking loud, very nice and helpful but not always here to serve you.
The room number 6 in the old building, the blue one, is in the back, not a nice view, has a dinning room with kitchen. The bed is very high but the matress was not as bad as I read in other reviews. There is a large dinning room and kitchen on the same floor to be used by guests but the kitchenware is a bit old too.
The large pool is aprox 15 m long, nice and a lot of chairs for sunbath. The second pool is up on the hill with an amazing view.
Ask for a nice room with garden/pool view. The breakfast is ok, nothing special.
One night the owners organized a great movie session outdoor next to the pool, an Italian movie, and offered us some wine. Great idea!
The woods in the back, next to the parking should be cleaned a bit, thereare rest of furniture or kids toys, but you dont really see it.

Room Tip: With pool/ garden view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varenna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Villa i Bossi is a very special place to visit and spend time. I originally choose to stay here because the Villa is so close to Arezzo and the magnificent frescoes of Piero Della Francesca... ( I was able to take a bus into town from just outside the villa gates ) ..... what a bonus finding Francesca and family and new friends!
If i am not careful this review could end up being a rather long essay, for there are so many features to discover at the Villa - so instead let me point out -
The magnificent, authentic Villa in beautiful grounds...
The warm welcome from a family who are genuine about sharing their home....
The opportunity to escape up the hill to the silent pool and appreciate the views of the surrounding hills....
The time to prepare your own food in the kitchen ... or share ingredients and bar-b-que with new found friends... or taste Francesca's cooking on one of the nights when the restaurant is open....
I am delighted to say that Villa i Bossi is not exclusive ! Rather it is inclusive - i have visited with friends as well as with an extended family including children, teenagers and grandparents and on each occasion the Villa and Francesca and family have made the visit memorable for all of us. There is a gentle, kind and generous spirit that bathes the villa and anyone who has the pleasure to rest awhile here ... i am already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementsfamily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
9.7 mi away
B&B Poggio del Drago
B&B Poggio del Drago
#1 of 109 in Arezzo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.5 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#9 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa La Nussa
Villa La Nussa
#1 of 4 in Capolona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.3 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa I Bossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa I Bossi

Property: Villa I Bossi
Address: Localita Gragnone 44-46, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Villa i Bossi Bed and Breakfast, an historical residence nearest at Arezzo with a beautiful Italian-style gardens and one nice park, with two swimming pool. The bedrooms is furnished with original furniture in complete respect of the elegant style of the historical residence. A realy comfortable Bed and Breakfast for your holidays in in the Tuscan country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Villa I Bossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa i Bossi Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing