We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful food and waiter service; clean rooms; fabulous town”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of the Riviera Classical Italy tour last week. I had emailed ahead after reading earlier reviews to ask for a quiet room and was a bit alarmed to be given a room facing the road - which seemed very noisy. However, the noise died down significantly at night and we were not unduly disturbed.
The food was terrible! Way too much carbohydrate - mashed potatoes (this is Tuscany not Torquay); meatless lasagne; lots of beans - and NO fresh vegetables or fruit. Our poor vegetarian friend had a plate of completely white food: mashed porato and a selection of cheeses (after a very long wait, so that we carnivores were almost fonished by the time hers arrived). The breakfast was a very meagre 'continental' with rock hard turnovers and in edible croissants. Thank goodness for the tinned prunes/peaches and the espresso machine.
The waiters were auditioning for the noisiest and sloppiest hotel staff award! I would recommend covering any precious clothing with a napkin if any come near. Don't expect to wait for an apology either.
Carlo at least listened to the plea for local, fresh food in future.
Wonderful town - a real pleasure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pikler, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Good morning,
we are very sorry to read your e-mail .
During one year we have served 2000 people of the Riviera Group and customers have often been very happy with the food and the rooms. The menu have been chosen directly by the Riviera and we serve what requested. During your stay will have seen that nice restaurant were served other groups. All content of the menu chosen. However, the Agency will also contact to let you read your e-mail so valuate whether to modify the menus in the future.
About the waiters we apologize if someone has not been kind. We often receive letters of thanks for the service received.

Sincerely
Andrea F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 783 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here on a tour in August 2013. The hotel was described in the brochure thus: 'The hotel was started as a restaurant fifty years ago by the present family owners and they are extremely proud of their restaurant which specialises in traditional Tuscan cuisine…’

I have to say I found the food very disappointing; it was a dumbed-down version of Tuscan cuisine, including fried eggs and chips, dollops of over-cooked vegetables. I appreciate they were trying to please English tastes, but a menu to choose from (rather than a set menu) would have been very much appreciated. Even when they served things we really liked such as asparagus it was over-cooked and watery...

I’d like to tasted some good Tuscan cuisine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank SusanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pikler, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Good morning,
we are sorry to read his comment. normally remain very pleased with our customer. restaurant as you can see in the Tripadvisor Restaurant Minerva. http://www.tripadvisor.it/Restaurant_Review-g194673-d1650899-Reviews-Ristorante_Minerva-Arezzo_Province_of_Arezzo_Tuscany.html
The menus of which you speak were chosen by the agency that organized the tour Vs. Sorry, you have not been to Vs liking. The eggs and fried potatoes usually have been chosen by the Agency to meet the particular tastes of some customers.
Yours sincerely
Andrea Fabbrini - Office customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very friendly people, ready to help with smile. However, most of the holidays experience is ruined by the low standards: restaurant is closed ' for the holiday period', fitness and spa are closed 'for renovation', air conditioning is defectious due to ' central breakdown', breakfast is nothing to shout about, no eggs, no fruits, just many industrial breads but without anything to put on it, etc. a real disappointment.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frédéric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently spent four nights at the Minerva as part of a classical Italy tour, and was very impressed. All he staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was very good. We weren't sure how the set dinner menu would be, but we needn't have worried. The food was local, and all delicious, and the bonus was that it was served at the table by waiters who came back with second helpings for anyone who wanted them. The bar is pleasant for before or after dinner drinks, with very reasonable prices. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited with a Riviera Travel group in June 2013. It is a very clean, friendly well run hotel but not in the best of areas of Arezzo, although the food and service in the hotel overcame this negative.
The evening meal was local food at its best, very tasty.
The hotel is on a the main road into Arezzo but although the area was a little scruffy it did not spoil our stay.
The stay at the hotel and the first class, the Riviera guide Guila Bridges was excellent and made up for the very bad service from Riviera UK admin staff I experienced.

Room Tip: I stipulated a room no higher than 2nd floor, but again thanks to poor admin by Riviera finished on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITALIOPHILE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with a Riviera Travel group.The hotel was very clean and the rooms are a reasonable size. Probably recently renovated.The evening meal was supposed to be a set menu but the friendly staff were very attentive and willing to provide an alternative.The hotel is on a main road but there is no traffic noise at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Minerva Hotel is very handy for the town of Arezzo. The rooms are large and the ensuites have been recently refurbished. We had a lovely shower. Although not a cooked breakfast, the selection was lovely with the nicest croissants I have ever had. As we were part of a Riviera tour, we had a set menu at night and the food was very good. The only problem was the lack of staff in the bar. As we were never in a hurry it didn't present a problem. I can heartily recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the side and had a balcony which others did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
0.6 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
663 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Aretino
Hotel L'Aretino
#13 of 29 in Arezzo
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#7 of 29 in Arezzo
347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Fiorentina 4, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range: $82 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is located in the beautiful medieval town of Arezzo. Minerva Hotel easy reachable thanks to its strategic position. It is just 7 km from the exit Arezzo of the motorway A1. The city center is just 2 km. Minerva hotel has 125 rooms and 5 Junior Suites, recently renovated. Each room is equipped with: air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, desk, telephone, satellite TV, Pay TV, Sky box and minibar. The bathrooms with shower and / or bath, hairdryer and courtesy line, have refined marble details. The Minerva hotel's restaurant has a long tradition. The food is typical Tuscan and also for celiac. The use of the hotel's fitness center with gym, Turkish bath and Scottish shower is free of charge to the guest. Hotel Minerva has a conference center with 12 meeting rooms equipped with modern audiovisual equipment and can accommodate up to 300 people. The large private parking is free of charge. Reception 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing