We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mancuso Family Reunion”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castello Val di Colle
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Forestville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mancuso Family Reunion”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My sisters and I, along with my parents went to meet cousins living in Cortona. The hotel they suggested was booked so we found this hotel on Trip advisor. I am so glad we did. First of all the owners both speak English, which of course was a great relief and help in navigating the territory. But the castle! I can not believe that a 3,000 year old building can stand the test of time like this one. I have never seen anything so ancient before. The rooms are like a fairy tale. I had the sunflower room. The bed was hand carved sunflowers and it was so beautiful. The linens were outstanding and handmade by the owners father, who is a linen designer for Frette. I slept almost 13 hours the first night. The restaurant was stunning as was the chef(single ladies!) and the food was the best food I have ever had in my life. I can not wIt to bring my husband with me the next time and share this with him! You can wander for hours through the olive groves,the hiking trails and my husband can practice at the driving range which overlooks the whole village!! The swimming pools are so beautiful tucked below the gardens and overlooking some beautiful Tuscan land and villas. There'd is too much to write about but I will defiantly be going back! Thank you so much Renee and Giovanni for all the help and hospitality. 5 stars to the owners!!! Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had a very important celebrity client asked to make an appearance in Tuscany recently, which is a place I have dreamed of visiting my whole life, specifically Arrezo. We were blessed and fortunate enough to stay at Castello Val Colle, a castle high up on a hill top surrounded by a beautiful view, olive trees and a vineyard which produces the most amazing wine. I thought I was in a fairy tale, literally. The castle is amazing and the rooms are as beautiful as they are comfortable. The chef treated us to the most delicious meal each night and the owners (Renee and Pierre Giovanni) not only are the best hosts in all of Italy, I feel like I have made a friendship with them that will last a lifetime. The experience was a dream come true. My celebrity client could not have been more impressed as well. The only problem I had was I didn't want to leave...ever. I will be back and back often. I highly, highly recommend. I usually am not one to make promises, but I promise you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

6 of us stayed at this wonderful castle high on the hilltops of Arezzo for 6 nights starting in April 2014. Our hosts, Renee, Giovanni and Caleb made us feel as though we were in our own homes. Their staff was very attentive and always ready with a cup of coffee or a glass of their wine in the afternoon. Dinner was delicious, Julio gave us a cooking class one afternoon and then we ate our own homemade pastas and stuffed chicken breast for dinner that evening. The views from the castle are breathtaking. The 1000 year old wine press is extraordinary. I don't think you could find a better one of a kind experience anywhere else. Also, we will never forget Gretchen, who could "fly me to the moon." Grazie mille to the Pallegis.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you need a reason to visit Arezzo, know staying at this small remote but incredibly charming hill-top Castle is beyond rewarding. Enfolded within it's impressive history and substantial stone walls, was unexpected hospitality and personal care we had only imagined. After a dreary drive up a small narrowly steep road, we pulled into their brightly lit gated entry and were warmly welcomed by owners Renee and Pierre, as well as their ever-attentive young Manager, Spencer. Our spacious second floor king suite ("Juliette Balcony") with its tall double door opening balcony overlooked their private statute adorned garden and grounds. Its larger than normal bathroom was bright, well appointed, stocked with high-end luxury soaps and lotions - including a fair-sized shower.

After a detailed private castle tour combining it's amazing past with rich, tastefully updated furnishings, we were invited to dine in their small restaurant. Not any restaurant, but an intimately gourmet one served by a talented private chef, who prepared a six course hand-made traditional Tuscan repast - with wine! What a divinely enchanting evening! Only to discover reliving it all again the next day - and night. Breakfast was a generous choice of traditional Tuscan morning fare and included specially made cappuccinos. We explored Arezzo - including the owners' tip of a nearby luxury shoe outlet - but couldn't wait to return and once again be ensconced in the Castle's immeasurable comfort.

We can't wait to go back for another experience that compares to none.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lovely place to stay, great atmosphere and excellent customer care. Rooms are cozy and we woke well rested- comfy soft bed just like home. I will definitely return here and would highly recommend them for your rooming accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tissieX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you have one night in Arezzo this is the place to stay! This Middle Age castle backs up onto a 600 B.C. Roman road, tucked into the hills of Tuscany. Renee and Pierre make you feel like long lost cousins and Spencer handles his concierge duties with aplomb. The gardens, including the
captivating horse and lovers sculpture, are as peaceful as they are beautiful. And the included breakfast was a feast! Think brunch: Caprese salad, local salami's and artisan cheeses, and of course the pastries and local jams. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We loved the Juliette Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My partner and I had a 2 night remarkable experience at Castello Val di Colle near Arezzo. We were greeted at the door by the owners Renee and Pierre Giovanni ,their son Calab and their fine young Manager, Spencer. The work that has been undertaken at this castle is amazing! Our room was the Juliette and offered a beautiful view of the statues below. We had decided not to venture too far because the scenery and walks nearby were incredibly beautiful. We ate wonderful meals in their dining room along with great tasting wine from their cellars. We spent early mornings and late evenings on their balcony looking out on Tuscan skies, sun, and scenery. Extra touches were the fine linens and bath products that we thoroughly enjoyed. Spencer was an exceptional host and attended to anything we needed. I swam in both of their swimming pools and read by the pool in the afternoon heat. Gracious lovely people and a very historic older castle with plenty of charm.

Room Tip: Juliette room was large quiet and private. Nice window !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 5659Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
3.9 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
4.1 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#8 of 29 in Arezzo
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Piero Della Francesca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Cilnia
Villa Cilnia
#16 of 29 in Arezzo
126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villamato
Villamato
#25 of 29 in Arezzo
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Volpi
Casa Volpi
#5 of 29 in Arezzo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Val di Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Val di Colle

Property: Castello Val di Colle
Address: Localita Bagnoro 22, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle was built over 1,000 years ago by hand, by local artisans and artists of the trades. All of the floors are adorned in original woods and terra cotta, indigenous to the Tuscan region. The castle is furnished in genuine, traditional, antique Tuscan faire and each piece has been hand selected over the years to compliment its captivating surroundings. The hauntingly beautiful walls of each room are decorated with hand selected original art works from artists that span the globe and the realm of time. No two rooms are quite alike. Amongst the ancient splendor of this magnificent castle one will also find all the modern comforts and conveniences of the 21st century, blended seamlessly into the ancient architecture. Every room is equipped with its own flat screen television, dvd player, and satellite tv. The castle has central heat and air conditioning and private en suite facilities for each room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing