We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An unforgettable pleasant experience in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
panoramic wiew
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
panoramic wiew
swimming pool by night Gazebo by the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
panoramic wiew
swimming pool by night
Gazebo by the pool
Spa, Jacuzzi
Villa Carda spa
the terrace
suite
junior suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
744Jimmy
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“An unforgettable pleasant experience in a gorgeous place with fantastic owners.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I spent one fascinating week with my three children + spouses +seven grandchildren, altogether fourteen people of all ages (2.5-70) at Villa Carda. We all enjoyed it. Everything was perfect!!! The villa is beautiful, big , well equipped, every detail regarding the possible needs of the tenants has been thought of, very very clean with the highest level of maintenance. The outdoors are gorgeous, with a huge garden , a jacuzzi pavllion with a well equipped gym, and a heated swimming pool. On top of this heavenly place , the even best part are the owners. Antonio, the founder, his son Andrea who runs the place and his beautiful wife Francesca, who cooked us (together with Andrea) a 5 star dinner. They are are rare combination of kindness and professional efficiency. It has been a unique experience and I am sure that I will return to Villa Carda in the future.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, surroundings,owners , the landscape, everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poltoppin...
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent! Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Villa Carda and the surrounding area is just so beautiful and tranquil. Heavenly. We were a group of ten (family members ages 11-72 years) .Having our own bathrooms and privacy was essential, and with so much space and activities to do within the Villa and grounds, we never felt restricted. The attention to detail and Traditional Tuscan furnishings make this Villa very special and elegant, with a definite feeling of luxury.
Andrea and Antonio made us feel very welcome and were available daily to ask questions and offer advice. Andrea and his wife, Francesca made us a beautiful meal on one night which was simply first class, I would recommend you arrange this. We also asked Francesca to make a Wild Boar casserole to leave in the villa for our first night as we were arriving around dinner time. Divine! Each morning we collected our bakery order from outside the Villa gates...highly recommend this service, especially the filled croissants.
We made full use of the pool and Spa.. sitting in the Jaccuzzi with a glass of Chianti ,specially chosen from the Villa's wine cellar...Bliss!
We really did not want to leave Villa Carda, and will most definitely return one day

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! hard to single anything out
Liked least: nothing...apart from leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegance and Old World Charm”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Wonderful, Warm and Spacious Setting, and attentive owners (Antonio and Andrea). Villa Carda was better than the brochure. Wonderfully situated in the Tuscan Hills. We took day trips to Poppi, Della Verna, Florence, Cortona, and Sienna. Andrea and his wife Franchesca, cooked for us one evening, which was the hilight of our stay. Our group of four couples are seasoned travellers, and all were overwhelmed.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is spectacular (fabulous views), and the owner is very helpful
Liked least: One tip, be sure to bring Euros with you, as money exchange is somewhat difficult in the Tuscan Hills
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthacol...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeds any expectations and more”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I book Villa Carda over 1 year in advance for a birthday celebration for myself and my husband. This holiday had been planned for many years so hence allot of research went into choosing Villa Carda. We holidayed with a group of 11 mature adults 5 couples and one single so it was important we all had our own bathroom facilities and privacy Villa Carda didnt disappoint the rooms and the bathrooms were beautiful so clean and new. Our group couldn't praise the Villa enough we used all the facilities including the amazing pool, table tennis, golf and bocce. Some of us travelled to Florence, Sienna, Cortona or Arezzo for day trips but you can fill your days easily at the Villa if you prefer to relax. Being a group who generally didn't want to cook we had crossaints and bread delivered most mornings for breakfast, Andrea and Francesca cook one evening which was magnificient everything was cooked fresh, we walked to Castel Focogano twice for dinner and went to other restaurants in Carda and Bibienna other evenings Andrea kindly organised return taxi's for us which was perfect as the roads are dark at night. We would higly recommend Villa Carda without doubt one of the most beautiful holidays possible.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners attention to detail
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKING811
Annan, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Villa was out of this world...Property beautiful, nice to stroll the grounds and view the mountains in the background. Lots of fruit trees on property along with a golf green. Pool, deck and pergola, hot tub and spa were wonderful.

We travelled with our children and grandchildren (13 to be exact) and found the accommodations more then adequate. Everthing was perfect.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing, can't single one thing.
Liked least: There was nothing that we disliked.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Having spent a lot of time reading reviews and chosing a villa for our extended family holiday, I decided Villa Carda met all our criteria. We were not disappointed! Our group consisted of 'children' aged 18 months to 18 years, their parents and grandparents. Everyone loved the villa and the area. The rooms are beautiful and private, all with en-suites, so it works well to share with other families. The lounge was also beautiful, but we had such lovely weather that we didn't need to use it.

We spent a lot of time by the lovely pool, enjoying the spectacular views and garden. There was plenty of space for ball games and the golf and ping pong proved popular. We used the mountain bikes to explore the surrounding area and walked down to Castel Focognano one evening for dinner. It took approximately 20 minutes where we ate very reasonably priced and tasty pizzas.

We had some great meals on the terrace in the evenings and Andrea, Antonio and Francesca prepared a fantastic Tuscan meal for us one evening! There was so much food and all of it was great with plenty of leftovers.

Andrea was very helpful with all our questions and requests. He recommended places to visit and we managed to fit in trips to Poppi, Bibbiena, Arezzo and Cortona, all of which were very nice. He mentioned there was wild boar in the area and my brother was keen to buy some meat so we could try it. When we mentioned this to Andrea, he arranged for us to have a casserole made up and all we had to do was heat it and boil some rice. It was magnificent!

We liked the fact that this villa is in a quiet area and that it was easy to visit the more touristy places. We flew to Pisa and spent a little time there and a night in Florence on the way to the villa. This meant we could spend more time at the villa for the week we were there.

We can't think of any negative comments. The owners are genuinely nice people and the villa is magnificent!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic - We will be back one day”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were a group of 12 adults (ranging in age from 36-82) there to celebrate my 40th birthday. We are all well travelled, seasoned and sophisticated travelers who are well qualified to write a travel review. We were all impressed with Villa Carda, and I think you will be too.

The pictures and brochures do not do this villa justice. The villa is beautifully restored/ renovated and carefully curated in keeping with the style of the region. Everything feels very authentic and very luxurious. The rooms are all spacious, beautiful and well appointed so that no one felt like they got the short end of the stick, although some of the baths are a bit small by American standards. The view and gardens are incredible. The pool area is gorgeous, so make sure you plan at least 2 days just relaxing at the villa and taking in this piece of heaven. My only complaint was that the pool furniture isn't too comfortable but Andrea said he would fix that soon. (Hammocks would be great too if you are reading this Andrea :-)). The wellness center is a nice touch and everyone in our group used either the exercise equipment or hot tub during some point of their stay.
For meals, we had gourmet cooks in our group, so we enjoyed picking up fresh ingredients in the markets and preparing feasts. But one night we had Andrea and his wife Francesca prepare us a wonderful meal and it made the evening very special. Andrea and his father Antonio stopped by each day and were lovely and helpful. Very gracious wonderful hosts.
Between the pool, walking the grounds, ping pong, biking, walking, hitting golf balls, cooking, stargazing, etc, there is plenty to do. Even my review is not conveying how fantastic this trip really was....no one wanted to leave. One couple from our group has already booked it for next year to go with their family.

Some practical advice if you go:
- Stop by a market in Arezzo to pick up food for the first night or arrange for Andrea to pick something up for you and have it at the villa. You will not want to go out after dark to figure out where to eat the first night.
- Arrive in daylight. It is a very dark, windy road and the villa is difficult to find the first time.
- The markets are open unusual hours/days. So every time you happen to be in a place with an open market, pick up something for your meal that night. The food is wonderfully fresh, inexpensive and good. Also, the table wine and even jug wine in the markets is dirt cheap and surprisingly very good.
- Treat yourselves to a dinner by Andrea and Francesca at least 1 night. You will have plenty of leftovers for the next day.
- If you must be connected to wi/fi at all times, choose a room closest to the computer room with the router. Wifi can be spotty on other parts of the property. (But who cares.... you are on vacation!)
- The area is very hilly. You are unlikely to want to walk to the nearest town or restaurant. Make sure you have a car, especially if you have older travelers with you.

We definitely hope to be back sometime soon. If you have any other questions, feel free to email me at lauragill99@gmail.com. ENJOY!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, amenities, hosts
Liked least: pool loungers
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing