We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I cannot but repeat previous reviews, for what it costs, this place is great!”

Gastronomia Il Cervo
Ranked #7 of 476 Restaurants in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I cannot but repeat previous reviews, for what it costs, this place is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I cannot but repeat previous reviews, for what it costs, this place is FAB! The location is great, near the central square, the food is excellent and well cooked, large tasty portions (if you are worried about your figure this is not the place for you!!) Prices are really reasonable for quantity/quality! Staff are really friendly and the place has a nice atmoshpere (though why hang that painting with a dead red fish in the second room???).

I came back in the evening after lunch!

N.B.

The pasta with truffle is excellent. So good that I wished to buy the truffle from the shop below, please note that this is not the same truffle they use in their sauce!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnizla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    291
    65
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our dinner at il Cervo was one of the best experiences we had during our two-week vacation in Tuscany. The setting is friendly and unpretentious, which makes the high quality of the food somewhat surprising. Our primi included a fantastic pasta with homemade noodles and a generous portion of truffles as well as an excellent bean soup. The secondi were even better with two steaks cooked to perfection, one with a porcini mushroom sauce and the other tastefully seasoned with fresh truffles. All in all, an excellent experience with the best price/quality relationship of any restaurant we visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst food ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Terrible place. don't even think!
Bad service, very slow.
Don't tasty food.
Bad atmosfera.
Hot, and not fresh air inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently spent two weeks in the Arezzo area with a friend who lives near there. Unable to join us one day for sight seeing, Our friend suggested we have lunch at this well located restaurant in Arezzo's historic town center. On our initial visit our party of 4 chose 3 different Pasta types and sauces ( An " in season" special mushroom Ragu( Ravoli),
a spicy Marania on a squared type of pasta and a meat ragu (on Tagaitelli)
All were superb and on par with even the best of Italian restaurants we had visited in our most recent trip to Italy.
We tried several different "starters", which all proved to be good and hit he spot as well.
We also had a local "wild" pollo dish- which, looked oke a chicken ( bone-in) breast with wing, however turned out to be some other local "bird", that really was savory and excellent.
Their Osso Bucco was nice and tender, but not as good as their pasta dishes.
This is not a fancy restaurant, but would make an excellent place to have lunch.
The staff was friendly and made several good recommendations.
If we lived in the area, we would certainly make it a standard.
It seemed to us, that quite a few locals ate there as well.
We liked the restaurant enough to revisi it about a week after our first experience.
Again, it was delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank obiwan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A jewel in Arezzo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This gastronomia and restaurant is definitely a place to stop on your visit to Arezzo. If you are dining, not only do you have a fantastic menu to choose from but also the full range of freshly prepared food on display in the downstairs entrance. Our waitress was excellent and the food was amazing. I had the linguine with zucchini and truffles which was divine. My daughter had the straccetti with a delicious meat sauce. Price was excellent given the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matjabsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastronomia Il Cervo also viewed

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Gastronomia Il Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing