We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food”

Buca di San Francesco
Ranked #125 of 477 Restaurants in Arezzo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The dinner was fabulous. We had a group of six & everybody had a good meal.The atmosphere was authentic & the owner very sociable & friendly.It's location is right next to the Cathedral which has a famous fresco by Piero della Francesca.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruby246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    114
    58
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Arezzo, thanks to Sr. Mario”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to Arezzo to see frescos and had the most delightful time at Sr. Mario and son's restaurant, Buca di San Francesco. The atmosphere of the restaurant is lovely, the food was very tasty and to make it even better the attention to all the details given by the owner Sr. Mario was superb. All the staff made an effort for us to feel welcome and enjoy a great meal, Georgina was lovely and patient with all the translations she had to do for us. Very friendly and welcoming, very good food, very good wine, great combination all of that; without no doubt, this has been the best experience we had in a restaurant during our 2 weeks traveling in Italy

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic setting with friendliest owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food but more important is the friendliness of the owner and the history of the setting, immediately by the basilica. The owner presented our little girl with a badge for finishing her lunch and a little envelope of writings for the adults. He clearly loves the place and shares that warmth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best ever...Ambience, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I long to return to this restaurant. I traveled there to taste a superd dish called "La Saprota del BonConte" and long to return. The ambience was special being a 13th century crypt and had a wonderful time discussing ex libris with the staff. The food is exceptional and very typical of the region and I felt as if I were back in the Middle Ages eating a feast! Loved it...Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webpuccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality tuscan food,atmosphere,great host in Arrezo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our host arranged a4course meal of Tuscan specialties,a bottle of wine and vin santo for under $100.I will return and know why it is considered the best rest. In Arrezo

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di San Francesco also viewed

Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Buca di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing