We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in....”
Review of Hotel Vicus Major

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vicus Major
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
906 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 880 helpful votes
“One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in....”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

As the title said ~ an incredibly friendly hotel !

We stayed here late April '12 while touring Unbria and Tuscany bay car and its ideal for that kind of thing. If visiting Arezzo theres a huge free car park to the north of the old town with an escallator up so staying out of towns not a problem if you have a car. Also we thought it far better value than a City Centre hotel.

On arrival reception was very friendly and efficient - wonderfull English spoken. Room is clean and comfy, nice LCD TV and the wifi not only works well but you get one code from reception which will work throughout your stay (Unlike so many who keep expiring which is a pain),

We got back from town late and there was the option to buy some little snacks which was a life saver - again v friendly.

Breakfast was good - and this was what stuck in the mind - of all the hotels we stayed in while touring this one was the only one where someone actually wished us good morning and made us a coffee ~ and asked us if we would like a refill later on. Outstanding service.

In summary thoroughly reccomend the Vicus Major. If only all Itallian hotels had this level of customer service !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
37
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genova
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We picked this hotel after reading the other reviews on Tripadvisor and must say it was a good choice; the hotel had been recently renovated and the room looked quite nice. On the downside the hotel lies a little bit in the outskirts of Arezzo so it's ideal if you have a car, I'm not sure whether there is a bus service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponterotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Nice, clean, sparkling new, friendly place by the Highway near Arezzo. Trade off proximity for quality at an unbeatable price.
Staff made up for a just failed elevator with help in carrying luggage and a room in a low floor.
Breakfast coulkd have been a little better though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondawoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! ! We apologize for the problem with the elevator: now it is solved! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel, did not expect much for the cost. The family running this hotel is beyond nice and attentive. The rooms were impecably clean and new, while the breakfast was average good (European Style...) A perfect night stop over with a night walk in Arezzo (about a 10 minute drive to downtown). Free parking too... We were traveling with a small child as well and had no issues other than no baby seat for breakfast, but we brought our own because this is never a guarantee.

It is a good comfortable place to stay....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! ! We apologize for the lack of baby child: we have only crib for baby! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you're visiting the town of Arezzo, you must stay at Hotel Vicus Major. Just minutes from the historic town (birthplace of the poet Petrarch and the artists Vasari and Cimabue), this hotel is excellent. The staff is utterly professional, and the breakfast offers freshly-baked pastries along with juices, meats, and coffee. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Internet ready, extremely clean, and very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! Our guests' reviews are the most important evaluation tool for our job, and your fair words say that we are doing well: this is so great for us! So thank you again! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossalmerode, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My first time choosing Vicus Major at this area. The hotel seems to be rather new. I was nosey whether the good online recommendations are applicable. I can confirm all positive comments. The people at the hotel were more than friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast superb (comparing to many other hotels I had in Italy). If promise to come back whenever I will be again in the area of Arezzo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerdF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicusmaj, Manager at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
It's a great pleasure for us reading this good review about our hotel. We hope that you will be soon our guest again. Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The room is small but very clean and lovely. The owners are really friendly and helpful. Very close to the highway and so convenient for short day trips in Tuscany. Immediate surroundings rather boring and this hotel is not an option unless you're driving. WiFi costs 1 euro for the entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_aNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thak you for your kind review about our hotel! We hope that you will be our guest again! Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
1.4 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
626 reviews
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
444 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Garden Hotel Arezzo
#7 of 29 in Arezzo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Piero Della Francesca
3.0 mi away
A Point Arezzo Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicus Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicus Major

Property: Hotel Vicus Major
Address: Via di Pescaiola 83/E, 52041, Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicus Major 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Vicus Major è situato nel cuore della Toscana, nei pressi del casello autostradale di Arezzo e a pochi chilometri dal centro storico della città. Calore e cortesia unite alla professionalità sono le caratteristiche che contraddistinguono la nostra struttura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vicus Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing