We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Tuscan farmhouse and so much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Pippo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pippo
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Arezzo
colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Tuscan farmhouse and so much more”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Perched high on a hill above Arezzo, this farmhouse and its owners provide a most charming vacation experience! Casa Pippo has it all - beauty, views, grand and well tended gardens and grounds; hiking, swimming, workout equip, and a rustic farmhouse with modern touches (washer/dryer, tv's, plumbing). And then there's the hospitality of the owners, who go out of their way to assist and make you feel welcome, including an amazing first night welcome dinner and other frequent treats. Its location is a steep uphill climb on the outskirts of Arezzo, very convenient to town and all its amenities, and a great location to day-trip to Florence (50' by train), Sienna, and surrounding Tuscany and Umbria. Bravo to Elisabetta, Francesco and their daughter Francesca for providing such a warm, inviting and charming experience!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank andreayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My week at Francesco and Elisabetta's villa was the most enjoyable portion of a month long trip spanning three countries.

Francesco met the five of us at the train station and guided us up the narrow roads to the villa. He was friendly and had helpful suggestions for us, this being our first time traveling in the region. He also leads one of the more diversified and fascinating lives I've come across. Elisabetta was the very embodiment of a great hostess, providing us with our first night's dinner (Delizioso!) which lasted us, at least in part, through a couple more meals.

How to describe the perfection of the view from the estate? Imagine yourself relaxing in a deck chair next to a perfectly maintained pool, gazing sedately on the entirety of a historic walled town in the valley below you, that valley framed by a mixture of rugged and rolling hills like the ones you and the pool are perched on. Only it's better than you are imagining.

The inside of the villa is furnished with an eye towards quality without being so fancy as to make you feel uncomfortable with getting comfortable. It's how I imagine extremely well-to-do people decorate when they don't feel like they have to show off how wealthy they are. All of the fixtures (bathrooms / kitchen) worked flawlessly. The one issue we had during our stay was an encounter with ants due to our improper storage of some of the sweeter treats provided by Elisabetta.

If I returned to the Arezzo region, I cannot imagine doing so without revisiting my experience at Casa Pippo.

Thanks again Francesco and Elisabetta (and sorry it took me so long to write a review)!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSSDaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We met friends from Toronto in Arezzo (where they filmed Life is Beautiful) and we all travelled up to the villa overlooking the city. Our hosts, Francesco and Elisabetta were wonderful from the very beginning. We were amazed at the beautiful 500 year old villa and surrounding estate including a beautiful pool which faces the valley. Once we all had our rooms and were getting settled, our 4 course welcome dinner arrived. Elisabetta also offers wonderful cooking lessons. The food was memorable, and the local wine was delish. The next day was a wine tour, of the largest, the smallest and the oldest wineries in the area. We had a day that will not soon be forgotten. We even ended it at a wine festival!!! The rest of our week was spent touring in our rented cars and coming back to the villa for the evening, or spending it poolside and barbecuing something fresh. We visited cities such as Cortona, Assisi, Sienna and Florence. There are horses and bicycles available to tour the area, and Francesco has light aircraft if you would like to see it from a bird's eye view. Beware Francesco and Elisabetta are formidable bocce players! The beat all of us easily on a lovely starlit evening sharing her homemade limocello and walnut liqueur! The hospitality was lovely and it was very hard to leave Casa Pippo behind as we continued on our tours. Thank you to them both. Enjoy a true tuscan holiday outside a wonderful medieval city under the Tuscan sun! Bellisimo!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmwoodlayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our friends from Munich found the villa on-line and it exceeded our expectations on all counts. Francesco and Elisabetta our hosts were outstanding. From the first nights dinner they provided to the cooking class (what an experience) to the horseback riding to the beautiful surroundings. The villa was beautiful and spacious and easily accomodated our group of 8 with one infant. The 500 year house in incredible shape.

The grounds were equally as impressive with a beautiful pool where you could swim and look out over the valley with Arezzo far below. The surrounding hills made for challenging but great trail running. We are alreasy planning our return trip for next year.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cajseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you want an authentic Tuscan experience (villa versus hotel), then Casa Pippo. I was lucky enough to spend 2 weeks as Casa Pippo this past June with my family. Whatever pictures you may or may not have seen on the internet, they simply do not do it justice.

Imagine a roomy, yet cozy Tuscan villa set on sprawling and beautifully manicured grounds. Now imagine it perched on a mountainside with breathtaking views of Arezzo in the valley below and a backdrop of mountains in the distance. Now imagine that the proprietors are are a local married couple, who are lovely and incredibly gracious hosts. Sound too good to be true? It almost is.

The house itself is beautiful.; however, this a country home so the rooms are clean, comfortable and quaint . If you are looking for over-the-top modernity and luxury, this is not it. Think: beautiful antique pieces. Among other things, the grounds boast stables, gardens, a gym, an outdoor grill, a bocce court, ping pong and fuss ball tables, but the highlight has to be the pool and its view - heaven.

Taking all of this into account along with Arezzo's centric location and it's excellent road and rail access, I simply cannot conceive of a better place from which to explore the region. However, keep in mind: you will need a car and must feel comfortable driving on winding, narrow roads. In my view, just part of Casa Pippo's charm.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

If you want the best experience in Tuscany – be sure to stay at Casa Pippo!

We had the opportunity of enjoying a beautiful villa in the mountains with a breath taking view of Arezzo and valley, the best Tuscan food in the area and wonderful hosts.

Our stay with Francesco, Elisabetta and Francisca (including Wendy – their dog) at Casa Pippo exceeded our expectations and was the best 7 days of our 2 weeks in Italy.

The Villa offered us the opportunity of experiencing the lifestyle, foods, wines and scenery of Tuscany. We enjoyed many Tuscan specialties at the various outdoor eating areas around the Villa and spent many hours at the pool enjoying the sunshine by day and the stars and lights of Arezzo by night.

While there, be sure to take advantage of the personal wine tour provided by Francesco and Elisabetta, Elisabetta’s cooking class right at Casa Pippo and you don’t want to miss the tour of Chianti valley in Francesco’s plane. They even provided us with taxi service during our stay.

We can’t wait to return and would highly recommend at least 1 week or more enjoying Casa Pippo. Ciao

Mary, Anne, Lisa & Carol – Your Canadian Friends!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SistersinTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

What a way to spend your time in Tuscany. We spent a week with our grown daughters and their husbands and had the greatest week.ever.
The villa is absolutely gorgeous and has everything you need. What we especially liked about it that it had touches of the old villas but was brought up to date with beautiful bathrooms and bedrooms. It has four bedrooms, four bathrooms, two living areas(one downstairs and one upstairs) a work out room and a great swimming pool with a view,and too many other areas to mention. But of course our favorite spaces were the pool with the beautiful view of Arezzo and the patio by the workout room for our nightime lemoncello.
One of the nicest points of the villa is the owners Francesco and Elizabettta. We were treated like family. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by a fantastic dinner made by Elizabetta.We were also given a bottle of thier own wine they make. She is a wonderful cook. She makes so much food you can have it for at least two meals Not only did she make us dinner but she made us fresh tuscan bread,two desserts,fresh preserves and fresh vegetables from there own garden. We did not have the opportunity to take a cooking class from Elizabetta, but we would highly recommend it ,as the dinners she made for us were fantastic! Francesco met us in town upon our arrival as the villa is hard to find the first time. He also was so very nice to give up one of his vacation days to take our daughters horseback riding on one of his days off. They have a stable with four horses. They also have the cutest bulldog named Wendy! Their house is located a few hundred yards from the villa but we always had privacy. The pool was always so refreshing after touring on the hot days of August. The view from the pool was incredible.
If you would like more information you can contact us. But if you want to make a reservation you can make it directly through the owners(www.casapippo.it) and save money . We definitely look forward to going back!

  • Liked — roomy and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patricia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
10.5 mi away
Villa La Nussa
Villa La Nussa
#1 of 4 in Capolona
35 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#10 of 29 in Arezzo
259 reviews
4.5 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
272 reviews
12.3 mi away
Agriturismo Azienda Agricola il Pozzo
4.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pippo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pippo

Property: Casa Pippo
Address: Localita Lignano n 6, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Arezzo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing