We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding seafood & service ”
Review of Punta Lena

Punta Lena
Ranked #21 of 186 Restaurants in Albenga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Impossible to find fault with the cooking- perfect fritto misto (thin crisp batter & tender moist seafood). Sea bream was perfectly cooked. Fried vegetables- very much like tempura- the perfect batter covering a crisp/tender carrot, zucchini etc. ). Perfect gnocchi with pesto & shrimp, & a delicate zucchini flan. Wine selection isn’t big, but it is well matched with the menu which is smart because it’s easier for customers to make a good choice to pair with their meal. Special mention of the “french fries” which were actually soufflé d - quite a trick if you’ve ever watched Jacques Pepin try to do it. Menu not too big but something even for those who don’t eat seafood. For the highest quality cooking and beautiful presentation, considerate and professional service, the prices are incredibly reasonable. Definitely worth a visit. Other reviews mention the location which is very special.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sosso1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 278 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2018

For me, "an average rating" is an indictment. No chef, and few customers are interested in "average" meals unless they are praying for one along a motorway or in a state park. I realize the restaurant field is a tough business and I think long and hard before posting a negative review.that may adversely affect a precarious business. As to poor and terrible ratings, they are reserved for the obnoxious, the dangerous and the totally unprofessional.

We have had a number of fine meals at this location, and after the change in ownership/management there were some encouraging signs last Fall. But today, not so much. Our appetizer of marinated anchovies was fine and nicely presented. But then again it is a matter of plating something that was prepared by a fish merchant or taken out of a can. A few shaved pieces of fennel, orange slices and dabs of sauce a nice, but unremarkable touch.

Our main courses, my ravioli of red mullet and my wife's slices of meat with a
Gorgonzola sauce were both bland and disappointing.

One of the nicest things about dining at this restaurant is to sit out at the end on top of the rocks with a perhaps 150 degree view of the ocean. It is partially enclosed and open half way up the wall. We put up with one person who came in and lit up on one side of us. As we were waiting to place a dessert order, another couple came in and the man lit up a cigarillo. That is one transgression too much. We got up, paid our bill and left.

Smokers have rights, but not to impose their bad habits on others. We have better Oncologists in the U.S. than on the Riviera. I would prefer not to have to use them. In a very small restaurant, I believe it is within the restaurant's discretion, to restrict or prohibit smoking in such a small and not completely outdoor space. The less than memorable food and the unhealthy environment are enough for us to take our business elsewhere.

Service was adequate, if a bit slow.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We found this Restaurant by chance on a cold rainy day in May. It didn't look very exciting but if the sun had been out and the little beach had been in use, then I am sure it would. The food was both original and delicious.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

It is always sad when a satisfying and successful restaurant closes. In the case of La Gritta, we understand increased rent and perhaps other differences with the landlord contributed to its demise. This beautiful location remained vacant for a long time. New management has been in place for close to a year now, and today was our first chance to to try Punta Lena.

The minimalist decor is unchanged, and rightly so. The beautiful setting is inspirational enough for a seafood restaurant. One caring and capable waiter was able to handle the whole dining room, albeit a bit under strain as it nearly filled to capacity.

The mostly favorable reviews on TA ring true. Our starters, lovely souffles of zucchini and asparagus, with a generous Grand Padano Sauce and ample flecks of black truffles was impressive. We opted for Orata fillets, amply garnished with green vegetables, cherry tomatoes and the wonderful local olives for our main course-and weren't disappointed. For old time sake, we ordered a side of lightly fried vegetables-which were cooked to perfection, but with perhaps a little bit too much salt. The whole fish first brought to our table, and then expertly prepared and presented was premium and fresh.

We didn't have room for dessert, but next time we will prepare! We were pleased to see that they were serving Pasqualini Cafe, a very fine local producer.

After more than a dozen visits to the old establishment, it was bittersweet to be back. But the restaurant appears to be in good and capable hands. We look forward to enjoying more meals here. The prices are very fair for the high quality fish and shellfish.

The wine list is a little thin in selections, but adequate. For English speakers, this is very much a local place. Bring your phrase book, Google Translate or study your local fish options-you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

As someone who works in the Seafood/Restaurant industry I am very rarely blown away buy a seafood dish or a meal. We found Punta Lena purely by accident today because we had some trouble with the parking meter and I was looking for anyone who spoke some English to help me out. 2 of the chefs' were kind enough to stop what they were doing and helped me out. Seriously kind... So after we went to the beach and since I noticed what was going on in the kitchen when we came in the first time it was the obvious choice for lunch. First we were really lucky they found us a table this place was soon packed and for good reason. The menu was fresh seasonal and straight forward or so I thought. What we ended up with was so much more then I even could have expected. We had some of the best prepared seafood I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. (This is coming from someone who works in the seafood industry).. The Mussel and Pasta Dish was Mind Blowing. The pasta was so so fresh, had the best texture and taste and the sauce, seafood and veggies that were served with it were spot on. My child had Mussels and agreed they were the best she has every had. She has had Mussels all over the world. These WERE the Best. My youngest had the Hamburger and Fries and we all agreed it was the best one she has had in Italy. This may not seam like a big deal, but it was fantastic, they even got the bun right. Now lets get back to seafood. The Calamari and Anchovies Appetizers were also so clever and had such amazing in depth taste profile. The combinations of fresh produce with the fresh seafood and the sauces. So impeccably done.... My only complaint was the meter on car was running out so we had to leave. I would have loved have stayed and tried more of their amazing dishes. Oh yes and the team that worked there was super professional, and great with kids. Always appreciated. Next trip to Italy this restaurant will be on the top of my list for several meals. Albenga is blessed to have such awesome restaurant...

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heatherinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Lena also viewed

Albenga, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Albenga, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Punta Lena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing