We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food and Friendly Staff”
Review of Santeodoro

Santeodoro
Ranked #18 of 186 Restaurants in Albenga
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: English spoken, fish food restaurant, home made dessert.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

We ate so fredh fish and lovely made pasta and sauces, it was amazing. the cheese plate, grappa and beer was delicious as well. waiter is very friendly (well english speaking) and the menu is top - never ste that good in italy before! for three it was (with coffee, dessert, drinks and all) appx. 80 euros. enjoy!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank feivl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Very nice place. Excellent service and food. Nice and calm. Change the menu after season. Perfect lunch place

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

From the starter of delicate seafood ravioli to beautiful fresh local fish with leek purée, this was a taste sensation. Desserts are exceptional, tiramasu was magical and the melon and chilli ice cream was stunning. Service is excellent and English well spoken. The square and surroundings are great and Brunos bar next door is as much a treat.Probably the best meal I've had in Alberta. Colin

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

A nice place in a pleasant plaza which at night fills up with visitors for one of the many eateries here. Our host was super friendly, helpful and worked very hard for his guests. A 9 out of 10 for service! We did choose only modest portions and also sharing was no problem. Unfortunately almost meat dishes were no longer available. The food was not top but still quite tasty. But was the tuna really day fresh ...? A 7 out of 10 for the food.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antoine4459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

After reading the very positive reviews and also being referred to this restaurant by a local, we went to Santeodoro for lunch on an off-season Wednesday. As was recommended and also presented in the advertisements visible from the cathedral, we first went to the fresh fish shop on the Piazza delle Erbe to select the fish we wanted to be cooked for lunch. We selected two Palamite (a local mackelrel-like fish) which was on offer for 12 euros per kilo and two smaller sardine-like fish, for a group of 4 adults and 4 children. The owner of the restaurant was very busy convincing us to buy the fish and to eat it at his restaurant. If we would do so, we would be expecting a 'live changing experience'. He also strongly recommended eating his most favorite dish: ravioli filled with aspergus and served with clams (Vongole). So we ate the fish, which was served with some baked potatoes, one portion of ravioli, two green salads and we had four deserts (2 cakes and 2 tiramisu), accompanied with water and two bottles of whine (18 euros). The food was good: not much better and certainly not worse than the food that we had at other trattorias and osterias in Liguria. The surprise came at the end: 300 euros for this lunch. We thought this was quite expensive: a price that you would expect at a fancy restaurant, but not at a rather simple place for lunch. Of course one would expect to pay more for fresh fish (although the owner has outsourced the risk of paying for unsold fish because of his arrangement with the fish shop). But a fish of appr. 1 kilo that is sold at the shop for 12 euros and charged at the restaurant for 60 euros? Our lesson and advice: please make sure you agree on the price for the full meal of the fish before you sit down at the table. This will prevent that a good meal will end with a bad feeling: after a discission with the owner we left paying 200 euros: leaving us with the feeling that we had fallen into a tourist trap and perhaps leaving the owner with the feeling that we had not payed enough for this meal. Service was also not very good: during desert and coffee, the owner left the plates with all the left-overs of the fish on the table. We had to pile them ourselves up to make room for the deserts.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IngridB_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santeodoro also viewed

Albenga, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 
Albenga, Italian Riviera
Albenga, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Santeodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing