We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Lorenzo
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Fitzroy
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet little hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've stayed here twice and enjoyed it. It's fairly simple and the rooms are fairly small but big enough for us and our luggage. There's no fridge and only Italian (or dubbed into Italian) programs on the TV but why anyone would want to sit in their room watching TV when staying in this beautiful town is beyond me. The breakfast is in the little cafe downstairs and is a typical primo collezione. Some cereal, pastries, bread, cheese and cold meats. Really wonderful pastries and i gather that most of the bakeries offerings are gluten free. Also one of the best coffees in town. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. They are still overhauling the palazzo next door but we didn't find this to be a problem. We had ok wifi reception but it was better to go into the room next to reception.

Room Tip: There is one room that has a balcony and is much bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
66
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is a lovely find, and I only have one or two little gripes about it. The location is great, as you are close to a lovely square, restaurants & gelaterias.

Firstly, the pluses: the hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. And...

The minuses: the shower stalls are tiny! When I say tiny, I mean just that. And although the hotel offers wi-fi, you only have a connection if you leave your room and go to the dining-room (close to where the router is situated in reception). At any rate, room 7 has zero internet connection.

Overall though, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaT811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We've had two wonderful experiences at this hotel; however the third time we found out at the end of our stay that they would not honor their on-line price with us. This last time we had many concerns: They were overhauling the palazzo next to us so we had very loud noise from 7:30 am until 6:00 p.m.. Due to this construction, we had no free parking and found metered parking for the two days. Though they did come in to fix a non-functioning TV, it stopped working again within one minute of being fixed. We also had ants in our room. Upon check-out I asked if they could give us a "sconto" for all of these problems, particularly for the noise and lack of "free" parking. The nice receptionist went to find the proprietor and apparently he told her that everyone was complaining but there was nothing he could do about because he was losing too much money and too many customers. She reported that he was very angry. The proprietor is right about one thing. He is losing us as customers. Do beware when staying here. Do ask if there is major construction and if you have an on-line confirmation of a certain amount per night, confirm by phone. We will be looking elsewhere next year for our annual stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiliry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alba hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillerod, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Alba, Piemonte - Italy. The name resonates with good wine and excellent food. And you will not be disappointed. Although San Lorenzo does not offer a restaurant - except for breakfast - you will never miss it. Alba town offer many VERY good restaurants and cafés: Enoclub, Conte Rosso, Ugo etc. - in time I will review them separately.

Alba town is an old town with a town wall surrounding the old city, and inside this wall is where you will find most of the good restaurants and the not-to-be-missed Wine Bar.

So what makes San Lorenzo so great is that it also is placed inside the city wall and this means that you have everything within walking distance. So you don't have to worry about that extra glass of Barolo for dinner or the good-night Barbaresco at the Wine Bar, because you are always within (short) walking distance of you bed.

San Lorenzo offers breakfast in the café in the ground floor (same owner), and it is a good tasty (Italian) breakfast with excellent Italian coffee of your choice.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the square - it is always lively (without being noisy) and then you have something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was our second trip to Alba and this time was during White Truffle season...a must! Placing you in the most charming square in Alba, Albergo San Lorenzo is the place to stay in Alba. Ask for room# 3 and you'll be treated to a small balcony overlooking the square, Duomo and the activity of a small charming town in Piemonte. Going during Truffle season adds to the experience 10 fold. Every menu includes dishes so amazingly suited to Tartufo Blanco that it makes you wish you never had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyKowalchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

In Alba, this small hotel is in an excellent location, with relatively easy access by car and free parking in a small private lot next to it. The owner is a young woman who is almost always there managing the hotel and the café below, and while there are a few different young women who staff the hotel desk, the main one seems to be Irene, who is the one I corresponded with in making the reservation. She is actually from Spain, but now lives in Alba. Her English is excellent, and she was extremely helpful and informative. The rooms are not large but acceptable. WiFi did not work in the room but did in the little lobby-like room next to the desk. The rooms are on the second floor, and the first floor is the café/bakery, which is also where the breakfasts are. The breakfasts were very good – fairly standard for Italy, but because it is also a patisserie, there were excellent croissants, tarts, and other offerings. We were very pleased with this place and would definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice location in a hip part of town. good breakfast (for italy) and nice helpfull staff.

free car park helps.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanenathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alba hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savona
Hotel Savona
#8 of 10 in Alba
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
124 reviews
3.0 mi away
Medea Hotel
Medea Hotel
#5 of 10 in Alba
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alba Village Hotel and Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Lorenzo

Property: Albergo San Lorenzo
Address: Piazza Rossetti 6, 12051, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo San Lorenzo 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Albergo San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Lorenzo Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing