We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely spot in a spectacular region of the...”
other traveler has booked this property
Swimming Pool and Lounge Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool and Lounge Area
Swimming Pool and View of Villa San Lorenzo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Swimming Pool and Lounge Area
Swimming Pool and View of Villa San Lorenzo
Suite 5
Suite 3
Suite 1
Making Pasta by hand at Villa San Lorenzo in the Grand Salon Kitchen
Swimming pool at Villa San Lorenzo
Suite 1
Main Level Kitchen with Granite Countertops
Grand Salon Dining
Grand Salon Dining
Suite 4
Suite 6
Entrance to Main Level Kitchen and Dining and Suite 2
Suite 3
Al Fresco Dining at Villa San Lorenzo
Grand Salon Upper Level
Suite 5 Bathroom
Upper Level Grand Salon
Entrance to the Main Level and Grand Salon
Al Fresco dining area at Villa San Lorenzo
Cooking Class at Villa San Lorenzo in the Grand Salon
Fresh Tajarin pasta with Butter and Mint
View of Villa San Lorenzo and Grand Salon at right
Swimming Pool and Lounge Area at Sunset
Swimming Pool at Villa San Lorenzo
Main Level Kitchen with Granite Countertops
Main Level Living Area
Suite 2
Suite 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Alba, Province of Cuneo, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lisa G
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely spot in a spectacular region of the world. Bravo!”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Villa San Lorenzo is located in a beautiful part of this region in Italy. The house sits on a hill looking toward the Alps. This was our first visit during Winter and we felt so fortunate to experience the area when the Alps were covered in snow. It's truly breathtaking!

The home itself has been carefully restored and designed to accommodate different types of guests. Since we were only two people, we took the apartment, which for us was perfect. There are balconies and amazing views from this 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment, a full kitchen and a living space with fireplace, good lighting and wifi also made it possible to relax or work from our temporary home in Italy. So, for us this worked out very well. We know that the hosts rent the entire home as well which has a very large kitchen and dining room as well as many other bedrooms and bathrooms. One of the great things about this property is that any party can select the space that would best accommodate their holiday. The property also has a lovely pool and outside eating and sitting areas, but of course, as we were there in winter, these were untouched by us.

The hosts are Americans now living in this region of Italy and so have deep local knowledge of the best restaurants, wineries, shops and towns and are obviously, English speaking which was certainly helpful in our case.

VSL is a 5 minute drive to Dogliani (a town with all the essentials as well as several superb restaurants, bars and cafes); happily it is also 7 minutes to Bossolasco, another incredibly beautiful historic and picturesque town in the Alta Langha region of Piedmont. The location is great as we were able to get everything we needed within a 5 minute drive or could take a 30-40 minute drive and be in Bra, Alba or the Ligurian coast.

This is a special property in a gorgeous part of the world. We are certain to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views and guidance of our hosts
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P
St. Helena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Already Planning to Go Back”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I/we visited and rented the Villa late last year, 2015. I was visiting with a fellow winemaking friend from Friuli. I am a winemaker from Napa Valley and we both are incredibly passionate about food and this was not our first visit to Piedmont. However, this was our best. Truly outstanding hospitality, the location with its natural beauty, tranquility, as well as its close proximity to some of the best restaurants we visited on the trip. The Villa itself was everything we’d hoped for and we felt it was an exceptional value - all amenities were spotless, modern and available to us and the main level kitchen was better than most kitchens in small restaurants! The hosts, Clay and Tamar, went out of their way to make us feel at home and to ensure we had knowledge of all the best places to go and they made sure that we had everything we needed for a perfect stay including the proper recommendations for wineries, winemakers and restaurants, sommeliers and chef's alike. I look forward to a return trip later this year, however, I shouldn't say this (so we can guarantee getting the rental!) in November and December during white truffle season, when Piemonte is at its height of celebration and warmth. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
It was such a pleasure meeting you during your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back to Villa San Lorenzo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestone1...
Menlo Park, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very overpriced for the off-season”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately the accommodations here just didn't live up to expectations. For what they charge here (particularly during the off season), we were expecting more.

For one, it's important to know that you may or may not be actually booking some of the rooms in the beautiful pictures. We had 9 people (2 families) and thought we were booking the villa. What we learned when we got there was that apparently we did not rent the large living room or the chef's kitchen in the photos. Huge bummer given we had a big group. Obviously no pool in the offseason too as you can see in the picture and you can't really take advantage of the outdoor space like you could in the summer. Also, the bedrooms were separated by stairs so if you have kids, odds are you'll have some of the kids sleeping in a room that is not connected.... You have to walk outside to get to the different bedrooms. What made it more difficult is the hosts spoke absolutely no English. Like not a word. For our 2 weeks in this part of Italy, almost every person we met spoke at least a little English.... so why have your hosts speak zero? When we got there, the beds were arranged in a way that made no sense for our group and there was no crib (although we asked for one). Neither would be a big deal if you could have actually communicated with the hosts. Last, this part of Italy does have a lot to love and is a special place. But the town this villa is nearest to (Dogliani) is incredibly sleepy in the off-season and rather tired. There's 1 maybe 2 decent restaurants and it's not the most picturesque of Italian villages. The economy has been troubled in the area and you can feel it in this town. There were many other villages in Piedmont that were much more beautiful with more activity. To get there from here though, you are in the car quite a bit.

All in all, for the very expensive price, there are better options. We stayed in a beautiful villa for the 2nd part of our trip that was half the price, larger, nicer furnishings, in a better location, and hosts that were over the top helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you very much, Jason, for taking the time to review our property. We are disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your four day stay over the New Year’s Eve holiday at Villa San Lorenzo. We appreciate that you believe this is the off-season; however, each year we receive a minimum of twenty inquiries for New Year’s Eve. In fact you paid a slightly discounted rate for this 4 night visit. We take a huge amount of pride in Villa San Lorenzo which we have meticulously restored over the past decade in order to offer our guests a wonderful space in which to relax and enjoy a vacation in the Langhe region of Piemdont, Italy.

Prior to booking your vacation, we communicated with you the exact layout of the property and offered you different three different options based on your needs and budget and we clearly explained the configuration of the rooms you had selected to rent. You chose the option to rent the rooms not connected internally after our precise explanation and WITHOUT the Grand Salon and Chef’s Kitchen for your group of 4 adults and 5 young children. Jason, your response to our email said "We live in an old house and have stayed at many old places before so understand that the lay-out can be tricky! All good.” When you told us upon arrival that you were disappointed that you didn’t have access to the Grand Salon and Chef’s Kitchen, we immediately offered to have it prepared for you free of any additional charge and you declined and said, no thank you.

The swimming pool is closed for the winter season; however there are 5.6 Ha (14 acres) of complete privacy in which to explore, we agree that the landscape changes with the seasons. Your comments about the hosts speaking no English is simply not correct, we are American and we speak perfect english. Our wonderful cleaner and her husband welcomed you upon arrival after waiting 4 hours from the time you had indicated you would arrive. You are correct, particularly in this part of Italy, most Italians only speak Italian. Rosaria had arranged the beds per your specification prior to arrival and then moved beds around to different rooms after you indicated how you would like them to be arranged differently immediately upon your request after arrival. We apologize for not having the pack n play ready for your upon arrival as you had not confirmed that you needed it, this was an oversight on our part and we brought the pack n play to you the next morning.

Villa San Lorenzo is 5 minutes from Bossolasco, 10 minutes from Dogliani, 15 minutes from Monforte d’Alba, and 20 minutes from Barolo, La Morra, Serralunga d’Alba, and Castiglione Falletto. Driving in the Langhe is definitely required being that it is a rural part of the world. We certainly understand that you were disappointed with Dogliani and we wish you had enjoyed it more. We read your comment about the number of decent restaurants and are confused because we live here and we can recommend ten outstanding restaurants within 10 minutes of the Villa. During the holiday season in Italy many Italians celebrate at home with their families, and some restaurants close for the month of January (and some as well from December 26th). You told us that you enjoyed very much your dinner at Villa San Lorenzo prepared by Chef Marco and said "Food was awesome and he worked hard" as well as the other 2 restaurants that we booked for you during your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed the truffle hunt we arranged for you as well, here is what you said "The truffle hunt this morning was fantastic and he was great. We all got rained on but it was a unique experience and a solid recommendation.”

We arranged for our babysitter to watch your children for 6 hours on your second day at the Villa and when our babysitter called us in a panic when you had not returned after 10 hours concerned that something had happened to you, you insisted that she was wrong and you had confirmed the change of time with her. Our babysitter was in complete distress and you did not respond to her telephone calls. You left a huge pile of dirty dishes in the kitchen as well as plates of partially eaten food on the dining room table after you left. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay after all the effort we made to accommodate you and we do not understand your disrespect of our dedicated staff and property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirazand...
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa. Spectacular Region. Excellent Hosts.”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked Villa San Lorenzo during Truffle Hunting season for a friend's 40th birthday and had a fantastic time in this villa. Our group of 16 was large, but the layout of the villa rooms gave everyone space and privacy outside of the large common area with amazing windows looking out to the lovely villa grounds. Every room has a designated bathroom, which is key to confort. Also, the kitchen is a foodie heaven, so much that our group mostly stayed in at nights to cook Vs going out to all the great restaurants in the region. The owners, Clay and Tamar have done an exceptional job with this property. Most importantly, they are amazing hosts, taking care of a multitude of details and requests for such as large group, including: wine tasting tours, pre-arrival food shopping, pasta cooking lessons at the Villa with a local chef (best pasta dish we ate during our whole trip was part of this experience) and a lovely truffle hunt with an authentic truffle hunter. Highly recommend this villa to both large groups and families looking to spend quality time in Piedmonte.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
We are so delighted that you had a fantastic time at Villa San Lorenzo. It was a pleasure to help you plan all the details for this special 40th birthday gathering. We so enjoyed meeting each and every one of you and we are thrilled to that all of the advance planning matched everyone's expectations! Thank you as well for your kind words about the property including the ensuite bathrooms for each room as well as the Chef's Kitchen. We have meticulously restored Villa San Lorenzo with attention to every detail and it gives us immense pride to hear such wonderful compliments. We hope to welcome you again to Piedmont!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S
Turin, Italy
1 review
“Kind, warm, welcoming, unique”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I spend a day at Villa San Lorenzo. It was fantastic!!! The hosts were very welcoming and kind. Their passion about the area they live is contagious. The accommodation they have is very unique and the kitchen is a real chefs dream. If you want to experience what Piemonte region has to offer and have knowledgeable English speaking guides this is the place to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you Richard! It was a pleasure to host you and share with you our passion and knowledge of Piedmont. After more than a decade of restoring Villa San Lorenzo, we are delighted that we are able to offer a luxury accommodation and Chef's Kitchen in which to enjoy the overflowing bounty of incredible food and wine in what we consider to be one of the greatest gastronomic regions of the world!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewengel
Washington
1 review
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A group of eight avid cooks set ourselves the task of finding a great property in Italy, France OR Spain for a week long foodie vacation. We happened on Villa San Lorenzo, saw the pictures, figured it couldn't possibly be as good as it looked, but that as long as it was close, we'd probably have a pretty good time.

Well, we were wrong. It was EVEN BETTER than it looked, and perfectly suited our needs. VSL is beautiful and well located right in the middle of Piedmont, one of the best wine regions in Italy. Tamar and Clay prepped the villa wonderfully for us, leaving us a big basket of local treats, and were a terrific source of information about the region. All eight of our group would recommend it unreservedly. Five PLUS stars!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you Elizabeth! It was wonderful to get to know you and your group and it was such a unique treat to be invited over for pizza prepared by all of you, we cannot express how spectacular that was! We are so thrilled that you found Villa San Lorenzo among ALL of the possible options in Italy, France, and Spain. We hope to welcome you all again to Villa San Lorenzo! Until then, have fun experimenting with all the wonderful cooking you do together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you Bettina, it was wonderful getting to know you and the children and we are so happy that you enjoyed the pizzas cooked in our wood fired brick oven. We love sharing this incredible region and are thrilled that you had such a spectacular time. We hope to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing