We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright as a place to rest for a night or 2”
Review of Hotel Savona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savona
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel, ideally located in the downtown area of Alba is next to several important landmarks including the Piazza Duomo (where several great restaurants can be found). The hotel is old fashioned and does need a major revamping yet

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 264 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is on the edge of the old town. It has easy car access and there is secure parking available adjacent to the hotel building. The room cost is reasonable and an OK breakfast is included. The room was comfortable and clean but was somewhat old and worn.

The old town has a number of excellent restaurants and the hotel staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a nice but tired old hotel in a perfect spot for exploring Alba. We asked for a room facing inside and it was quiet. Our room and the rest of the hotel was worn looking. Our toilet had a broken seat that required fixing. The bed was quite hard. We did have a rather large bathroom with shower and full size tub. The breakfast was adequate. Free wifi in rooms. Parking must be reserved and is worth paying for in this town where space is at a premium. The staff were very nice and helpful. Exploring the town on foot is very easy and is the main reason to stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In August 2013 we stopped in the little town of Alba to visit some of the world's finest wineries - many small and not well known but producing amazing wines. It was my first trip to Italy but my boyfriend had been there many years before. He had told me about the Hotel Savona, having stayed there years ago - saying it was very lovely and reasonable but we wondered if it was still the same. We were elated to find that it was the same place with wonderfully spacious high ceiling rooms, beautiful tiled baths, immaculate glass showers and balconies to sip your first morning expresso gazing into the green of lushly landscaped park that runs along the side of the hotel. The Savona is situated in the middle of this quaint, charming city within walking distance to many outdoor cafes, shops, museums, and music in the plaza every night. The also have an amazing complimentary breakfast with unbelievable fresh made pastries, croissants, sweet breads, eggs, hams, fruits, juices, yogurt, cereals, and much more than I can ever list not to mention the endless cappicino, expresso, teas, ect. all made according to your personal request and delivered by the waitress in their elegant dining room. But all of the above is surpassed by the staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and pampered. Bruno at the front desk was unbelievable! He could tell we were worn from our trip, so before we even finished signing in he produced two wonderful expresso's while he made suggestions about what to see, do, and truly listened to our plans to see if he could help. Each day we stopped by the front desk just to talk with Bruno because he was so friendly and accommodating whether it was suggesting wineries, giving directions, or just local history - he truly cared. I often eves-
- dropped on him while he was assisting other guests and realized that he treated everyone the way he treated us - making everyone feel special, welcome, and bending over backwards to assist them. We stayed at the Savona for two days on our way down to Switzerland and then stopped again on our way back to Frankfurt to catch our flight. Their breakfast buffet was something we would go out of way for, but their wonderful staff, especially Bruno, who made our stay extraordinary, the waitresses who were so gracious and even the hotel manager who came specifically out of his office to help me change the internet connection to English. I can't say enough about the Savona only that I hope we can return their someday soon! Kathryn and Joe - Pittsfield MA

Room Tip: Most of the rooms and balconies overlook the park, make sure you request a room with a balcony - won...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here whilst playing in the World Masters Games. The town is a lovely old town with many great eating locations.
The Hotel staff was so friendly and could not do enough to help us, from the staff behind the counter to a lovely lady behind the bar, we could not have enjoyed a better experience for our two week stay. Thank you Bruno and the lovely Roxy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Situated in the city center, a very short walk from the shopping streets. Room was nice but a bit worn. Breakfast ok. Staff friendly and helpful. Private locked parking in the back, great for us traveling by car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The breakfast at this hotel was really lovely. The espresso was perfect and the pastries worth the calories. The staff is friendly and welcoming. My only comments are that the hotel is a little old and feels its age. Our room was comfortable enough but there were many flies in the room (we were able to open the window and entice them outside). The hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the old city and near plenty of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#3 of 10 in Alba
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Lorenzo
Albergo San Lorenzo
#6 of 10 in Alba
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Medea Hotel
Medea Hotel
#5 of 10 in Alba
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savona

Address: Via Roma 1, 12051, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alba
Price Range: $106 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savona 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savona is situated in the heart of Alba, capital of the Langhe. For cover a century now it has carried on the tradition of hospitality for which the area is renowed.The Savona is a well appointed hote offering modern, functional facilities to cater for the full gamut of specific leaisure or business needs: suites and rooms complete with bath, thelephone, television,frigobar, air conditioning and Jacuzzi.Three conference rooms with meeting and convention facilities for up to 150delegates.The restaurant can accommodate up to 150 diners at a time: here it ispossible to savour the refined cuisine of the Langhe or arrange special menus for business lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Savona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savona Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing