We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with perfect loxcation in Alba”
Review of Hotel Savona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savona
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel with perfect loxcation in Alba”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Certainly will recommend this nice hotel. Excellent and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Good rooms, except some problems to get warm water from shower. Hotel have private parking. Fantastic location to explore Alba and other nearby places like La Morra, Barolo, Dogliani ect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    85
    93
    30
    15
See reviews for
27
90
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Excellent location in the heart of old-town (where the main attractions are). Nice clean rooms. Nice breakfast buffet. Pleasant helpful staff for the most part. Excellent, especially considering the reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aristo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Everything about this hotel was superior. Our room was large and very clean, the staff was extremely helpful. One evening it rained at dinnertime and the staff gave us an umbrella as we were going out the door. Parking was available in an inner courtyard for a minimal fee. The city of Alba itself is a delight to wander and the hotel was right in the best part of the city.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwill801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

If you use a GPS, get a map and double-check how to get into the parking lot! We had to drive around a few times to find the way.
Otherwise, our room was big and had a balcony, the hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly and made good recommendations, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was good.
The location is excellent if you want to tour wine country and eat at some very good restaurants.
Only complaint is that the hotel could use some updating - the decor is very old - but that's a minor quibble.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Nice standard hotel with a perfect location. Helpful staff and clean rooms. Breakfast had ok selection, but the breakfast room could be full at times. Free internet access in the lobby worked fine, but you need your own laptop. Very short distance to a nice Piazza and to the main pedestrian street in the old town. Recommend Eno Club restaurant at the Piazza close by the hotel and the Hemingway cafe in a small sidestreet of the old town main street.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanneJohannesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Savona for 6 nights while we explored Piemonte. Alba is a great location and we were very pleased with the hotel. We had requested a room with a small balcony which overlooks a small park -- if you check the website of the hotel, you will see the photo showing the trees and this side of the hotel. It added a nice touch to the room rather than just overlooking a side street -- and it is probably quieter than being close to Piazza Savona which has a lively night scene. The double room was adequately sized with a large closet, a very comfortable bed, desk, mini-fridge, tv with CNN, and large bathroom. The staff is excellent! The men at the front desk were all extremely helpful, even getting ice for me several times when I hurt my foot. The staff in the breakfast room were also cheerful and accommodating. The buffet breakfast offers plenty of choices -- yogurt, some fruit, croissants, several kinds of cereal, cheese, hams. There are 2 markets across the street, one a small COOP, the other a very large supermarket in an indoor mall. Parking is right next to the hotel.

The hotel is very conveniently located. Because it is at the edge of the historic area, it was very easy to get in and out of town every day when we took our road trips to all the wine towns along the Langhe route -- we also went northwest to the Valle di Susa in the Alps -- a long day, but definitely doable from Alba.

We enjoyed staying in the town so that we could walk around in a bustling area to our dinner each night. Our favorite restaurant was Ristorante Vigin Mudest at the opposite end of the historic area, just about a 10 minute walk -- it's one block beyond Piazza Risorgimento where there is a very good tourist info office. The dining room of the hotel is very good, reasonably priced with good service. We did enjoy one good dinner there, but prefer the smaller local places

We only have 2 complaints about Hotel Savona. WiFi is great, but if you don't have your own laptop with international access, you're out of luck .Their internet station in the lobby is operated by an outside service and it did not function. This is becoming a common problem so we'll have to take along the laptop next trip! The second would be that the a/c in the room was barely adequate and it was quite hot in Piemonte! There are individual controls but even at max speed and cold, it was barely cool. Then, the last night, it simply broke!

All in all, this was an excellent value and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
643 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My wife and I satyed at the Hotel Savona in Alba 4 nights in April 2008 and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We took trains from Milano to Alba a delightful small city in Piemonte. Alba is home to Ferrero Rocher and Nutella, hazelnuts (one of Nutella's principal ingredients) and the superb Italian white truffles. It is the centre of one of Italy's premier wine growing regions. Barolo, Barbaresco and Neive are just a short distance away.

The Savona is located a short walk from Alba railway station and close to Alba's main pedestrian shopping street. There are 2 supermarkets and a bakery across the street. The hotel has an excellent European style breakfast included in the room price. It also has a very, very good restaurant. A superb 3 course meal cost 16 Euros. The night we dined in it we chose hand made gnocchi with a creamy gorgonzola sauce; beef cooked in Barolo wine with roast potatoes and a side dish of spinach. Dessert was the delightful piemontese baked chocolate pudding called "bounnet". A good selection of reasonably priced wines was available. We chose a Barbera d'Alba.

If you want to discover a charming corner of Italy, then Alba and the Hotel Savona are for you.

  • Liked — Location, size of room and bathroom, traditional furnishings, breakfast room and breakfast and last but not least, the restaurant.
  • Disliked — Window blind in bathroom needed repair.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#3 of 10 in Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Lorenzo
Albergo San Lorenzo
#6 of 10 in Alba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dellatorre
Casa Dellatorre
#8 of 10 in Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savona

Property: Hotel Savona
Address: Via Roma 1, 12051, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savona 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savona is situated in the heart of Alba, capital of the Langhe. For cover a century now it has carried on the tradition of hospitality for which the area is renowed.The Savona is a well appointed hote offering modern, functional facilities to cater for the full gamut of specific leaisure or business needs: suites and rooms complete with bath, thelephone, television,frigobar, air conditioning and Jacuzzi.Three conference rooms with meeting and convention facilities for up to 150delegates.The restaurant can accommodate up to 150 diners at a time: here it ispossible to savour the refined cuisine of the Langhe or arrange special menus for business lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savona Hotel Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing