We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in superb location for reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Calissano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Calissano
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Calissano for 4 nights in August and absolutely loved it! We had a car which we could conveniently park in the hotel garage free of charge. The old town and restaurants were within short walking distance of the hotel, which made up for the lack of bistro availability in the hotel. The hotel was in excellent condition, provided friendly service, not to mention flawless wifi connection. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet with special coffee brought to tables. The sfaff seemed alert at all times.

Our room was also super, and no one bothered us, the cleaning lady coming over only after we left and took the room key out of the electricity socket.

All in all, for the reasonable price we wouldn't really go to any other hotel in Alba :)

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FinnCouple8x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
we are glad you appreciated your stay at Hotel Calissano. We definitely hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 513 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked this hotel as a stopover on the way to Lake Maggiore and were extremely pleased with our choice. It is a large modern hotel and a short walk to the pretty town centre. It offers very large rooms with all the facilities you'd expect, including free wi-fi The car park is a large underground area that is secure and free, the best parking of our 3 week motorcycle tour round Europe, with direct lift access to rooms. The very large breakfast room offers an array of typical Italian products that should satisfy most guests. The staff on reception were very friendly and obviously keen to ensure we had a pleasant stay, we were given a town map and clear directions on where to go.

This hotel is highly recommended and we'll be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
we thank you for this review: we are happy you liked to stay at Hotel Calissano, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Traveling by car in or there Italy, decided to stay one night in alba, Tripadvisor reviews mad us choose hotel calissano and we were very satisfied with our stay. We used the hotel as a base for visits to Barolo, barbaresco, neive area - perfect!

The hotel has a free parking garage located underneath the hotel, with a lift that takes you straight up to rooms.

Rooms are spacious, bathroom spacious & clean! Air condition worked pretty well (compared to other Italian hotels that we've stayed in during this vacation). Breakfast was incl. in the room price and was average good, don't go for the coffee.

Reception staff very helpful with guidance for restaurants, we ended up with an unforgettable Italian meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monicamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for reviewing Hotel Calissano. We are glad you liked your stay; about the Staff's suggestions... we think one of our main tasks is helping Guests to discover our beautiful land at its best!

We do hope to see you again here in Alba,
Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've been here for business occasions and I always found a top notch hotel. Rooms are beautiful and elegant, with all the beddings with the hotel logo. Breakfast is good and various. I also had dinner there a couple of times and I was always satisfied. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Imakaveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for this so nice review of Hotel Calissano.
We look forward to your next stay... we hope it will be equal to the previous ones!

Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in the Hotel Calissano while staying in Alba for work. I have to stay that this is a really great hotel very central, staff were very friendly & helpful and the location of the hotel was really great very central and within walking distance to the centre of the town. Would highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Alba.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinsale35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for finding some time to write about Hotel Calissano... and of course for writing a so nice review!

Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently completed a trip to Europe where we stayed in 7 hotels and inns, 6 of which were chosen based on tripadvisor reviews. The Calissano was our first stop and set a very high standard for the others. This modern, beautifully cared-for hotel is located on the edge of the historic old town of Alba. You can park your car in the spacious underground lot (included in the price) and reach the town center on foot in 5 to 10 minutes. Alba is charming, with lots of eating and shopping options close at hand.

Our room, a double superior, was extremely spacious and attractive. A comfortable king bed, well organized storage space, and a lovely view of the town and surrounding hills and villages made a great first impression. The bathroom was simply one of the best I've encountered in years of travel. Large tub, separate walk-in shower, large sink with lots of counter space - just a great room.

Breakfast was typical of an included breakfast at a quality hotel. Eggs, cereals, rolls, . . . all fresh and nicely presented. We left fully sated.

Finally, the hotel staff was the equal of the space they command. They were warm, gracious and helpful. I can't say enough about them and the hotel they run. (June, 2014, price: 160 euros, B&B)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroWhenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest,
we just... cant't thank you enough for this review!

We really do hope to have you as our very appreciated Guest for your next trip around Europe.

Kindest regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just returned from a week in Alba at the Hotel Calissano. This is a lovely and extremely well cared for hotel. Beds were firm and comfortable and the linens were beautiful and beautifully maintained. The shower was a bit small, but the overhead shower and hand shower had great pressure and the bathrooms were extremely clean with plush towels. It was extremely hot in Alba the week we were there but the air-conditioning in the hotel worked well. I would definitely stay here again and wish that all the hotels I stayed in would be as comfortable and clean as this one.

Room Tip: We booked a double room, thinking it would be a larger size room for two people. But it turned out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolFromNapaValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Carol,
thank you: we are more than glad you had a so nice stay, and hope to see you soon in Alba again!

Best regards
Santino Gerlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
0.5 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#3 of 10 in Alba
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savona
Hotel Savona
#9 of 10 in Alba
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
174 reviews
8.6 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calissano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calissano

Address: Via Pola 8, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Price Range: $125 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calissano 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Calissano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing