We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms, the service, the location”
Review of Hotel Calissano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Calissano
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The rooms, the service, the location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First of all, Alba is worth a visit of at least two nights (lovely old city center with a lot of good restaurants). And the perfect hotel to visit this city and its neighborhood is certainly this Calissano. It looks a bit cold and business-like from the outside, but inside the hotel feels very comfortable and the people are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are perfect (we had a superior, our friends had a suite - top on the topfloor).
Don't forget to take your aperitif in the hotel: delicious morsels will accompany your drinks.
Loved it and felt a bit like a wine-trader in its favorite hotel to meet the best wine producers from Barollo and Barbaresco.

Oh yes, perfect location, it's just 5 minutes by foot to the old city center and the major shopping street. And very quiet!

By the way, if you want to see the vineyards in a special and relaxed way, book a segway (www.albawaytours.com - Alba Hills), very recommendable experience. They have their office only 5 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBelgianBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. Letting the guests feel fine is our main goal, and we are so happy when we manage to do this!

As we always tell, we really think we owe much to Alba and the Langhe: working in a so nice place helps us to do a good job. We hope to see you again, maybe in our top season, which is from October to November for the wine picking and the truffle!

Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    148
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
185
9
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Expected the usual modern 4 star
Italian hotel. Very nice room, immaculate, superb bathroom with excellent overhead shower.
Sky TV. 200 yards from city centre. Staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. Under £100 per night B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Alan,
we are happy your stay was good. It's great for us, when a guest hasn't checked out yet, and he already writes a so good review: we think this is possible only when he feels sure nothing can go wrong for the remaining days at Calissano!

We really hope to see you again,
kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Its design and style is another one of "contemporary business hotels" (with a little overdose of stainless/marble/glassy/shining gold looks) that you normally find in all European less urban areas. What makes it very special is:
1. the smile and frienly response of personnel
2. the top quality food you get at a respectable price
The rooms are very clean and very quiet regardless of the floor or orientation of your room.
The air conditioning was OK as it was extremely humid with 34C outside, with a sensitive temperature of more than 40C. Although, it was evident to me that fresh air intake for air changes in the room was not that efficient and at some time in the night I had to open the window to feel better.
The food was perfect! I had as a starter proschiutto con melone with a fillet of beef medium done. The wine was a red Barbera (old and rather strong) which left no "dark signs" next morning.
I have to underline again how friendly the personnel is in this place!

Room Tip: for a business hotel, excellent! I would think again to go there with my wife as we prefer to have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KONSTANTINOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay, and we are happy you felt fine both with the food and the personnel: Regarding the wine... it's very easy, in this area, providing excellent wines!

We really hope to have you as our guests again,
best regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is (or at least looks) new and has good, modern rooms. The free underground parking is very convenient. The hotel is located 5 minutes away from Alba center, which can easily be reached by foot. Good value for money. I stayed here one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex2013407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future, and let you have an always better stay.

Kind regards
Mauro Tezzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed just one night in Alba, and wanted a hotel in walking distance from the city center.

Upon arrival we where surprised with the helpful people at the front-desk. Not the regular way of just checking in and receiving the keys, but the where really friendly explaining everything and helping us out to find some addresses we where inquiring.

The rooms are big, rain shower, big double beds, free wifi. Car parking is not a problem, plenty of space in the garage. Breakfast buffet the classical way and options. Nothing special but good quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toscana981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really thank you for this so good review. We are glad you spent a good time at Calissano: we are happy everytime we see that people feel like being at home, this is our main purpose.

Position is one of our points of strength: probably, no other Hotel in the area is in a so quiet zone and so close to the city center.

We hope to see you again soon: we are at disposal for any further need of assistance.

Very kind regards,
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Calissano in Alba. I was surprised by its elegance, thinking it was going to be less stylish than others we had booked in the larger cities. It is a newer hotel, everything was spotless. Staff was very helpful. Relatives of ours had called before we arrived. They helped call them back and translate for us. It is an excellent location to walk to the piazzas for lunch, dinner or shopping. I found Alba to be one of my favorite shopping areas in my two week stay in Italy. I found Alba to be a safe, clean city. The view from our window was a bit industrial but that was fine. I would visit Alba again and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: There were four room booked in our party and they were all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheatydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
our main purpose is to let our guests have a nice stay: if this means helping you with translations, just ask! This is something we really care: trying to answer all requests of our hosts!

About Alba... many, many guests say they feel like being a paradise: it is a clean, historical, beautiful, safe city; with the Langhe, it is probably one of the nicest places in Italy. We hope you will come back to Alba; when you will, we will be more than glad to host you again!

Thank you very much for your review, kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have had an enjoyable two night stay at the Hotel Calissano in Alba. Its convenient location in a quiet neighborhood only a short walk from the old city center was perfect for our intention of leaving our car parked in the secure free parking garage beneath the hotel. We had a superior room on the fifth floor and must say that it is certainly four star quality with lots of space, plenty of closet and shelf space, a small refrigerator, large openable windows in the main room as well as in the huge bath, and a superbly comfortable bed. The hotel itself is decorated in a formal motif but the staff is super friendly and willing to help with any need. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate as well as Internet access, which was quite fast. Breakfast is a very adequate buffet of the usual items you expect and was served in the hotel restaurant. The staff was very responsive to our request for ice and wine glasses and gave us excellent advice for what we wanted to see in the city center. The parking garage is one of the best we have seen, with an amazing amount of space for each car. It is nice to stay in a fine hotel and not feel as if the staff expects to be tipped every time you walk by. If in Alba again we would certainly pick this hotel, as they deliver on expectation without fanfare.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room and be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantinoGerlotto, Direttore at Hotel Calissano, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Ron,
up to us this is the best thing we can read: "If in Alba again we would certainly pick this hotel". It means we managed to let you feel as home, and really hope we can make it again.

Please, consider that our beautiful land helps as so much to have great tourism, and it does all the year long. Few things are better than visiting the Langhe and enjoy their mild climate during summer: and, if you will, we are going to give you other advices based on your personal feeling about what you like better to see.

Thank you so much,
Kind regards
Santino Gerlotto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
0.5 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Finati
Palazzo Finati
#4 of 10 in Alba
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante I Castelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
457 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
148 reviews
18.4 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calissano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calissano

Property: Hotel Calissano
Address: Via Pola 8, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calissano 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Calissano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing