We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old stile”

Osteria Dei Sognatori
Ranked #7 of 190 Restaurants in Alba
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old stile”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are looking for an old stile typical italian restaurant this is one of them. No reservation, no menu', just eat what is on today. Sure that its fresh and always different. All the dishes are old style prepared and quite good portions and some very different dishes.
Just don't miss it if you are around Alba

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    465
    159
    50
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This was the best meal we had in Italy!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was the least expensive and best dinner of the week. First we had a dish called "Giardiniera," which was cauliflower and roasted peppers served in tomato. It was healthy and perfect. Then we had "Cotechino con Verza," a delicious lean corned beef sausage with kraut. The pasta courses were amazing too! Dinner for 3 with all courses and drinks was less than 50 Euros.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mushroom_girl_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rustic with quirky service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a osteria for locals as well as tourists. No menu but the waitress spoke enough English that it was not a problem. "Do you want antipasti? Say yes and the dishes start coming - capaccio, frittata and cheese, deep fried lettuce, garlic sauce on fried peppers and home made gnocchi. Main course was boar. Food was good but not outstanding and the wine was very good and reasonable priced. Cost for two including a bottle of Barbera d'Alba was 50 euros.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCorfu_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No menu, but food is delicious”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went here for lunch today and just went with the flow. The appetiser was a couple of chunks of flavoursome cheese, then came some minced raw veal meat with more cheese, and also veal steaks cooked and dressed with a beautiful sauce and a great caponata .. there was also a huge basket of bread and grissini .. there was more to be had, but we were full .. great service, great value, great atmosphere .. we'll be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRaghorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine, Fresh Food, Great Service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A large group of us showed up at Sognatori for a late lunch, unexpectedly, in the middle of the week after visiting local wineries. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the service we received. It was a very enjoyable meal with old and new friends. This was one of the truly authentic meals we had on our trip, although we discovered later that we didn't order the customary amount of food, by Italian standards. The pasta, pizza, eggplant, salads, and wines were all excellent. The atmosphere was comfortable. The only downside (if you can call it that) was that the staff was very involved in conversations with each other and the locals. I think that is also a part of the culture that we aren't used to in North America.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOMANDDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Dei Sognatori also viewed

 
Alba, Province of Cuneo
Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Osteria Dei Sognatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing