We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really grew on us, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba
Ranked #6 of 35 Alba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really grew on us, good value”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When we arrived at the out of the way Casa Scaparone, we checked in and realized it's a music school/camp as well as a B&B and farm. At first the piano playing the same song over and over was irritating but when we came back from our day of touring it was a different song. Kind of nice to come home to.
The room was clean, a bit small, very very firm bed. My husband turned on the shower and the water pressure is so good that the shower head flew off and was spraying the whole bathroom, a bit of comedic relief.
Once dinner came along (we spend 60 Euros) we really started to like this place. Salami, melon, proscuitto to start. Celeri with cheese, walnuts, fig. Beef with tuna sauce was really good and is a traditional dish of the area. My husband had the whole wheat spaghetti with tomato and anchovy sauce and I had gnocchi gorgonzola. We were already quite stuffed but got the roast beef and potato still.
One of the students invited us to a concert in the main building and we thought it would be the children playing the piano again but it was older students singing opera. Very cool.
Breakfast was included and was cereals, toast, cappuccino, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    72
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
108
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our experience at Casa Scaparone was fabulous! The place is even more charming than the beautiful photos convey. Even though the staff did not speak a lot of English they did a great job of figuring out what was needed. The food was excellent from the wine to the breakfast buffet. It felt like we were long lost relatives.
When we needed to leave early on our final morning, we asked if we could have some coffee and maybe some bread left for us the next day. When we entered the dining area, the table was all set for us with a fresh baked cake, bread, jam and we had been told to help ourselves to the coffee.
A wonderful atmosphere and a most memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything seems to work at Casa Scaparone, the room, the food, and yet nobody seems to be in charge. Ask the guy who seems to be in charge, and he'll tell you he's not. It's not the place for people who need a lot of guidance about what to do on their Piedmont vacation , but you won't find many places with such a pleasant, laid-back atmosphere and friendly people. We stayed two nights and ate dinner there both nights. The whole place is charming and somewhat kooky. The location outside Alba is great. Our room was large, clean, and furnished distinctively. The place is full of odd items, undoubtedly some antiques. The food was quite good, and the wine was ample. Not the best food we had in the region, but totally satisfactory. Choose this place for its distinct ambience and excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganey-Tikva
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Casa Scaparone offers the best of Alba's area. It's a unique farm house with clean and rustic rooms. The area is beautiful and Casa Scaparone is located in the heart of it.
We stayed there for one night but it is most recommended place for 2-3 nights if you want to capture the atmosphere of the region.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Casa Scaparone is situated only a few minutes from Alba in a small valley with orchards and wine yards. The valley makes you forget the proximity to the busy suburbs of Alba and the very gently renovated farmhouse takes you into a different era. The hosts renovated the house with dedication to detail. Every room
is unique and the large public rooms downstairs are welcoming you with a rich rural breakfast buffet. The owner is very much into traditional music and, on week ends, plays after dinner with his friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Scaparone for 2 nights and also had dinner on both nights. Our room on the main farmhouse oozed rustic charm. Breakfasts were a delight of home baked bread and jams.Both dinners were fabulous and the glasses of wine we ordered were huge. The evening atmosphere was festive with larger tables of locals celebrating special occasions but without disturbing tables with couples wanting a quite, romantic time. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We would love to return to this very special place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardenia014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Casa Scaparone is something coming out of a fairy tale. We had the greatest time there with Gian Maria and the fab chef. The welcoming was amazing and the food stunning and abundant. The accommodation like a love pad. The atmosphere and the music gave that special touch. I really recommended it!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
3.0 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
390 reviews
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
460 reviews
10.8 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
14.1 mi away
I Tre Poggi Dimora di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba

Property: Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba
Address: Scaparone | Casa Scaparone, 12051, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Scaparone e una antica dimora della citta di Alba, con origini nel 1500, sita su di una collina che si affaccia sul fiume Tanaro, a nord della citta, a 4,5 km dal centro. L'azienda e rinata nel 2002 dopo tre anni di pazienti restauri che hanno riportato tre ruderi ad esser una azienda agrituristica con 9 camere ed un ristorante da 60 coperti. L'azienda agricola produce 9.000 bottiglie di vino, e coltiva 10 ettari di terreno a cereali di varieta antiche, verdure e frutta. Produzione e vendita di pasta grissini e farine. I cibi serviti nel ristorante sono in prevalenza coltivati con il metodo agricolo "Substantia", agricoltura Biologica e rispetto per la Terra e il mondo vegetale. Aperto da Febbraio a Dicembre, tutte le sere a cena e il sabato e domenica anche a pranzo. Le camere, tutte diverse, dislocate su due fabbricati che si affacciano sul grande cortile, sono allestite con materiali e mobili antichi, rustici e artistici; no tv, no frigobar, no cassaforte, si wi-fi e tanta storia da vivere. Ideale per piccole cerimonie e viaggi di gruppo. Occasionalmente e su richiesta animazione con musica tradizionale del Piemonte. Parcheggio privato. Area Camper gratuita senza servizi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing