We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba
Ranked #6 of 35 Alba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charmingly Rustic”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I would like to highly recommend Casa Scaparone. I stayed in a lovely rustic part of the original house and the furnishings were all richly stained wood. I enjoyed a wonderful walk around the area's orchards the views are amazing. My dinner was the best I've had in Italy and was served in a beautiful courtyard and accompanied by a perfect glass of the resident wine. My breakfast was equally as fresh and good and the coffee was outstanding. I wished I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    72
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
108
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A wonderfully unique experience with the most personal and friendly service from Batista, the owner. Having heard about this rustic agriturismo farmstead from our friends, we were eager to visit it for ourselves. We were not disappointed! Upon arrival to a full restaurant with happy singing guests, Batista sat us down with a bottle of local wine and a plate of local cheese, hazelnuts and bread to enjoy while the children happily played in the courtyard. Our room was warm, cozy and rustically decorated and had plenty of space to accommodate our family of five. We had a wonderful meal that evening where plate after plate of delicious simple local fare was brought to us by the friendly staff. We were later treated to a night of music and serenading by the other diners accompanied by Batista on the piano. I cannot thank Batista more for his fantastic recommendations of places to visit, restaurants to eat at and his local knowledge that made our trip so enjoyable despite the rainy, chilly weather. I would highly recommend a visit to this special place. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andipalosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A lovely converted farmstead arranged around an enclosed courtyard. Our room was comfortable though the bed was a surprise as apparently it was a traditional piemontese bed; it was waist height to cope with the cold winters. Fortunately it had a modern mattress and was very comfortable once you had climbed up onto it. The accommodation was traditional and even a little rustic but it was a pleasure to stay there. Families welcome. A lovely setting with views across vineyards and the few other houses of the villlage. Dinner, many local ingredients and the locally made wine was superb - at least 7 courses! .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a fantastic place! The old house and the rooms are unique and renovated with lots of love and the surrounding area is stunning. The owners Batista and Alessandra are lovable hosts who give your stay a very familiar touch. Also the dinner is just great. Typical local, hearty dishes made of biological ingredients are served in a beautyfully restored previous stable. After the last course, Batista the owner starts to play the piano and sings his fantastic canzoni. Sometimes also guest musicians start to play or sing. It's a lively, funny and cheerful place and I can recommend this place with all my heart!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have stayed here twice (so far!), and loved it each time! A lovingly and originally restored farmhouse accommodates couples, singles and families. Family rooms are great - spacious and all unique. Definitely recommend staying for dinner too - great value and what a great atmosphere! Our wonderful hosts are also talented musicians so don't be surprised if the whole restaurant joins in the singing!
Animals and good play area for children. Excellent value wine, preserves and grappa to buy and take home, whilst we wait for our next trip...!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scillonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our room was in the old part of the house - it smelled like the fireplace all night and felt like a cave. It was a very dark room with poor lighting and noisy above the kitchen. The bathroom was very nice except it had this open medicine chest filled with tube of ointments and medicines. We felt like they lived in this room the rest of the time, and had maybe overbooked-it was wired. I should have known when there were no room pictures I could find on the web - I trusted because it got good reviews. We left after one night.

We had the pre-fixe dinner - E35 - because they are not near any restaurants. Batista passed thru the dining room with a covered plate, saying "you have a chance to taste the while truffle on your pasta". Stupidly and travel-weary, we replied "Oh that would be nice". Batista just forgot to mention it would be an additional E15 per person - a whopping E50 dinner with the worst wine I've ever tasted - kind of like old gym socks! One sip and I was done. I also know white truffles and these were a really good "look alike" without the taste - gee, do you think he knew?

Batista had a sign up at the registration desk "No Credit Cards" when we arrived. It was a Sunday and we had a problem with the ATM and couldn't get more cash; he was nice and told us to use the credit card. When we paid our bill, he said of course he had to add 5% for the credit card fee - once again not letting us know ahead of time. It just felt like he would take as much advantage as he could, while he did.

We've traveled a lot Italy and try to stay in agriturismos. We've generally found them quite hospitable: Not so Casa Scaparone.

Room Tip: Make sure there is a picture of rooms on website and select the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ChocolateBabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved this place. Our kids slept in the room while we sat just outside in the courtyard restaurant eating 8 or 9 delicious courses of authentic Italian country food. The restaurant is clearly a well known local favorite, but you should ask when they are doing food, as it seems to be only a few nights over the weekend. It is a working farm- our host drove up to meet us on a tractor. The kids loved the donkeys, goats and chickens. The rooms are lovely, decorated in country style restored antiques, and the king sized bed was awesome. The lovely hosts sat and planned our 4 day piedmont itinerary with us and had great knowledge of e area. They included kids playgrounds, pizza in castle grounds etc. To suit our family needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pidg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba
3.0 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
461 reviews
10.8 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Casa Ressia
14.1 mi away
I Tre Poggi Dimora di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba

Property: Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba
Address: Scaparone | Casa Scaparone, 12051, Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Alba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Alba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Scaparone e una antica dimora della citta di Alba, con origini nel 1500, sita su di una collina che si affaccia sul fiume Tanaro, a nord della citta, a 4,5 km dal centro. L'azienda e rinata nel 2002 dopo tre anni di pazienti restauri che hanno riportato tre ruderi ad esser una azienda agrituristica con 9 camere ed un ristorante da 60 coperti. L'azienda agricola produce 9.000 bottiglie di vino, e coltiva 10 ettari di terreno a cereali di varieta antiche, verdure e frutta. Produzione e vendita di pasta grissini e farine. I cibi serviti nel ristorante sono in prevalenza coltivati con il metodo agricolo "Substantia", agricoltura Biologica e rispetto per la Terra e il mondo vegetale. Aperto da Febbraio a Dicembre, tutte le sere a cena e il sabato e domenica anche a pranzo. Le camere, tutte diverse, dislocate su due fabbricati che si affacciano sul grande cortile, sono allestite con materiali e mobili antichi, rustici e artistici; no tv, no frigobar, no cassaforte, si wi-fi e tanta storia da vivere. Ideale per piccole cerimonie e viaggi di gruppo. Occasionalmente e su richiesta animazione con musica tradizionale del Piemonte. Parcheggio privato. Area Camper gratuita senza servizi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Scaparone Agriturismo Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing