We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel experience ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Saraceno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Saraceno Hotel
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
daniserpe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

I'm fully Italian and sadly aware that our hotels standards often don't live up to common expectations. Having said so, this hotel still was the worst experience I've ever had in my life! All the time I kept asking myself how it's even legally possible for them to be a 4 stars hotel. I didn't make a fuss when we first arrived and nobody helped us carrying our baggage to the third floor (no elevator!), or when discovered that our superior room was a small (almost claustrophobic) garret with ugly furniture possibly from the 50’s. But two things made me furious: first, my boyfriend went to the bathroom (about 1 square meter size) and had to find out that the toilet was all dirty and the seat encrusted with biological residue (if you know what I mean!); second, I sat on the bed to get some rest and after 10 seconds it literally collapsed and broke (and just in case you’re wondering , I weigh 52 Kg = 110 pounds). On our way out to the beach we asked for a change of room, but we were told they had no other available rooms. Then I asked to at least clean the toilet! And of course nobody did it. After all, the concierge staff looked completely helpless. I won’t bother to describe in depth every other awful detail, I think those two I wrote about pretty much say it all. My obvious final suggestion: keep yourselves very far away from this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daniserpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    29
    15
    30
See reviews for
68
97
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed for two nights at the Al Saraceno and found it good value for what we paid (100 Euros per room, B&B) but not a four star hotel. The entrance and lounge are OK but the rooms are very basic. The first room we were shown was very small so we asked for another which the staff arranged immediately. The second one was much better with a small balcony and a nice, clean, well appointed but smallish bathroom.

Breakfast was standard Italian fare in the dining room for the first morning but on the second morning we sat on the very attractive patio which was much nicer. The staff were very helpful both in reception, in the dining room and those who serviced the rooms.

It is two blocks from the beach and does not have good views but I have stayed at much worse places than this.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gansosalvaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

We arrived at the hotel as a coach group of 50. No one takes your bags, I had to carry a suitcase up 3 floors. The room was small and dingy and overlooked another apartment block 10 feet away which made it dark, my wife complained that she didn't have enough light to do her makeup. There was no kettle to make tea or coffee, although the hotel claims to be 4 star. Breakfast was adequate, but at breakfast we were given the dinner menu and asked to tick what we wanted for dinner. Another quirk was that we were asked by the waiters to keep and reuse our linen serviette for 4 days. Every night at dinner the manager or owner came into the restaurant and appeared to rebuke the waiters, not a pretty site for a customer. This hotel is small and not well appointed and is 2 roads back from the sea front, this is definitely not 4 star, more like 1 star.

  • Liked — Getting away from it.
  • Disliked — The manager
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ians318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
438 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

The website says rooms have been renovated, which is the main reason why we picked this hotel out the hundreds Alassio offers. But it is not fully true that rooms were renovated: actually, they just covered the old floors with carpet (which I find to be awful, considering that your shoes are going to get full of sand!) and remade the bathrooms. Windows and doors are still old and so is the dining room (tables and chairs are quite shakey!).
Room equipment is quite standard so no complaints on them.
Waiting staff at the restaurant seemed a little too nervous and were always complaining among themselves about the fact that there were too many guests to be served... Tablecloths were not changed at every meal, which was a bit awkward but definitely "environmentally friendly". Also bed linens are not changed daily but you don't change your sheets at home every day, do you? Again, I think this is a good policy to preserve the environment: only the manager should state this policy clearly to make it acceptable to every guest or, even better, ask the guest if he is in agreement with this policy!
Another problem is the beach service: we knew the hotel has an agreement with Bagni Walburga so we thought a beach umbrella and deckchairs were waiting for us there. Wrong! The hotel just recommends you to go to this beach club but they don't make any reservation for you. So be prepared to make an advance booking yourself during the high season or you risk to be walking some 10 minutes towards Laigueglia before finding a free deckchair...
Now the good point: food is just great! They offer a wide selection of typical Ligurian dishes with very well cooked fish. Breakfast buffet is also excellent (but do not expect eggs and bacons, it's a typical Italian breakfast with croissants, Nutella and bread, milk and cereals).

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — staff and only partially renovated
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

This hotel is located 2 blocks back from the seafront on the west side of the town of Alassio.
First impressions are good from the outside of the hotel and it looks to live upto its 4 star rating. The one downside is that it is a 4 star hotel which is not located on the beach front.
Upon arriving we were shown to our rooms which turned out to be dissapointing due to their small size. The standard rooms are intended for double occupancy however our party had only 1 person per room and found it difficult to believe that 2 people could comfortably spend a week or 2 in such a small space. The bathrooms in all 3 rooms were again very small. One of the rooms had a very small shower enclosure which had a sink directly in font of the door leading into it which made it difficult to access. Fortunately the guest in this room was young and able bodied so managed to negotiate the gap between the sink and the shower door. I dread to think how awkward it would be for an elderly guest.
The 2nd room had another small shower enclosure which once inside required the user to stand perfectly still to avoid banging arms and legs on the walls. The 3rd room had a shower curtain which tended to envelope the user (for anyone who has experienced shower curtains !) due to its small size.

Other issues with the rooms included;

- Linen not changed daily (in fact 1 room had not been changed after 6 days).
- No do no disturb signs on doors of 2 rooms.
- Limited amenties in the room. In fact there was just a TV which had very poor reception. In one of the rooms it wasn't even tuned in so we did it ourselves.
- Rooms have views of other appartment blocks,

Our stay was full board which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. On arrival at breakfast we were presented with a menu which detailed what was available for lunch and dinner. We were then asked by the waiting staff to choose what we wanted for lunch and dinner. Whilst choosing the waiting staff would stand at the table waiting for you to decide. We complained to the hotel manager stating that this was there 1st hotel we had ever stayed in where we had to decide what we wanted to eat for the entire day 1st thing in the morning. The food turned out to be very poor. Issues included;

- Use of prepackaged foods.
- Repetitive menu and hor deurves.
- Rude waiting staff.
- Mosquitos and flies in restaurant.
- Burnt veal steak which was raw in the middle.

In the end 2 of our party stopped eating at the hotel and dined elsewhere.

There are many more minor issues which we had with the hotel. To summarise we had a really nice week in Alassio which was let down by the quality of this hotel.

I would recommend looking at some of the other 3 & 4 star hotels that over look the beach front. There were also other 3 star hotels back from the sea front which seemed to make more effort to keep their guests happy.

  • Liked — The town
  • Disliked — Hotel Resteraunt
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a hotel on the beachfront.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank COBSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alassio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ligure
Hotel Ligure
#15 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa & Concordia
Hotel Europa & Concordia
#43 of 50 in Alassio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
Grand Hotel Mediterranee
#22 of 50 in Alassio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#21 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
#6 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#19 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Saraceno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Saraceno Hotel

Property: Al Saraceno Hotel
Address: Corso Europa 64, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alassio
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alassio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Saraceno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Saraceno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Saraceno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing