We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long awaited 2nd visit - outstanding stay”
Review of Hotel Tirreno

Hotel Tirreno
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alassio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tirreno
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Long awaited 2nd visit - outstanding stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Tirreno. We first visited with our children around 10 years ago and always meant to come back. We got the opportunity to do so this year. The Tirreno was recently refurbished (maybe 3 years ago?) and any reviews from before then should be read with this in mind.

Our room on the front of the hotel with sea view and balcony was large enough for 2 and with a small but not cramped bathroom. Good shower and modern clean fittings. Nice little balcony with table and chairs and it was lovely to sit here in the early evening with a glass of wine.

The bed was very comfortable - we didn't need airconditioning but this was available.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the owner's wife is very friendly and ready to help with recommendations, directions, maps etc. The owner himself is helpful and will book a restaurant for you on request. Beach towels were provided with no problem. You pay for beach chairs, beds and parasols (1 price for all) per day and this is added to your bill at the end.

Alassio is a great spot and the Tirreno is a really good base to stay and explore the delights of the Italian Riviera. We hope to be back before another 10 years passes!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay the small extra charge for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treaclebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

In Hotel Tirreno there is no book in the bedroom explaining the times things are available, what services are in offer etc - simply because there's no need for it. The staff can tell you anything you want to know at any time - everything is simple and stress-free. The private beach is available during your stay and towels are there when you ask for them. There is a reason why people go back again and again. Only difficulty - our bathroom was narrow and small, with a basic shower (but this kind of thing is reflected in the 3 star rating (I think)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We recently returned to Hotel Tirreno for the 8th or 9th time. The bedrooms and have been refurbished since our last visit two years ago. The owners are friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the beach so perfect for a sun holiday. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatCOrk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have been a regular guest to Tirreno and this was our third trip to Alassio. Our family has grown since the first visit, but luckily the owners have managed to refurbish and open the residence part of the hotel since our last stay three years back. The residence (and the hotel) is excellent stay for those who value easy living in Italian style with suberb access to private beach and multiple excellent dining opportunities nearby. The hotel is surrounded by small alleys which limits the passing traffic to minimum. The residence is extremely clean and well managed. Wonderfull facilities inlcuding play room, loundry room, small gym, etc.

As we are not staying at the hotel side this time, we are not enjoying the nice sea view that many of the hotel rooms do.

Our room accommodates easily the whole family (parents plus kids ageds 1, 3 and 5). Really a place that can be recommended to anyone having small children and enjoying genuine Italian holiday lifestyle.

Room Tip: Be early, this is a popular place among locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reissuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We initally booked the Tirreno Hotel t in the last minutes through a Travel company 8 years ago and have been going back our selves for 4 -5 days stays every year to this family run Hotel
The hotel is basic but spotlessly clean bright and airy Bathrooms are on small side We have always requested a balcony room at front of hotel which gives view of beach Bacony small but adaquate
The beautiful sandy priviate beach is just across a small single lane road ,which is used mainly for deliveries
There are bicycles supplied by the hotel for guests to use any time
Sunbeds can be booked from reception
Breakfast is good value ,It is Bed and Breakfast bases only The owners wife speaks 4 languages and has excellent knowledge of tourist spots and restaurants
The owner is laid back with a good sense of humour when one gets to know him
We feel very comfortable in this hotel and the area is a place to to totally relax
Have told frends about this hotel they visited on our recommendation and have not been disappointed and like our selves are going back
Good value for money

  • Liked — Bright airy , friendliness So close to beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MiloDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Tirreno a few years ago in high season. Rooms are very basic but clean. The location is probably what keeps this hotel in business as the staff - particularly the owner, Federico - are not very helpful and have a slightly Basil Fawlty-ish weary attitude towards their clientele, as in "now what do you want?". When we stayed there, it was marketed (rightly) as a budget hotel but I see they're now charging through the nose for a week there - NOT worth €750 a week, friends. Buffet breakfast was good - cold meats, cheese, bread, stewed prunes for the Germans, cereal, juice, tea/coffee. We had a first floor room with balcony overlooking the sea and were delighted. With the view, that is. The room itself was poky and not very nicely done up with the tiniest bathroom you've ever seen (and my hubs is 6 feet 4!) but the view definitely compensated. No airconditioning and temperatures in the 30s meant we had to leave our balcony doors open at night for some air. With dire results - woke up one morning to find our mobiles, some jewelry, cash, walkman, camera were missing. I found my handbag out on the balcony, upturned with my credit cards flung on the floor - obviously no use to the thief. The creepiest thing was my watch had been taken from bedside locker as I slept and the thought that someone had been standing there when you're at your most vulnerable was very upsetting indeed. We reported it to the owner and his response was so jaw-droppingly dismissive - "everything is possible" was all he said - that we vowed never to set foot in this place again. We reported it to the local cops, and they were equally dismissive despite my speaking quite good italian so I was able to communicate. Turns out that there are local gypsies in the nearby mountains who come down to the resort at night and break into the hotels. Alassio itself has wonderful beaches, which you must pay to get into but your receive chairs or a lounger & parasol for a daily rate. Food is very repetitive, all the restaurants do the same tourist menus which is frustrating if you're an adventurous eater - "meat, fish or chicken with veg" is not the most exciting enticement to dine, is it? That is literally what was written on a lot of menus. We found a great little place up the mountains which made up in atmosphere what it lacked in the food stakes. Half way through the holiday we decided to forget any expectation of interesting italian cooking. But for basics such as lasagne, bolognese etc it's ok. Ironically our best night was the last one, when we stumbled across a mexican restaurant and ended up playing guitar and singing along with two young italian musicians, slamming tequilas "vai, vai" and finally, chowing on some tasty nosh. To sum up the Tirreno, if you leave aside uncaring staff, basic accomodation and possibility of being robbed, it's an ok place. But only just.

Stayed August 2003
Helpful?
19 Thank Daphnegabalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alassio hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2005

I stayed at the Tirreno with my husband and 2 young children (9 and 7). The location was excellent, right on the beach, only a single lane quiet road to cross, which was ideal for the children. The rooms had air conditioning and a fridge and, ok so they weren't luxurious, but not bad for the price. The rooms at the left hand side of the hotel (as seen from the beach) were superior to those on the right. Breakfasts were plentiful and the staff courteous (but not overly friendly). A good budget hotel in a fantastic resort, with an excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank treaclebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alassio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Sejour
Hotel Beau Sejour
#40 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lamberti
Hotel Lamberti
#24 of 50 in Alassio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#27 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
Grand Hotel Spiaggia
#4 of 50 in Alassio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#2 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#12 of 50 in Alassio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirreno

Property: Hotel Tirreno
Address: Passeggiata Luigi Cadorna 24, 17021 Alassio, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Alassio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Alassio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirreno 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Alassio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing