We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting restaurant with innovative kitchen and nice quiet ambiance”
Review of Papei da Turta

Papei da Turta
Ranked #15 of 202 Restaurants in Alassio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Newly renovated room with an open kitchen to offer a menu of territory, combining tradition and creativity.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We visited this restaurant for the first time and were positively surprised. The food was innovative without exaggeration. The place is quite small, so reservation is recommended. The winelist is moderate with many affordably really nice wines. I would recommend this restaurant for grown up visitors with a great interest in food and wine.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 531 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2016

With all my reviews of Papei da Turta, you might think I have a stake in it. Not at all. I just admire someone who has genuine talent and continues to evolve. Plenty of people can read music; but few can play the notes in a way that you will never forget. Just because food is presented beautifully doesn't mean it will taste sublime. The chef fully understands the Ligurian soul of the dishes she was brought up with. But she has both the skill and artistry to make them sing and resonate with some new insights.

It continues to be a simple restaurant without pretense. The wine selection is quite limited-but the choices are very good ones. The prices are very fair for the excellent ingredients and subtle combinations.

On a quiet night, there may not be a waiter/waitress; only the chef bringing the dishes to your table.precisely when they are ready. While the operation is very lean, it all makes sense. Everything we ordered-tonight-and every night has brought smiles to our faces.

We happen to make Alassio our vacation base. But if we were a hundred miles or more up or down the coast, it would make perfect sense to include a trip here for one of those meals you will be thinking about for many months to come. We continue to write Michelin every year that they would be wise to include this restaurant in their Guida. One of these times they will. Their readers and the chef deserve that recognition.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Traditional Ligurian food is often excellent, incorporating healthy and premium local ingredients. But it can also be a bit repetitive and boring. Whether a local restaurant typically caters to tourists or locals, the menus and preparations tend to become locked into an inflexible routine. The menus all look nearly identical.

This is my fifth review of this fine and evolving restaurant. My enthusiasm is focused on the talent and intelligence shown in combining a respect for the historical repertoire with the courage and conviction to modify those recipes to refresh and reinterpret them. The results range from interesting to brilliant. We have never been disappointed here.

This is a cozy and welcoming venue, whether you are a local or a transient. It is informal and inviting, and you have the added benefit of excellent value in both the food and wine. One of these days, Michelin should get around to recognizing it as the special type of place deserving of a Bib Gourmand rating. You heard it here first!

From starters, through first and second courses, to desserts expect to be pleased. The wine selections are limited, but enjoyable. Culinary passion and value are a rare combination-to be encouraged.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2015

Anywhere in Liguria, you are not far from some fresh and simply prepared seafood of high quality. But you can count the number of truly original and passionately creative restaurants on perhaps two hands. I have written several reviews of this restaurant, and each time we return it gets better.

You will certainly meet the chef-owner and see her and her colleague working in their small and immaculate kitchen through a large glass panel. For a small restaurant, there is a surprisingly large variety of choices for appetizer, first and second courses. Also, perhaps three or four handcrafted desserts. The wine list is thoughtfully assembled to include some excellent representatives of the many regions of Italy-and at fair prices. It is a small, cozy place inheriting much of the spirit of the budello.

While we love all the sea's bounty, we also enjoy meat and poultry, and they are prepared here with elegance and flair. The chef is not afraid to use seasonings and ingredients not typically found in the Ligurian kitchen, but she still has great respect and understanding of local traditions. Like a truly good painter or musician, she will bring you new insights and culinary experiences. In a major city, you would (should) expect to pay considerably more for this caliber of cooking.

If you come here, come with an open mind and heart. The odds are you will experience something new and beautiful.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2014

We have been there with another couple. It was late but the service was very good. Very nice food (the cook arrived 2nd in hell's kintchen Italy) and particular. Therefor a bit expensive as well.Place to visit again to try other dishes.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papei da Turta also viewed

Alassio, Italian Riviera
Alassio, Italian Riviera
 
Alassio, Italian Riviera
Alassio, Italian Riviera
 
Alassio, Italian Riviera
Alassio, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Papei da Turta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing