We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of B&B Portatenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Portatenea
Ranked #14 of 224 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Clean, quite, a lot of space, good breakfast, correct price, good location and helpful people.
Television, internet access. City centre but not noisy because double glass or more (in some rooms).
This is really a good place to stay.
Book in advance as there is a lot of people passing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for B&B Portatenea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one night here.
People were very nice, it was clean and well decorated.
Our room was very quiet, no noise from the street.
It was great to have breakfast on the roof.
Location is great in the city center and you can quite easily find free and safe parking nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I would definitely recommend this B&B. Clean, fresh, warm (we especially appreciated the down-duvets as it was snowing when there!) wi-fi in room and friendly hosts. Good price too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaTandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

a truly wonderful place with a really high standard of accommodation, well located, with a beautiful terrace, and where we got a warm welcome. the breakfast wasn't up to the high standard offered by the place, but that was a very minor disappointment. i would definitely go back and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceciletravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We are a french thirty years old couple and have travelled all around Sicilia for 4 weeks last August. This B&B in Agrigente was the best we ever test! We had a reduction of 10 percent thanks to our guide "the routard" and were totally surprised by the quality versus the accessible price. Very well situated in the heart of the city, nice sight on the temples from the terrasse (possibility to have some binoculars to see the landscape). The breakfast was very nice and not too early, the room was large, well decorated, the bed was perfect and clean. The bathroom also. We felt like in a luxury modern hotel, very quiet inside whereas its situation in the city. The young owners were polite and welcomy and gave us some advice in french to enjoy our journey. It was also easy to park our car in the street and to go to the riserva dello zingaro, the valle dei templi and the scala dei turchi... For sure, the most romantic part of our trip!!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Estelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This is a small B&B (5 rooms) that is run by a young couple who live on the same floor as the reception area. They care very much that you have a good stay and are very helpful. When we got there and buzzed at the door, the gentleman who owns it came down to help us with our luggage (2 flights of stairs, no elevator, not a big deal). He then gave us a map of the area and recommended all sorts of things. Our room was very large on the corner and had 2 balconies. It was very quiet at night despite being off a main shopping road because there are double windows and the metal saranda shades that roll down between the windows. The room had an A/C and seemed quite new. The bathroom was a good size and very clean and new as well. The top floor is a roof top terrace where breakfast is served. It has a view of the Valley of the Temples and is a lovely place to sit and see the city. The breakfast was small but very filling. There was juice, mini canolli, yogurt, cereal and a new fresh fruit each day (only place that had that in the 2 weeks we were in Italy). They also had delicious croissants that had a sweet glaze on them as well. I liked that all of the lights in the hallways were on motion sensors. It really was a lovely place and the couple that run it are so helpful and friendly.

The only downsides were our TV had mostly fuzzy channels so we didn't really watch it, there is no phone in the room, and there wasn't reallly enough of the combo soap/shampoo packets for me and my long hair, but it wasn't that big of a deal really.

Overall great place for a great price, 5 minute walk from the bus station, close to lots of shops ad restaurants and a park, but still quiet inside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aburton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

A very nice room with a beautiful balcony. It was very quiet to sleep thanks to the double windows. Very nice rooftop terrace with a view on the valley of the temples. Breakfast was good, with bread, yoghurt and fruit. We had a nice stay for a very nice price!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelies_Saron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.9 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,204 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
2.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camere a Sud
Camere a Sud
#12 of 224 in Agrigento
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#3 of 224 in Agrigento
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Portatenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Portatenea

Address: Via Atenea 2 | Angolo via Cesare Battisti, 2, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few metres from the railway and bus stations, you'll find Portatenea B&B ready to offer you the excitement of being in the centre of the city. A just restored structure waiting to welcome you in a refined atmosphere with 5 wide and bright rooms provided with elegant furniture and comfortable furnishings: air-conditioning, private bathroom, air-conditioning, TV, hair dryer, internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Portatenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Portatenea Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing