We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, needs help though”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Demetra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demetra Resort
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place, needs help though”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This "resort" could be so much better. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the place was very clean and well-cared for, but it's in the middle of nowhere with very few amenities. The restaurant is closed Mondays (our arrival day), so for dinner, we had to get back in the car after touring all day. The breakfast was quite lean - not much choice and not much of what was there (and the coffee was terrible). There is no pool (it desperately needs one) and there was no ice available at the bar (or the rest of the hotel apparently). We were supposed to stay for a couple of nights but asked them if we could change to their sister resort (Dioscuri Bay) for the rest of our stay - they at least had a pool and you could walk to other restaurants. Put a pool in and run the food service better and this would be a fantastic resort. As it is, it just left a "what-if" taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohninTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
92
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed one night and the hotel was not full. Despite other reviewer comments we found it easy to find and a great location- one mile to the valley of temples and a short drive to the other 4 star associated hotel with big pool on the ocean. lovely outside patio off each bedroom and fab breakfast - all at a good price.
mangoman

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

As already mentioned, this is not a "resort." There's no pool, no activities, no recreation, there's not even a restaurant running for dinner. Nonetheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is set amid tree groves and fields, with a beautiful tumble of bright red and gold lantana surrounding the terrace that runs along the perimeter of the rooms. So it was lovely to look out on something other than buildings and to walk around the grounds, even though we could hear the traffic from the highway nearby. Breakfast was more than adequate. We had no trouble finding the location, there is a large parking lot with room to unload at check-in, and the site is not far (by car) from the archaeological park. The room was comfortable, well appointed, and not cramped for two. What really made the stay memorable was the desk staff, a charming young man who went out of his way to be helpful and accommodating. The hotel also safely stored our luggage while we were out exploring and swimming at the Turkish steps. There are resident cats and dogs, which, for us, added to the homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RgrGTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed two nights at Demetra Resort in April 2011. We came here to visit the famed Valley of the Temples. The hotel is well-maintained, spotless, and provides good breakfasts in their large up-scale dining room. The hotel is a short drive to the Valley of the Temples.

Our room was spacious, in good condition and clean, comfortably furnished, quiet, and with a modern en suite bathroom. Our room opened onto a patio with lounge chairs in which we had our evening wine and cheese. Parking is safe and easy in the parking lot in front. The lobby is pleasant and there is a computer with internet access available for guests. There was always someone who spoke English at the front desk. On our two nights at Demetra, we ate at Leon d’Oro on the road from Demetra to San Leone Lido and in San Leone Lido at Il Pescatore on the shore road. Both were good and reasonably priced.

When visiting the Valley of the Temples, park your car in the lower parking lot, take a taxi to the upper entry, and walk the site from top to bottom, exiting back to your car. Bring water.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We like this hotel very much, despite some difficulties. It was hard to find because of inadequate signage. We chose this hotel thinking we'd be close enough to walk to the Valley of the Temples, as we didn't arrive by car. But because of the superhighway, we really couldn't walk there, so we had to take a taxi anyway. The hotel is quite distant from the old town, and there was no choice of restaurants within walking distance. Plus our our room was somewhat inconveniently designed. The clothes closet was on the first floor and the bedroom and bathroom were in the loft, so there was a lot of stair-climbing.
That said, we appreciated many things about the hotel. The service was very friendly, the public rooms and gardens were lovely, the restaurant had excellent food, we enjoyed our spacious suite with its private patio, and we appreciated the free computer use. The staff are very caring and have adopted some local stray dogs and cats, which we appreciated. We would definitely stay here again, now that we know what to expect as far as location and amenities.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to specify a one-floor room, without a loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corydalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

What to say...the hotel was beautiful, clean. The rooms were big and well furnished and so were the bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was great with good variety (fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked viennoiseries....YUMMY! The staff was fluent in several languages and very accomodating. They always greeted their guests with a warm smile. The surrounding gardens immaculate and the views of the Valley of the Temples at night were truly memorable. Highly recommended. Indeed it is a little hard to find with the signs along the highways a little misleading, but once you arrive ...well worth the stay. We went to eat at a gem of a restaurant...five star food and service... 2 star price...it is called "il re di girgenti" about 10 min ride towards the temples.

Room Tip: they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40something2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in the Demetra resort hotel for 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 kids. The rooms are certainly ok (large bedroom for the parents, small separate bedroom for the first child, and one extra sofabed in the living room for the second child + small terrace with chairs) and the personnel at the reception is helpful and friendly. It is also positive that you can use the (large and nice) swimming pool (including towels, shower,...) of the sister hotel Dioscuri ( approximately 10' drive very close to the sea)
The surroundings (garden) however look neglected. The breakfast room looks cheap (kind of insulation material against the ceiling) and the breakfast itself does not have the level of a 4 star hotel. The bread for example was always finished around 09.30 h (while the breakfast time lasted till 10.00 h). The children loved the cats and the kittens, but I can imagine that not everybody likes to see cats walking through the breakfast room.
There was no restaurant service in the hotel, but you can eat at the Dioscuri hotel. We did that the first evening, but it was disappointing in terms of quality of the food and in terms of atmosphere/location (cheap, not cosy, almost empty,...). The waiter however was extremely kind and helpful. The Demetra resort hotel is not bad, but it certainly does not have the level of a 4 star hotel. The location is not ideal (close to a motor way), but ok to visit the temples.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_vandervorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
0.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
3.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetra Resort

Property: Demetra Resort
Address: Contrada Forgia, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Demetra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Demetra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demetra Hotel Agrigento
Demetra Resort Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing