We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, home like oasis.”
Review of Oceano & Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano & Mare
Ranked #37 of 210 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, home like oasis.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We were relieved to stay here. It was out of the congested touristy areas. Overlooking the beach. We walked to the beach (uncrowded). The bus stop is nearby, but we ended up renting a car because its not a scary area to drive and we wanted to see all the sites. Breakfast was better than most of the places we stayed in our month long trip. Everyone was friendly and helpful, especially Salvo! There are several small yellow signs directing the way on the telephone poles- keep an eye out for them or simply call Salvo for help. (We told bus driver where we were staying and he dropped us off). We ended up extending our stay here and were completely relaxed. Excellent wi fi connection, comfortable rooms with multiple language cable service. Personal fridge also. Litter is all over southern Italy and Sicily; The B & B is HOSPITAL clean! Definitely would stay again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistresshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    74
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siracusa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

free parking, room in private house near beach (walk down the mountain) selfservice breakfast (old bread, but good roaster) and excellent coffee. value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank P.E. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Oceano and Mare was to be a 4 night relaxation period at the end of our somewhat hectic holiday in mainland Italy and Sicily. we were really looking froward to our stay there. I think our expectations were high based on the reviews on this website, and maybe we had read more into it than we should have. I see now that some reviewers say that a car is advised, and that I can confirm. We were on public transport and when we asked about the B and B in Agrigento, no one had heard of it including the bus drivers. I had read somehwere to catch the bus to the beach area, so that's what we did. We phoned the Oceano, and Salvo the owner came and picked us up, which at the time I thought was a nice gesture but had he not done that then we would never have arrived. Yes you deffinately need a car here.
We were shown our room which although very clean was a bit of a dungeon with no view. (again, I was expecting a room with a balcony but maybe that was my fault). One thing we found unacceptable was that there was a fridge in the bathroom with milk for breakfast-this is not a good idea in a bathroom where toilet tissue has to be put in a bin near to the fridge.
Just after we arrived, another guest barged into our room and this may have been a mistake but it happened a second time when i had gone out of the house to hang out some washing, and after returning from our first evening out we came back to find our door open.
I acknowledge that all of these thing are fairly minor, but they were adding up and we were feeling uncomfortable here.

This place is not really B and B, it is self catering with a shared kitchen, which is nothing more than a narrow passage which is impossible if there are more than 2 guest in there. again, we are not really breakfast eaters so could have lived with that.

On our second day we walked through what some people have refered to as a field (which now due to fly tipping as a protest to the local government, is actually more of a rubbish tip and quite unpleasant) in order to catch a bus at the beach to go to the Temples. We got on the bus but were not allowed to ride because we didn't have a ticket. This seems to be Sicilian logic, you can only buy a ticket at the place you want to go too. I,m afraid at this time we felt we had made a mistake in staying here so we went back to the Oceano and discussed with Salvo that we would check out. To be fair, after some discussion we agreed to pay our first nights fee together with the commission that he would have been charged on the 4 nights by Late rooms, so that was amicable although both parties lost out to some extent.
We wouldn't want to put people off of staying here and if you have a car and sat nav then all very good. Salvo was welcoming and friendly and I think is trying to do a good job but maybe we just had an unfortunate series of experiences.
just one last point, the promotion suggests there is a mini bar in the rooms_ there ain't!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmesburyDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Like when we visited on the 25th Sept. 2011 and on the 2nd. Jan. 2012, and on the 27th. May 2012 again we found the B&B very clean and quite. Very affordable with self service breakfast at no set time. Salvatore is a great host and extremely welcoming! Obviously it's best to have own transport with sat nav.

Room Tip: ideally with an unobstructed window view but what counts is that it is clean and quite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vassalo_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this charming hotel right in front of the sea. Just walk down the hill and you are on the beach. And it's a 10 minutes drive from Valle dei Templi. There are also plenty of good restaurants close by. The owners are extremely welcoming and easilly reachable for any kind of problem, information request etc. throughout the day. There are enough parking spots for every guest, which is certainly not a given in this area. The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with silent ACs. Breakfast is on self-service in a shared kitchen space, so you are not obliged to get up that early :) There is even a fridge in your room that is refilled daily with breakfast supplies. We had spent hours searching on the internet to find the right place and we were more than happy with our choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELINA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Once we found this place we were pleased that we had a great place to relax and enjoy the sea after viewing the "Temples". We picked up samdwiches and wine and walked through the field to the beach where we had a picnic while watching a beautiful sunset. FREE Parking was a plus (but be forwarned...the HILL is very steep!) Slavo was a great host, with great advice on the area's attractions. Breakfast was self-serve with planty of choices. Room was clean and quiet and the bathroom was huge and very clean. Decor is a bit bright.....but it was attractive!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memeresboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILNIUS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The B&B was really nice. And also it's good that breakfast is self serviced and at time you want. So no problem if you want to leave early.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank D0natas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
1.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
B&B Villa Cetta
B&B Villa Cetta
#1 of 24 in San Leone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#3 of 210 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B San Leone
B&B San Leone
#2 of 24 in San Leone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Villa Adriana
B&B Villa Adriana
#15 of 210 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B le Notti di Morfeo
B&B le Notti di Morfeo
#33 of 210 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano & Mare

Property: Oceano & Mare
Address: Via Caterina d'Altavilla 35 | San Leone, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceano & Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceano&Mare Bed and Breakfast is situated in Agrigento, in the beach resort of San Leone, within 200 metres of a sand beach and 3 km from the Valley of the Temples. The rooms in Oceano&Mare have private bathroom with shower and air conditioning. Oceano & Mare is a cozy bed and breakfast located in Agrigento, just a few steps from golden sandy beach of San Leone, near the Valley of the Temples and the Museum of Archeology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Oceano & Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano & Mare Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing