We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in a Gem of a City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Terrazze di Montelusa
Ranked #1 of 214 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Gem of a City”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Several guide books that we read said there was nothing much to see in Agrigento aside from the Archeological Park and to avoid the city. What a mistake that would have been! Instead we chose to stay at Terrazze di Montelusa , right in the heart of the city and we are so glad we did.
Francesco was the best host! Although the hotel is hard to find, he was waiting for us outside when we arrived and personally found us a parking space, moving his car and directing us all the way. Out room was beautiful as was the restored-to-perfection building.
Before we went anywhere, Francesco gave us a history and map tour of the city and the building, showing us family pictures in his office. We really loved the elegance of the palazzo and the way Francesco has decorated it.
The room was so restful and beautifully appointed. The breakfast room and the food were great and Agrigento was a wonderful surprise. From the b and b, we walked to the downtown and toured the jewel-like opera house. The bus to the Archeological Park was in walking distance. Francesco gave us directions and hints every day that enhanced our enjoyment of the area.
The Park is so spectacular that we were awe-struck and remain so when we look at our pictures from our terrific visit. Do not skip Agrigento or Terrazze di Montelusa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrockNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    50
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
135
536
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This bed and breakfast is very honest. You have to carry your bags up to the second floor and there is no lift. Once you get there you are receptioned by Francesco, the owner who is the most charming man. Cultivated and very nice, he has decorated the hotel with objects of art and the rooms are all different but just as charming.
Francesco was the best thing that happened to us in Agrigento.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinaheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Terrazze di Montelusa Bed and Breakfast only one night and this was enough to see the value of this nice place. Francesco, the owner, is a friendly man with a lot of knowledge about the city and its history. We truly enjoyed this place and we will definitely go back if we are in Agrigento again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A great location in Agrigento and you could not ask for a more friendly and helpful host than Francesco. He spent a good while explaining insider tips and recommendation for our three day stay, and even moved our car for us (after we inadvertently parked in someone else's space). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was generous and delicious and fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There have been over 500 five star reviews of Terrazze di Montalusa in terms of its
physical beauty, gorgeous views, lovely rooms, beautiful breakfast and the extensiveness
of Francesco's hospitality. The reviews are 100% accurate. The Valley of the Temples
especially when the almond trees are blooming which they were, is magical. The town
itself has an ancient mystical quality- especially if you take the steps up toward the Duomo or the Monastero Di Santo Spirito and allow yourself to get "lost" in maze of stone streets.
I am a "people person" and when you listen to Francesco converse with his cats,Ginger and Pilu and observe how he interacts with such tenderness, you see a man's soul, filled with
goodness and tinged with sorrow. My husband and I were honored and touched when
Francesco's memories from childhood were shared for no other reason than we had time
for meaningful conversation and chose this as an important part of our cultural experience.
Thank you Francesco- we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturalbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Francesco is a fantastic host - he helped us park our car, recommended the best restaurants, advised us how to get about by bus (very useful, as once we had parked our car, we weren't keen to try to try and extract it to take it to the ruins). Francesco offered to upgrade us to a suite at no extra charge. The breakfast was lovely. The weather was cold and rainy while we were there, so we weren't able to use the terraces, but they are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Agree with all the positive reviews here. Terrazze di Montelusa (although a little tricky to get to, if driving into town), is an incredibly well run establishment. Francesco couldn't be nicer, more accomodating, or more interested in your well being. The B&B has been in his family for generations, and is impeccably maintained. The rooms are gorgeous, huge, and extremely comfortable. The temples are only a 10 minute drive away, very easy to get to with a map provided by Francesco. Look no further, this is where to stay!

If you plan on driving, give Francesco a heads up when you're nearby so he can be sure to arrange the tight parking spots for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyDocInSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
3.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#2 of 214 in Agrigento
182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#6 of 214 in Agrigento
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Terrazze di Montelusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Terrazze di Montelusa

Property: B&B Terrazze di Montelusa
Address: Piazza Lena 6, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Terrazze di Montelusa is the result of the renovation of a mansion belonging to our family since 1822 (Casa Messina Bonfiglio), in the historical center of Agrigento. We offer three larger bedrooms, one suite and one junior suite. All of them are furnished with style and equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms, TV, mini-bar, direct phone line and internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrazze Di Montelusa b&b
Terrazze Di Montelusa Hotel Agrigento
B&B Terrazze Di Montelusa Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing