We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of communication on parking and arrival”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Camere a Sud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camere a Sud
Ranked #12 of 204 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lack of communication on parking and arrival”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Although we had notified the owner that we would arrive about 5PM, we were delayed by terrible traffic and there was no parking available because it was a Saturday night. We arrived at 7:46PM. However, we had an email from the owner that said in bold print "latest check in time: 8:00PM". We got to the B&B and there was no one there to let us in. We had to call and message the owner who did finally call back and said she would meet us. When we met her she seemed upset at us and told us that check in time was 7:30PM and that she was tired of guests who arrive late. I showed her a copy of the email she sent us that said latest check in is 8:00PM. She then said they had changed the time to 7:30 after she had sent us the earlier email. We expected an apology for her mistake and negative attitude toward us but did not receive one.
On a positive note, the breakfast was good and the location is excellent. However the bed was too firm for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafayettehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    81
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
76
208
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a charming B&B with an equally charming host in Ignazio who was incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations (and transport to the bus station the morning we left!). He and his wife Elvira go to great lengths to ensure that visitors have all the information they need - as soon as you book you receive detailed instructions as to how to find them. The accommodation is designed with the same attention and flair, though my husband's one complaint (not voiced to Ignazio at the time) was that there were no extra pillows in the room and the bed was perhaps a little short and springy! The bathroom was spotless and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siriolhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

my travelling tour of italy starts from agrigento. “camere a sud” in the heart of old town, it's a warm place. room was clean and breakfast delicious. it is just minutes walk from the train and bus station. very nice hosts, speaking a perfect english! see you soon

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lucas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This b&b is run by a hard-working couple who sent us thorough directions on reaching their place, and were on hand when we checked in with their suggestions on the area (in English). The room was clean and comfortable. The location, a short walk to both the train station and bus station, and near a small grocery store, was perfect for our needs. They provide a refrigerator for community use as well as a computer with a slow connection (which we needed because we couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work). Breakfast was abundant and generous and delicious. We had to catch an early bus on our second day so we were going to have to miss breakfast and they owners were kind enough to pack us a breakfast to go. At 59 euros a night for a double, this was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We were received with warm and care
We were a family of six and felt at home
Bathroom had space and were very clean Also the room were very clean

Excellent localization

Tripadvisor should help us on counting the 200words , so you can receive my single comments

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

pros: 1.great location...camere a sud is in the center of a historical district with lots of shopping and food.
2. great price with quality accomodations and includes a nice breakfast
3. our room included a balcony overlooking shops, street and nightlife

cons:1. off the beaten path...a little difficult to find after our GPS disconnected
2. our bathroom was small, but we made it work
3. our room was a little noisy and i found it hard to fall asleep because of all the foot traffic

In summary, we - a party of 5, were very pleased with the accomodations and would stay at camere a sud again next time in Agrigento

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've been in Europe for one year and truly realized there is no place like home, until staying in Camere a Sud in Agrigento. While Agrigento is a charming town with very welcoming people, I will never forget my experience staying at Camere a Sud under the warm hospitality of Elvira's family and staff. I was in Agrigento with colleagues for an emergency project, not only was our stay there unplanned and last minute, we also had colleagues leaving us and joining us in different numbers everyday. Elvira was so understanding and receptive of our needs, it didn't feel like she was doing her job, but like she was part of our team. She offered us bedroom changes as our group adjusted daily, warm breakfast everyday, and even moral support on our long and tiring days. The house is so beautifully decorated, the bedrooms clean and cozy, wifi and a common room computer for anyone to use. Upstairs is a gorgeous patio that takes in perfect sunlight and offers a view of the neighborhoods Sicilian rooftop gardens. It truly feels like home away from home, I can't wait to go back on a vacation and relax there!

Thank you Elvira and Family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMehary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
3.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#7 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#2 of 204 in Agrigento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Portatenea
B&B Portatenea
#14 of 204 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere a Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere a Sud

Property: Camere a Sud
Address: Via Ficani 6, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camere a Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended from Guide du Routard, Lonely Planet Italy, Rough Guide, Petit Fute, Touring Club Italiano-Tracce. The Bed & Breakfast Camere a Sud is a charming apartment recently remodeled and refurnished, located in the historical centre of Agrigento, in a quiet narrow street behind a picturesque little square, right off the main street of the city. From here guests can visit the Valle dei Templi valley or the Cathedral, as well as numerous historic sites and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camere a Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere a Sud Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing