We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La dolce vita”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agrigento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Giardino della Rupe B&B
Ranked #154 of 212 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Sheboygan, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La dolce vita”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We loved staying with Salvatore. His wife and son were great, too. Big room, great view, good food, (much of it organically grown right there). Homemade Limoncello for a nightcap... the sweet life it was!

Room Tip: quiet, out of the way, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni22n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salpassarello, Proprietario at Il Giardino della Rupe B&B, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thanks a lot for your comment and we would like for you "sweet life" too, because it's important to have friends all around the world and share with them the good things that life offer to everybody!
Lot of happiness to you and hope to see you again!
Kisses.
Nerella & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while in Agrigento after finding the B&B randomly while driving around the city looking for accommodation- we were unlucky enough to arrive in Agrigento during the afternoon when most things shut during siesta and Salvatore was the only person to open his door to us. We were initially struck by his friendliness and hospitality and he gave us some information about the city. The room was pretty simple but nice and served its purpose- the highlight was definitely its balcony which looked out over the city with some beautiful views as the house is situated on top of the hill. When we arrived one of the first things Salvatore said was that he and his wife would love to cook us some local cuisine the following night to make us feel welcome. Neither my boyfriend nor I would consider ourselves naive, and when we talked about it afterwards we both felt 100% that the offer seemed like a genuine (if surprising) friendly gesture. We accepted and the following night ate with him and his family. The food was nice, nothing amazing or particularly memorable but we enjoyed the evening all the same. Nothing more was said of it, we thanked them profusely for their generosity, then the next day literally at the last minute when we had our bags in the car and were saying goodbye to Salvatore, he asked for 40 euro for the meal. We were completely shocked as he had portrayed it from the first as a gesture of hospitality. I was pretty annoyed and told Salvatore he should be making it clear to guests at the very beginning, when making the offer, that he expected money for it. We also strongly felt that 40 euro was an awful lot of money for what we got, and that if we'd known we were going to be expected to pay for it we would rather have gone to a nice restaurant and gotten better food for less money. I told Salvatore as much so he quickly dropped his request to 30 euro. We didn't want to make a fuss so we paid it but it left a bitter taste in our mouths and ruined an otherwise pleasant stay for us, and also created an unfortunate picture of Salvatore as money-grabbing and opportunistic, deliberately setting out to mislead tourists. Overall, the accommodation was nice but marred by Salvatore.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Salvatore & Nerella are very good hosts. We spent 2 days with them. We also took a dinner with them at a very good price and we ate an excellently sweet sword fish.

We had a very beautiful vista from our balcony over the Temples Valley and over the Meditterenian Sea. Il Giardino della Rupe lies on the highest top of Agrigento and you can imagine what a panorama we had.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We spent three nights with Nerella and Salvatore who made us feel right at home. Our room was spacious with an amazing view of the Valley of the Temples. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was small but more than adequate.
We were able to leave our car parked in front of the B&B and walk into the main downtown area where we took a bus to the temples. This is very useful since, as Salvatore said when we met him: "Agrigento has no streets" - it actually does have streets, but they're narrow and difficult to navigate. The B&B is located at the highest point of Agrigento, offering a view of the city, the sea and the temples. The walk to the city center is about 10 minutes- a bit longer to get back as it is an uphill climb.
We definitely suggest Il Giardino della Rupe for the location, the comfortable rooms and especially the friendly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Salvatore made us feel very welcome in his lovely home and even cooked us a wonderful dinner. The view over his garden, encompasses the whole town since it is perched up on the hill. A great walk if you enjoy walking holidays! Unfortunately, construction works started at eight am next door so no late mornings but there is much to see at the museum as well as the ruins.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cometes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We greatly enjoyed staying in this beautiful location on the top of a hill overlooking Agrigento. Downtown was an easy walk away, and this location was quiet with a beautiful view of the temples in the distance.
Our hosts Nerella & Sal truly made us feel at home. They were warm and friendly - that made it one of our favorite Sicilian stays.
We took them up on their offer to make dinner for us, and we had a great feast of Sicilian food - Risotta, Sausages, Bread, well-cooked pork, and home-grown fruit. We enjoyed the conversations over dinner as well. In the morning, Sal served us a simple breakfast, but one of the nicest we had in Sicily. It helped that he made rich, hot chocolate for our teenagers - greatly enjoyed.
We only stayed one night, but the apartment that we stayed in would have served very well for a longer visit, with cooking facilities, a bedroom and sleeping room in the living room. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJenJoeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed in the B&B for 11 nights with my boyfriend, and it was a fantastic place to spend the holiday. The sorrunding nature, beaches and cities are fabulous, and il giardino della rupe is the nicest place to return to after a long day of swimming and sight seeing. The family is very relaxed and welcoming, and we immediately fell at home in their house: the great wiew from the balcony, fresh fruit and greek ruins in the garden, the hosts great cooking skills makes it a very recommendable place. We sure hope to return one day

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
4.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
3.0 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
5.2 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino della Rupe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino della Rupe B&B

Property: Il Giardino della Rupe B&B
Address: Via Minerva 20, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Della Rupe B&B Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing