We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient base for exploring Agrigento's antiquities & surrounding attractions by car; excellent staff and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colleverde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colleverde Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Convenient base for exploring Agrigento's antiquities & surrounding attractions by car; excellent staff and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

To preface my review I would like to say that the visit of my partner and me occurred during low tourist season, made even quieter by exceptionally cold February weather (eliciting complaints from local residents) and few other hotel guests, most of whom seemed briefly passing through Agrigento on business or to spend a day or two visiting the Valley of the Temples. I cannot say what the hotel would be like when busy during good weather and occupied full of tourists with a formal reception also proceeding in the extensive garden area. Furthermore, we spoke conversational Italian and used this even though staff generally spoke adequate English.

All the staff at reception, especially Stefania and Gerlando with whom we had the most contact, were pleasant, cooperative, friendly, helpful and obliging. They were always exceptionally responsive to any need we had for information or other assistance. At both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, Calogero the head waiter and his staff were pleasant, responsive, prompt and attentive. In all, the level of service we received from the people we dealt with during our stay would have done credit to a five-star hotel.

The hotel is located outside and below the historic center of town, on the way to the Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi). You could walk uphill to the center of town but might prefer to take the bus (reception will give you information).

The hotel building is "U" shaped with the two arms pointing towards the Valle dei Templi. The ground-floor lounge area beyond the reception counter (and on the way to the restaurant and garden) is attractive and comfortably appointed.

Running through the middle of floors 1 to 3, inclusive, which have accommodation, is a corridor with rooms on both sides; hence, views vary depending on the floor and location of the room on a particular floor. Many of the rooms face the hotel front-entrance parking area, main road and a hill. Some first floor rooms at the back will look out at greenery in the extensive garden with open- and (mainly) covered-reception areas. Some second floor back rooms might have a partial view of the temples but with most views probably interrupted by trees and other greenery. If you have selected the hotel for a view, the third floor back is best.

The two third-floor rooms at the far end of the arms have the best panorama towards the temples and the sea beyond. Room 326 is probably better than 302, as the latter might have a palm tree interrupting the view. Some side rooms in the arms have a partial view when you stand at the window.

There are two rooms on the fourth floor accessed by a spiral staircase from the third floor (as far as the lift-elevator goes). Back room 402 has a large terrace, with a table and chairs, and a clear view over the Valley of the Temples. Front room 404 opposite has a smaller terrace and faces the hill at the front of the hotel. We did not see inside these rooms. You can get a lovely view for photographs from the third floor roof.

Note that during high season when the hotel hosts social events such as wedding receptions, rooms at the back could be noisy. The free parking on hotel property could become a problem despite lower-level parking accessed by a ramp at the far end of the front parking area. Be aware that someone might park in front of and block the ramp. If this situation occurs, tell someone at reception; they usually know who is the driver of the car or else will find the person.

Our room, 326, was at the end of the left arm. We requested it because it seemed the quietest — being at the end of the corridor, away from the lift-elevator and having the bedroom offset from the door because of a small entrance area. Upon entering, in front was the bathroom and to the left a doorway leading to the bedroom. The bathroom had a shower-bathtub, wash basin, toilet and bidet. The hotel provided shampoo and solid soap. There was a variety of towels. The hot water system worked well.

With a parquet floor, the bedroom was spacious and had an uninterrupted view sweeping across almost the entire length of The Valley of the Temples. Though the window was double-glazed, the seal had been compromised (because of the exceptionally cold weather, condensate appeared within the two glass panes) and it did not fit tightly in the frame.

Though it had a firm mattress, we found comfortable the king-size bed (actually two twins placed together). There was a bedside table (one with a phone) and a table lamp on either side of the bed. Pillows were a bit flat but we used two each. The room had a chair and desk, and a flat-screen TV with a remote control providing access to about 20 channels with two in English, one in French and the rest in Italian; reception varied with the channel selected. Room heating and fan worked well during our stay.

The hotel had free room-Internet available via WiFi. Reception provided a user name and password. The Internet connection worked well; however, after a brief period of inactivity one had to log on again. (Possibly this occurred because the room was farthest from the router, which was in the corridor around the corner.) The room also had a wardrobe with a safe inside; however, the safe was too small to contain a laptop, notebook or netbook computer.

The room door did not stop noise from the corridor (even though it was carpeted), such as people talking, putting their key into the lock of their room, slamming the door and other such sounds of movement. The hotel used the old, traditional system of key-in-lock and leaving one’s key at the reception desk on going out.

The hotel accommodation itself would have rated more highly if the rooms had thick, soundproofed doors so that no noise entered from the outside corridors. The admission of corridor noise from outside a room has been the most common, and most easily avoided and solved, problem of almost every hotel that we have ever stayed at throughout the world. Internal soundproofing between our room and the next was mediocre. For instance, we could hear the neighboring occupant cough and use the television. We turned on the ventilator fan of the air conditioning unit to provide white noise and so slept well throughout our stay.

In the restaurant, the hotel provided an extensive selection of items for a buffet Continental breakfast (available from 7:30 a.m. till 10 a.m.): fresh orange juice and coffee to your preference upon request (also from a machine), prepared juices, cereals, yogurts, fresh and tinned-canned fruits, bacon and scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, salami, mortadella, tomatoes, bread rolls, hard-boiled eggs, a selection of warm pastries, fresh bread-toast, wrapped prepared toast, butter, jams, chocolate-hazelnut spread, honey, wrapped biscuits-cookies, milk, fresh coffee made to your request, tea, sugar and sweeteners, bottled water. Calogero and his staff provided all of this regularly and reliably during our stay. There was enough variety such that we could choose combinations from the selection which allowed us to have different breakfasts each day while also concentrating on the items we particularly liked.

For convenience after a day of sightseeing, we ate at the hotel a few times. The restaurant (7:30 p.m. till 10 p.m.) had a fixed-price, 22-euro menu. This gave you a choice of one item from each of three first courses, second main courses, side dishes and desserts. Drinks cost extra. We found both the food and service satisfactory, though we would have liked the choices varied more frequently.

We also ate once at the restaurant "Trattoria del Templi" across the road and down a bit. Though it had a more extensive menu, ordering a full meal at the Trattoria cost more than the equivalent meal at the hotel restaurant or, for the same price, you would not get as much.

Room Tip: The two third-floor rooms at the far ends of the corridors have the best panorama towards the temple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    407
    156
    55
    17
See reviews for
164
599
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Colleverde exceeded our expectations. We had booked 4 rooms with views, having decided that the prices at Villa Athena were above our touch and knowing that our major destination was the Valley of the Temples. First, the Colleverde is very easy to find coming in off the autostrada which, after driving through Sicilian cities, is a virtue indeed. Second, it is a 5 minute drive back down the same road to the temple. I would not walk it as the Valley of the Temple is arduous enough for me to cover, along with the Museum, without adding an additional long walk down a rather busy road. Third, the views from our room were spectacular, as were the views from the lovely garden. Fourth, the hotel staff is among the most "user friendly" we encountered: helpful, good-tempered and professional.

We loved our rooms: book 402 if you don't mind a climb from the third floor on a winding short staircase. You will have a terrace large enough to through a party in the evening (we did!). Everything worked: the air, the bed lamps, the jacuzzi tub.

We thought the rate extremely good: 102 euros including breakfast for our rooms with views. Breakfast was fine: very few hotels in Italy do outstanding breakfasts, and one wonders why in a country like Sicily with spectacular produce in season more fresh fruit isn't served. Nonetheless, there was good coffee, decent bread, and plenty of options. The hotel restaurant and bar is also fine and not over-priced: sitting in the garden at sunset with several bottles of good cold Sicilian white at about 12 euros a bottle cannot be beat.

I am sure the Colleverde has heard the sound of those visitors who would love them to add a pool which would be most welcome after a long hot day at the temples. Even without this, this well-run and well-priced Agrigento option deserves kudos. I noted several complaints about the hotel being far from the center of Agrigento. It is not: one cannot walk there but it is merely a 10 minute drive and it is impossible to be close to both the temples and the city center so make a choice based on your destination.

Room Tip: Room 402 or ask for a room with a view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was an excellent hotel in a great Location. Near the Valley of the Temples. With a magnificent day and night view of the valley. The restaurant is very good. The staff was very kind and helpfull. The room was very confortable. The rate for the room was very low for what we received during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in May, 2012, for one night as part of an Insight Vacation group tour. The consensus of our group of 38 people was that this was the least desirable hotel on the trip. However, we were there simply for dinner and overnight accommodations. Our dinner was fine and breakfast was the usual fare for a large group. The staff was pleasant and the scenery beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Colleverde Park Hotel in Agrigento is certainly well-located for visiting the Valley of the Temples (a very easy, quick drive - I am not sure that I would walk there as the road was quite busy). It is a very long walk from the town though and parking in the town is, as in many towns in Sicily, not easy. The hotel has a lovely garden and there is a view from the garden/terrace (in the distance but a view all the same!) of some of the temples in the Valley of the Temples which is lovely to look at with an aperiitif at the end of day when they are lit up. Although only April, it was very hot when we were there, and they don't have a pool.

We had a suite for us and our two children which was very big, clean and comfortable but could perhaps do with an update soon though. The bath was a jacuzzi bath and there was a hairdryer.

The staff were (with a couple of exceptions) not overly friendly but they were helpful with a couple of specific requests. Wifi was free but only available in the lobby.

We went in April with two young children and the hotel did seem to be frequented by much older travellers (not many young people or children at all) and so with the pleasant but rather old fashioned decor, it did feel a little like walking into an old people's home! We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was very good (though fairly pricey) but the atmosphere was rather deadly even though there were a fair number of people so we didn't eat there again. Breakfast was a buffet and was average (coffee from a self service machine) and we would expect something a bit better from this category of hotel.

Fine for a couple of nights if you want to visit the Valley of the Temples and Agrigento but I wouldn't recommend a long stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SORF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was an excellent hotel in a great location, just off the motorway and within walking distance or a short bus ride from the wonderful Greek temples of Agrigento.The room was comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.We were surprised at the low cost of the rooms. It was very good value

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed one night in May, 2012 and found the hotel very, very nice. Beautiful gardens, outstandingly friendly front desk staff, free WiFi, good breakfast and our room had a panoramic view of the Valley of the Temples, illuminated at night. Friendly dog in the parking lot too! We had a little trouble following the web site directions to find the hotel but had a great stay once we found it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Valley of Temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.9 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#7 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colleverde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colleverde Park Hotel

Property: Colleverde Park Hotel
Address: Panoramica dei Templi, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#8 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colleverde Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel welcomes guests with a calm and elegant atmosphere. Just a few minutes from the historic centre and the archaeological area, and only 6 km from the beaches. Colleverde Park Hotel is a place where one can contemplate a landscape that embraces nature, sea and culture. Immersed in a lush park overlooking the Valley of the Temples and the sea, the Colleverde Park Hotel is ready to welcome you into its calm and elegant atmosphere. This historic dependance of the first Jolly Hotel of Agrigento was bought and renovated by the Sinatra family and over the years has become the Colleverde Park Hotel; a modern and comfortable four star hotel successfully combining the traditional tastes and the advantages of innovation. The cozy and elegant hall, embellished by fine 19th Century Sicilian ceramics and furniture offers a Wi-Fi area for high speed wireless internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Colleverde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colleverde Park Agrigento
Hotel Colleverde Park
Colleverde Park Hotel Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing