We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the Temples”
Review of Blu Hotel Kaos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blu Hotel Kaos
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We too were attached to Riviera Travel as the itinerary ticked all the boxes we wanted to visit. Our experience of Kaos- perhaps a name-change would sound more attractive to potential English guests, was satisfactory & we were well pleased with most of the facilities on offer. Everyone remarks on the wide sweep of the illuminated steps down to the really attractive pool area , shame there is no access to the sea . Our room on the ground floor was more than adequate for our 3-night stay, rooms clean & comfortable, but totally agree with the comment re the out-of-reach wardrobe; do the people who design these places actually get to live in them ? but shower-room excellent. We not too keen on some of the food offered; buffet breakfast was OK , but I do have one major gripe & this is it. Travelling mid-autumn & during day-light hours noticing the vast acreage of orchards, also being aware of the well-known fertile properties of volcanic lava, I would have expected to be offered a wide range of fresh fruit at mealtimes. Not so, all we had was a choice of tinned peaches, pineapples & horrendous fruit cocktail which went out of fashion just after WW2. Dinner was pretty much the same although I did spot an apple & a grossly unripe peach which is an insult & needs attention. Meals were only OK & II did comment on this to our tour-manager but was fobbed off with some excuse which was forgettable in its ambiguousness. Maybe I'm making too big a thing of this but I expected far more from holidaying in Southern Italy during harvest time. Having said all that we were pleased with our 3-days there; the visit to the Valley of the Temples being a serious highlight. Decent tour-manager, bit too much info sometimes though Michelle, but coach-driver Angelo was brilliant, always felt safe & was always there to offer a hand when necessary on disembarking. We would also agree with the comment re out-of-town location, confined to barracks is a bit strong but unless you enjoy propping up a bar post-dinner, then maybe not for you. Barmen in the cocktail-bar a bit heavy on the whisky in our Gaelic Coffee, but I'm not complaining. We then moved on to Excelsior Palace in Taormina. for the remainder of our holiday.

Room Tip: We were more than happy with our allocated room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Blu Hotel Kaos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

the 2 good things about this hotel was the reception staff and the road away from this awful hotel.
Sicily is known for good food, whoever said so never visited this place. Green scrambled egg!
How about pea soup, yes it was pea soup, imagine a tin of garden peas in water heated up and then a bit of dry bread placed in the middle. If that is not enough to whet your appetite then there was the steak,cut very thin but still not thin enough to chew. The gardens potentially could be good but were overgrown and unkempt, the childrens playground could be great but was covered in weeds and had not been upkept. It is isolated and so you cant go out on foot to find a restaurant or entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A clean, modern hotel with good pool and extensive somewhat run down grounds.From the terrace the sea is visible across the pool but it is not possible to get to. By going through a hole in the wire fence at bottom left of garden you can stand at the top of the cliffs and enjoy a splendid view of the beach. It is also possible to walk across the fields towards distant high-rise blocks and buy wine and beer from a small taverna.
Why are the wardrobe hangers about 8ft off the ground?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were on a Riviera "Classical Sicily" tour and had flown into Catania in the early evening enjoying the spectacular views of Mt Etna as we did so. We were then coached for over 3 hours halfway across the island to this hotel close to the coast near Agrigento unable to see very much, seemingly going around a continuous roundabout, except for the illuminated temples as we approached the Kaos. We were invited to partake of some cold food at around 11pm and packed off to bed with a warning to be on the coach prompt at 9am in order to visit the Valley of the Temples at our appointed hour. This seemed to set the tone for the remainder of the week, with a time-bound itinerary, and with little free time to really get close to the real Sicily. This hotel was presumably chosen for its general proximity to the temple site, but it offers a cheerless experience and apart from an excellent pool has little to engage guests. The rooms were idiosyncratic, with odd wooden floors in the bathroom and shower areas getting very slippery when used, wardrobes which almost needed a ladder to use and air-conditioning rattling away throughout the night. If you like your food this hotel is one to avoid and beware the high prices for wine and soft drinks as you are a captive audience, there is no where else.

Room Tip: Try to get into the older part which has lifts to the upper floors, and much nicer views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel benefits from it's advantageous position able to accommodate larger groups (we stayed as clients of Riviera) close to the archeological sites.
The core business would appear to be weddings and tour clients the "bread & butter". The food rates a generous "average" being repetitious re Antipasti, soups abysmal, mains passable but pasta dishes very good it has to be said. We stay ed in the new wing with a modern twist but the bathroom - designed on a wetroom style but on wooden slats???? Was impractical The shower was supposed to drain through a 3cm diameter hole but instead flooded throughout the bathroom and threatened to spill over into the bedroom! The bed was large king, clean and very comfortable as long as one likes a "firmish" bed. The pool area is beautiful, shallow and has lots of sunbeds. During my visit no bar was visible down in this area so drinks etc had to be carried down two flights of steps and on to pool area. The bar is ultra modern and inviting, service- very good. The seating is woeful! Yes....it looks the part but unless you lie flat whilst drinking it's pretty nigh on impossible to sit comfortably. Lastly, there is absolutely nowhere to go, even for a stroll, outside the hotel i.e. You are stranded.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirikiriroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed as part of a Riviera Travel coach tour on 29th Septmeber for 3 nights. I thought that the hotel was clean, comfortable and about what I would expect for a 3-4 star hotel.
Our main problem were the number of stairs everywhere. Also you didn't get help to take your suitcase up various flights of stairs. I think this could have been organised better.
We moved my 85 year old Dad to a different room so that he would only have a few stairs/steps to his room and could use the lift to get to the dining room.
There are 49 steps down an outside marble staircase to the pool. The pool is large and shallow to help the sun keep it warm. The water was cool but seemed clean although as someone has said there are some areas of green algae on the bottom in places. The pool was a relaxing place to spend an hour when back off our coach trip but yes you do need to take your own drinks with you (the pool bar is not manned, probably because its low season).
The food was OK. There was antipasta to start with (mainly a selection of cooked cold vegetables and salad). This was followed by a soup or pasta or rice starter and then a meat or fish course. For dessert you could help yourself to fruit or various cakes and pastries. Apart from the pea soup which as as previously described - a tin of peas in a soup bowl we thought the food was OK. We certainly didn't go hungry. The drinks from the bar were a bit expensive, the best value was 1/2 litre of beer for 5 euros. The blood orange juice at breakfast was gorgeous.
Don't be put off by the reviews unless you have difficulties with stairs. The staff were very helpful in getting dad moved to another room.
NB The instructions for the TV are in the hotel information folder. The only english channels are BBC news and CNN.

Room Tip: Only some rooms are accessible from the lift. If you find stairs difficult then ask for a room on t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is quite a nice hotel, located a few kilometers south west of Agrigento, Sicily. Quite new, nice rooms, good food. We were halfboard there.
The main problem - this hotel comprises of several buildings connected by multiple stairways and long corridors. Most of the rooms are not approachable by the single elevator in the hotel, so if you have heavy luggage this is a real problem, carrying heavy loads thru several stairways to reach a room located in an upper floor.
When we arrived in the late afternoon there was no luggage service available and we had to carry all our suitcases and bags to the room that was on an upper floor.
Also no Wi-Fi in the rooms - only in the lobby area and it is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Choose only rooms that are approachable by the single elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcarmi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
4.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
5.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.3 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Kaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Kaos

Address: via Giovanni Gentile 11, | Contrada Cumbo Villaggio Luigi Pirandello, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Kaos 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blu Hotel Kaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Agrigento
Best Western Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing