We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but kaos!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu Hotel Kaos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blu Hotel Kaos
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing but kaos!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel 10 months before in advance through our travel agent, Once we got to the hotel in the afternoon after traveling 4 hours to get there, we found out that blu hotel had booked us in at another hotel that we found out later they use when they are full, their reason was apparently due to water issues in the section of the hotel we were ment to be staying in and they claimed to have told our travel agent about the issue, we have spoke to our travel agent and they were not informed. We were shocked and started to look for a new hotel but all the nice hotel had been booked out. After speaking to the manager saying that she could book us in a hotel but not a refund. We were in Shock andall we wanted to do was just see the valley of the temples so we couldn't leave, we stayed at the other hotel with little choice.. A nice hotel but not 4 star with no pool we could have saved $150. we were then told that we could use the pool at there hotel, yet they have no public toilets or changing rooms. We spoke with the manger all she had to say were smart remarks like myself and my partner are to young to under stand but to me if you pay $300 you should be put in a hotel at the same cost or refund on the spot. But to be put in another hotel no where near the standards of the blue hotel was a shock and will be trying everything to get our
money back! Nothing but kaos! Steer clear!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    341
    202
    113
    63
See reviews for
306
355
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We traveled to Sicily on a tour with Riviera Travel 24 th June ; I had read prior to going that it wasn't going to be the best holiday we had ever had but, I didn't think the accommodation was going to be the worst either. Our room was classed as having a balcony, really ?? it was a hole in the roof with 3 walls round it the view could only be seen by standing on a step! When we first arrived we asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. The "balcony" was covered in pigeon poo because we were at the end of the roof the pigeons thought it was a coop, so every time we went out they moved in and it was back to square one after it had been cleaned.
Our shower was another joke. My husband who is not a tall man could only stand under it if he put his head on one side. The air-conditioning didn't work and it still was repaired when we left. As you can imagine with temps being in the 80's we were melting all night.
The tour it's self was just what we wanted we did see all the sites we were promised.
We have been offered £25 each off another holiday with Riviera!! I don't think so as a holiday with them is most unlikely! We we might have been more appreciative had they put the money in our bank account!

Room Tip: there are 4 rooms in the roof, just make sure you are not allocated one if you do stay there: I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JanDavid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited Blu Hotel Kaos as a family of 4 traveling with young children. We got a a lovely room, a touch cramped but separate rooms and beds. It was well equipped and modern, being one of the rooms that was recently redecorated. The bathroom was a "wet" room, with a slat wood floor acting as drain for the shower. Nice. Much better than another hotel we visited that had a wet room and it flooded the whole room.
The grounds are beautiful, reminded me of some small lower end resorts in Mexico. As for the staff, the woman at the front desk was an American expat so that was perfect as we were traveling from Canada and language was no barrier.
We did not have dinner at the resort but did try to eat breakfast. You are assigned a table, and seated by the typical unsmiling Italian staff. The food was typical of most European style breakfast, not great. At one point we all were away from the table, when we came back to sit down they had cleared all of our food and treated us like we were intruding, even though we were sitting at that table only a few short minutes before.
This is a great location if you plan on visiting Agrigento and the Valley of Temples. Lots of nice beach area too. I would stay here again, great location, clean and ONE friendly staffer named Francesca origanaly from NY.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214. It was made up of two separate bedrooms divided by the spacious bathroom. TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mammagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Unlike other reviews I have read prior to our visit, we visited this hotel as part of a group. The hotel is not easy to find, as independant travellers told us whilst we were there and it is rather isolated from shops or alternative resturants if you want to use them.
We stayed for three nights at the hotel which has an impressive pool, very child friendly with sloping access to the water, large in proportion to the number of guests and pleasent to swim in; however they seemed to have missed a trick with no easily accessible pool bar.
The restuarant is rather cramped and whilst the evening meal has been improved, we were told, there were serious flaws. The antipasta a welcome addition, had good variety but situated on a rather small table which means the self service is very crushed at times, indeed at one point whilst we were there the entire circle of guests came to a halt before some left out of frustration. The pasta and main courses were then served to you but were of a very basic standard, pasta not very warm and fish often overcooked. The sweet table, self service, was well stocked early in the evening but choice became limited as the evening progressed. Breakfast, self service, is of an acceptable standard but the same problem applies regarding the space for access to the food; far too cramped and not always logical in terms of flow.
Our room was rather small and the shower very tight, other guests had problems of lack of head space (sloping roof) in the bathroom and very little in the way of a view from other rooms.
I just feel that in this region of Sicily they think they have the monopoly and don't really try to please. I certainly would not want to stay as an independant traveller because groups were in the majority and the noise at times in the resturant was a long way from being restful or romantic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theenglishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were booked to stay for 3 nights as part of a two centre visit to Sicily. I had read the earlier reviews on trip advisor and there were some disgruntled visitors, but hey, we thought, it will probably be ok.
Due to flight times, the Riviera group we were with arrived very late at night and we had a nice room which was spotlessly clean. A buffet had been prepared but we were so tired to eat. So only ate dinner there twice. The pool is fantastic, clean and huge and there are plenty of sun beds.
That is the positive. On the negative, the breakfast was disappointing. We do not want a cooked breakfast, but are happy with cereal and fresh fruit, which we have at home. There was little choice of cereal and disappointingly the fruit was of the canned variety and floating in syrup. Tea and coffee was help-yourself, from a machine. Meat, cheese and cakes were available if required. The dinners were pleasant enough.

We had thought that we could drink the tap water in Sicily, but were told by our rep that it is ok to brush teeth with, but should not be drunk, at least not on that part of the island. Whenever we have stayed anywhere where tap water could not be drunk, i.e. in Egypt, a couple of bottles of water are provided by the hotel each day, not the case here. This did not trouble us unduly and we purchased water to drink in our room. At 10pm on the second night, whilst we were in our room, there was a power cut, this was as a result of a “bush fire” nearby, requiring the fire brigade to syphon off the water. We were not aware of this until the following morning, when we were told by our rep., as it happened on the opposite side of the hotel to our room. After 20 minutes or so, the power came back on, though not the air conditioning, which did not work all night. This was uncomfortable as the weather was unseasonably 30 – 36c during the day and still hot at night. Again, we could accept this, but when the water later came back on it was dark brown and remained so for another 20 minutes before we turned the tap off.

My husband went down to reception to request a couple of bottles of water so that we could at least wash our faces and brush our teeth before going to bed, but the receptionist was extremely rude and told him if he wanted water to buy it at the bar. She did not trouble to explain what had happened and was totally disinterested.
When checking out, this same receptionist presented me with the bill, which I queried. We had purchased wine and water but this included 20 euros for internet use, which we had not made any use of. After keeping me and others behind me waiting 20 minutes, whilst she rummaged through pieces of paper, she pushed three sheets in front of me, two were our wine bills the other for internet. The room number was correct but the signature was not. Clearly the person using the internet had got one digit wrong when writing the room number. She then disappeared, whilst we were still waiting, to find the rep so that the bill could be paid. I settled the bill in cash, but she had no change to give me, saying you will have to wait. She was surly and unapologetic. She made Basil Fawlty look incredibly diplomatic and welcoming!

A hotel can be judged in some respects on the way it handles problems, this hotel – or should I say, its representative in the form of the receptionist – fell down badly. A couple of bottles of water and an explanation of why there was a problem would have cost them very little. Likewise, the way the checking out was handled leaves a bad taste. I have to say that all our group felt much the same way and our totally positive experience at our next hotel, another 4*, the Excelsior Palace in Taormina, reinforced the negative feelings toward Kaos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank woodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, O
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived with two bus loads full of people so it was a bit of "kaos" checking in. But other than that, everything was great. Nice big pool with a "beach" feel as you were able to wade in. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a great balcony which overlooked the Courtyard and had a wonderful view of Agrigento at night. Beds were comfortable. Shower was small but good water pressure. Colagero is a hardworking, kind gentlemen and an asset to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Courtyard. There were people playing music at night and singing but they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFONjella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired, first of all our bathroom flooded each time we had a shower, the supply of shower gel was minimal and the towels and coathangers were inadequate. The dinning room in the evening when the waiter service for the anti pasta and main meal was available, the service was poor the waiter Calogero serviced our anti pasta dishes on two days together twice instead of the main course. No apology was forthcoming even after registering our complaint at reception

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mick u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
4.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
2.5 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
5.1 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
2.1 mi away
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Leone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Kaos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Kaos

Property: Blu Hotel Kaos
Address: via Giovanni Gentile 11, (Strada Statale 115, Km 185-186) | Contrada Cumbo Villaggio Luigi Pirandello, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Kaos 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Blu Hotel Kaos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Agrigento
Best Western Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing