We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location, wonderful staff, great property.”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best location, wonderful staff, great property.”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The newly renovated property is great. The staff is wonderful and accomodating. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. When we were there, the restaurant was under renovation and the temporary dining room was windowless (except for the ceiling) and viewless. However, they still felt they could charge world class view prices. After having spent over 70 Euro for 2 salads, 2 sandwiches and 2 glasses of wine, my wife and I canceled our dinner reservations and drove to San Leone on the sea, less than 10 minutes away. We did this two nights and had two wonderful full-course meals for less than we paid for lunch at the Athena. Take a left out of the driveway and the road will take you right to San Leone, where there are many restaurant options at seaside.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkCityBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    301
    96
    31
    23
See reviews for
299
1,057
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia US
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Proximity to Valley of the Temples and the archological museum (one of best in our experience) can't be beaten. Service terrific in this newly redecorated hotel. Get a room facing south for the view. Chose this location to make sure we had a place to eat on Christmas day . . . no other eating places were open. Coffee on the veranda that morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminvirginia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer Service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Hotel Villa Athena during your sicilian trip, it was a pleasure to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities and service at the hotel.
Should you require any future assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I can't imagine a better place to stay on a visit to Agrigento. We (parents and two teenagers) drove from Palermo, avoiding most of the Agrigento town traffic. We had lunch on the terrace with its great view of the temple of Concordia. We then walked down (three minutes) to the entrance to the ruins and then walked back at the end of the afternoon. We had dinner at the hotel. The next morning we drove on to Ragusa along the coast, again missing the town traffic.
In addition to a great location and views, the highlight of the hotel was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The restaurant staff was particularly welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacyspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer Service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you for all the compliments regarding our location.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your Restaurant experience and your stay with us: all your kind comments are highly appreciated and would be a pleasure to share it with the Staff members.
Kind regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Villa Athena during Christmas week 2009. As others have commented the reviews in Trip Advisor were rather mixed but the new ones are correct. After the hotel was restored in fall 2009 it has completely changed and now it is excellent. The best things we found were:
- helpfulness, kindness and attentive of the front desk with specially notice to Claudia who upgraded our room
- location, location, location! It is wonderful to wake up and out the window see a 2500 year old temple. We walked from hotel to the valley of temples
- dinner and breakfast service
- appearance and ambiance of rooms, we liked the dark wood floor, the white walls, the big beds

Everything about the hotel was nice but there were a few small things to improve:
- My corporate VPN would not connect over the hotel's WIFI and when I asked instead for a computer cable the technician tried to convince me to try WIFI more. One should assume business travels know how to use their laptops.
- The maid service was lacking. The tub had a ring around it. She needed to be reminded to refill the empty tissue box and bring my wife a shower cap
- CNN and BBC were the only English language TV channels

The above items are small but out of character with the full 5 star conduct of Athena.

Also, the hotel arranged a guide service for us, which was excellent. Beyond seeing the temples save time also for the museum in the city.

We are anxious to come back to see the temples in summer sun.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer Service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Dear guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to express our thanks for your lovely note that you have posted on TripAdvisor, we've treasured your advice.
We continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations of 5-star service and are delighted when we are able to make those visits extra special. We are sincerely happy to know we achieved this during your visit.
We do hope your enjoyable stay will encourage you to choose Villa Athena again should your travel ever bring you to back to Agrigento.
Kind regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Had seen a really bad review in Frommer's, but wanted to spend the night near or in the valley of the Temples. Booked the rooms and was unbelievably surprised. The place was recently re-done with half the number of rooms. It was exquisite. Big comfortable and beautiful. The staff was nothing short of great. We left a phone charger there and Claudia at the reception desk forwarded it to our next hotel. When we were there it was pretty much empty, so they upgraded our rooms. Just a first class operation!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer Service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you for all the compliments regarding our location.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may require.
Kind regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We traveled with friends to Sicily in November. The hotel was wonderful and the view was amazing, especially at night with the temples lit up. Since we were off season, we paid 150 Euro for our room; the hotel was not noisy or crowded and the staff was friendly. Especially Heidi at the front desk. She was professional but could also joke with us and her English was very good. Our room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. We did not eat in the hotel except for our breakfast which was good, but I can see what other guests mean about the somewhat stuffy atmosphere of the restaurant. We easily walked to the archeological site which is impressive. After reading other reviews, it seems clear this hotel is trying very hard to improve its image.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer Service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, November 28, 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you from all of us for your lovely comments..
We are glad to read from your review that you had enjoyed yours stay with us at the Hotel Villa Athena.
We hope to have you once again as our guests.
Kind regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2009

On my last trip in Sicily, the end of October, I stayed for 4 days at the Hotel Villa Athena. The hotel is amazing as a wonderful view of the Greek Temples and the service is impeccable. I wanted to go around the City and have dinner in different restaurant every day. But the first night that had dinner at Il Granaio di Ibla, I really couldn’t stay away from that restaurant. The food is out of this world, the taste and the preparation; never saw it before in my life. The waiters were all kind and friendly and very very professional especially Giovanni. I felt like home with them and recommend to everybody to stay at that hotel and don’t even bother to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurafrancesca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Customer service at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor concerning your experience at the Hotel Villa Athena.
I am glad to note that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you loved our Restaurant "Il Granaio di Ibla".
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,

Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,172 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,762 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing