We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary! Optimal experience ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extraordinary! Optimal experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my third time staying here while visiting the temples, This time it was my honeymoon , The staff welcomed me like family , the room with the temple view 104 was one of the best in the hotel !! Service is excellant , they can't do enough, excellant food at dinner w a view of the temple lit up at night is outstanding , Thank you Annamaria for all your help and going the extra mile at reception ! I want to go back , so hard to leave ! Best es

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    283
    91
    30
    22
See reviews for
277
1,001
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with an amazing view over one the main temples in the Valle dei Templi in Agrigento. The temple is right in front of the bar and some rooms' windows. Watching the well lit temple in the evening while sipping your drink is worth the stay. The service is excellent, the rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is so-so. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days in Sicily this May, two of which in the Villa Athena Hotel, Agrigento. Wonderful hotel with a breathtaking view of the Temple of Concordia! Beautiful, well managed, privileged location and a vey helpful and courteous staff. Particularly, Anamaria and Lucia of the front desk were outstanding. The Hotel has astonishing gardens that, per se, are worth the stay. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything was what one would expect for a hotel of this class. The staff were courteous, helpful, and very friendly. The grounds were manicured and the rooms were spotless. The shower had an oval window with a temple view as well as the biggest rain shower head I have ever seen. The restaurant was beautiful and our meal was excellent. The breakfast was extraordinary. The excellent museum is a short walk up the hill as well. Very pricey but will make an indelible memory.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor temple view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRSSCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is the best place to stay in Agrigento! Let's just walk through the first day there!
Checked in just before noon. Headed to the pool to relax with the view of the Temple of Concordia staring back at us. Great wine and snacks by the pool. Then we enjoyed a delicious light lunch on the terrace again just looking at the ruins. So stunning, words are not enough.
We then walked from the hotel to the ruins (no car needed) late in the afternoon. This turned out to be the best time to be there. We spent about 2 hours roaming the ruins and enjoying the views and sunset without hardly any other people around us.
The hotel was so comfortable and romantic. So romantic, after cocktails my girlfriend and I (we were celebrating her 50th) decided to go into town for pizza. As we walked out of the hotel we glimpsed at all the couples dining on the terrace with the view of the temples (which are all bathed in soft light in the evening) having a romantic dinner. So nice!!!
The pizza in town was great too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

One of the best hotels from a recent trip to Sicily. The room decor is modern and comfortable. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the temples. Priceless. Comfortable bed, great shower, and delicious breakfast made for a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyce, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only stayed one night here but the experience was exceptional. The staff was welcoming and engaging to a person. The restaurant was excellent, the bar patio an oasis, and the view from the room was magnificent, just what we wanted. The room was very bright and comfortable and the bathroom had a very clever port-hole window that framed the Temple perfectly. My wife was in Greek heaven. It is the only place to stay for this site, spend the money, ask for a room with a view of the temple. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
100.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing