We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A lovely hotel in the best location in the city, a short stroll to the entrance to the temples and with a terrific unobstructed view of the best preserved of of the temples. Large comfortable rooms with very helpful staff, especially Claudia at the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place is wonderful - really a beautiful surprise. All the other reviews said - I am so glad we spent a little more money and went for the villa Athena. It was well worth it - honestly it was the best 'value' of the trip. The view is just breath taking and you feel like you are a million miles from nowhere. Wish we could have lingered longer!

Room Tip: You'll want a temple-view room but even our side room with little balcony had a good clear angle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. Sadly we were only here 2 nights but it was a beautiful setting. Pleasant and helpful staff with just the right amount of formality and friendliness. Excellent restaurant. Any problems were dealt with swiftly and pleasantly. Wonderful setting. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to even the fussiest guest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLmxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Enjoyed this lovely, outdoor restaurant with a direct view of a well preserved ancient temple. Lunch began with a wonderful selection of antipasti of every variety, followed by two pastas, and a delicious selection of desserts. The wines were local (of course). Allow yourself to be transported back in time at this delightful restaurant, filling your stomach and your spirit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A perfect hotel in Agrigento where the most magnificent Greek Temple is in your view from every
location while staying at this lovely hotel.
The room was not large but very nice with a modern bathroom and a beautiful patio from which the archeological treassures of Agrigento are all your. At night they a flooded with light and it is possible the most glorious and romantic sight we've ever encounted.
The hotel has an outdoor restaurant that overlooks the sights making it a must while you are there. Simply breathtaking!
This hotel has delicious and full buffet breakfast that is included with your room.

The hotel can get excellent guides for your visit to the sites. We had Lorenzo and he added greatly to our experience.
The Villa Athena was outstanding in every respect, a highlight in our trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see the temples then it is a must to stay at this hotel. We had a top floor temple view room - uninterrupted views which are magical especially at night when they are lit up. We even felt that the views from the hotel were just as good as when walking up to them. We felt that the finer details added to our comfort during our stay- slippers, dressing gowns, the softest towels, amply toiletries, non-slam doors etcetc. We had an amazing sleep as it was so quiet. The room was lovely: fairly spacious with lots of thought into the use of mirrors to catch more views of the temple. The bathroom was spacious and the rainshower was amazing- huge with a little window for views of the temple even whilst washing! Breakfast was fabulous- so much choice from fresh fruit to cereals to pastries and cakes to bacon & eggs. The fruit juices were freshly squeezed and our evening meal was excellent with live music. We were a little disappointed with the lunch which was fine but overpriced for what you actually get. Service was fairly good but not amazing , quite business-like, although I'm never sure if this is a communication issue because my italian is so poor.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieQ005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Villa Athena has the best situation in Agrigento. We opted for a temple view and would have been much happier to be on an upper floor as the view was somewhat obstructed and it was difficult to leave the drapes open while people could walk by. Nonetheless it was a beautiful view. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. The bathroom was great. Unfortunately it rained the night we were there so the dinner was not served with a view. However, the waiter was nice enough to let us sit outside under the overhang and have a glass of wine while the rain beat down. We had a lovely view and good service. The dining room was a bit noisy inside since a couple groups were there. All in all a good visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#7 of 23 in Agrigento
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $115 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing