We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Hotel with a view”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Upon arrival we received an upgrade to the presidential suite! we enjoyed the beautifully decorated room, the huge terrace and the jacuzzi. From every angle the views to the temples where spectacular. The pool was very enjoyable. The staff was very kind.
Thanks for the upgrade !

Room Tip: Try to get a temple view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel and rooms.Best location in Agrigento. However the personnel at the front desk have a terrible attitude, unfriendly and not service-oriented at all. They totally spoil the experience. This is a very expensive hotel, you expect personnel that knows how to treat clients and make them feel welcome.

Room Tip: Paying more you can have a room overlooking the ruins. Reserve well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuchisMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we booked a room without a view of the temple; upon our arrival, however, the hotel upgraded us to a room with a view, and the view was spectacular. In addition to that kindness, the room was very nice, the staff was pleasant and helpful, and they served an excellent breakfast. I felt the hotel exceeded the somewhat mixed, or cool, reviews I had read of it in guidebooks, and I would certainly stay there again if I return to Agrigento.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spring for a room with a view of the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Villa Athena is, without a doubt, the most desirable property for a Temple experience. Lovely property, very attentive staff and management. Villa Athena was one of our favorite places for lodging as well as dining.

If you are in Agrigento to visit the Valley of the Temples this is where you should be. Period.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visiting the temples in August was not the best idea -- it was extremely hot. It was almost painful to walk through the ruins and I had been looking forward to being there for years. However, we made our way to each temple and the museum. By the time we were done, we were fried - literally. But, there in the (short) distance was our hotel, Villa Athena. When we checked in, we took a peek at the beautiful grounds and the lovely pool so we knew what was waiting for us after our temple visit. Was it a mirage?? No, it was HEAVEN!! The pool was perfect, the staff was very nice, the room was gorgeous and the view from our room? Well, there are no words if you love ancient history. The only help the hotel needs is a better trained waitstaff in the dining area - food was good, but the service was not. We were with our 2 kdis and the waitstaff disappeared for long long periods of time,even forgetting to bring us some of the dishes we ordered. But, this stay wasn't about dinner -- it was about the temples and the best hotel to make your visit special. This was special.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the temples... you have to splurge when you visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler00101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just had two wonderful nights here. A lovely room with a big terrace with view of the Concordia.
We had two lovely diners one on our terrace and one in the restaurant both with that same stunning view.
The service was top and the food was good. The breakfast was one of the best from our trip on Sicily. We had the luck that their was a wedding on the second night so we had romantic live music all evening sitting on our terrace nipping a glass of wine. We felt in love. Beautiful swimming pool too. If you are visiting Agrigento just book this hotel. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at Villa Athena in the late afternoon to a wonderful view of the temple ruins. The hotel location was so close to the magnificent Temple Concordia that it felt like a private viewing. Our room was updated with modern amenities and classical charm. We were upgraded to a two room suite with large bath and outdoor terrace, comfortable bed and linens, very clean.
The staff was helpful and welcoming. There was a restaurant, bar and inviting pool that had the temple view. The breakfast included a variety of options. A car is needed to go anywhere except the ruins which are walking distance.
Since this was just an overnight in order to visit the Valley of the Temples we were more than completely satisfied with the peaceful and inspiring experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninadg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $118 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing