We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in every sense of the word.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection in every sense of the word.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked our reservation late in the day and upon arrival we were greeted with an unexpected and much appreciated upgrade to a suite. The accommodations were beautiful - complete with a jacuzzi in the living room. The most amazing part of the suite was the view overlooking the temple ruins glowing in the the evening light. This magical view could be seen not only from the spacious balcony that extended the length of the entire suite but also from the extra large windows that encircled the rooms. It is a sight that my husband and I will never forget. The service we had was also impeccable. We had a lovely dinner on the terrace and enjoyed everything that we ordered. The food was as excellent as well as beautifully presented. Had there been room available we would have happily extended our stay. I would unequivocally recommend this hotel and hope that we will be able to return another day. If not, it will always be one of the most pleasant memories I shall have of beautiful Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mns1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    283
    92
    30
    22
See reviews for
277
1,004
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I decided we're split on the assesment of Hotel Villa Athena in Agrigento. For the most part she found the hotel and our experience as generally excellent. I found it somewhat less in almost all departments. As a measure of standard, we have stayed at many '5-star' hotels across Europe (London, Paris, Rome, etc.) and to me, the Hotel Villa Athena is closer to 4-star quality.

The Hotel Complex: Charming but slightly bland 1920's era villa set in former farmland. EXCELLENT view of the temples, particularly Temple of Concordia (the best preserved of the three temples within view). The hotel also benefits from the fact that it's the only one within view, there are no others in the immediete vacinity. Beautiful lush gardens and nice swimming pool.

Rooms: We stayed in a newer room which is attached to the back of the hotel. It was clean, well sized, not particularly "luxurious" - the furniture looked and felt cheap and the room was too white for me (everything white or light grey). It just felt bland to me. The most displeasing thing was the complete lack of noise isolation between units. Toilet flushes and showers from other rooms were more than obvious at particularly annoying in the morning.

Breakfast: 4 out of 5. Standard faire of cakes, breads, cheeses, and fruits. Eggs could be ordered but I didn't take the offer. Juices were disappointing (many from concentrate) and the coffee was unremarkable.

Service: Reception staff were not particularly warm. A smile was hard to find. Restaurant staff were much warmer and genuinely friendly.

Value: Personally I find this hotel over-priced. It obviously benefits greatly from its location and the lack of immediete competition. I just felt like the entire operation wasn't trying hard enough to be "exceptional" - but this isn't unsurprising as the Villa Athena has virtually no competition in Agrigento.

Was this hotel so fantastic that I'd go back just to stay there (my definition of the very best of hotels) - No. Would I stay there again if I was Agrigento? Yes.

Ample parking & good for children as well (gardens and swimming pool). Greeks ruins only a 10 minute walk away. Excellently situated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Officium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Villa Athena hotel is located in the valley of the temples, we had a perfect view of the main temple from our room. The restaurants are also 5 star in service and food quality, plus superb temple views on the terrace restaurant. Clearly the best place to stay in Agrigento!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeG948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This renovated hotel is located on the most beautiful site of the Vallei del Temple. Almost every room has a balcony with a view of Concordia temple, and is fully equipped.The outdoor restaurant is recommended: good food, with piano... romantic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and view on the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a room that had unobstructed views of the Temple Concordia, and it was breathtaking. I forgave all the minor things that would usually irk me (i.e. less than stellar sound insulation, double booked confirmation - which they quickly fixed) because the views were just so gorgeous, day and night.
The hotel itself was beautiful, set in an old estate, and as many reviewers said, has the best view in Agrigento, bar none. The price was absolutely worth it. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qls200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here after a week in a Eurocamp in the north of Sicily so we were looking forward to 5* treatment. & that is what we got! Fabulous & welcoming reception staff. Travelling as a family of 4, we were given room 101 which was enormous, spotlessly clean with all the mod cons one would expect. We had a side balcony with a partial view of the Temple of Concordia. The pool was lovely, clean & the warmest we encountered all holiday. On arrival, we noticed that a wedding party was going to be in full swing in the evening. We were slightly concerned given previous comments about noise on Trip Advisor but we didn't hear a thing (perhaps because of the side room). We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on our 1st night - an amazing view of the Temple of Concordia from the terrace. The Maitre d' was excellent, welcoming & great with the children. Good food (the children loved their hamburgers!!), not too expensive given the 5* classification, & the best wine list we saw all holiday! Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of food. The highlight of our trip was a wonderful tour of the valley of the temples organised by the hotel. Our guide Lorenzo, was so well informed, vivacious & great with our children. If you want a special treat, go to Villa Athena.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to two different hotels in agrigento, and villa athena was miles better than the other (yet 4 stars) hotel. Great service, attention to detail, location etc. A 5 star place as you'd expect.

The view on the temples is fantsastic. If you don't stay there at the hotel, you should at least get an aperitivo (or dinner) there.
The pool area is nice, with full service of towels.
Rooms are spacious, modern, super clean. And quiet.

A bit pricey, but probably reflects the difference in quality with other places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank av_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
100.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing